Flat Irons & Straighteners
The Best Flat Irons for 4C and Coily Hair in 2026
Coily hair asks more of an iron than any other type, and gets the least specific advice from the people selling them.
Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.
Coily and 4C hair needs an iron that recovers temperature quickly between sections, grips the hair without slipping, and gives you enough range to finish in one pass. Blow-drying with tension first does most of the work; the iron should be finishing, not straightening from scratch.

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.
Quick picks
Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Dyson Corrale straightener Flexing plates that gather the section — the most relevant published feature on this page. | Dense coils that slip out of rigid plates | |
| 2 | T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron Nine settings, so the fragile hairline does not have to take the same heat as the crown. | Adjusting between the nape, the crown and the edges | |
| — | ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate) 365°F fixed, with no way up when a resistant section will not release. We’d skip this | Not resistant coily textures |
1. Best plate contact
Dyson Corrale straightener
Best for: Dense coils that slip out of rigid plates
Flexing plates that gather the section — the most relevant published feature on this page.
Coily hair does not lie flat between two rigid plates. It has volume in every direction, so a conventional iron makes contact with part of the section and misses the rest, and you compensate with pressure and repetition.
Dyson’s flexing manganese-copper alloy plates are built to shape around the section rather than force it flat, and Dyson’s guidance explicitly says to loosen your grip because the plates gather the hair. On 4C hair specifically, better contact per pass is the highest-value thing an iron can offer.
Cordless matters more here than anywhere else on the site — a silk press is a long session working all the way around the head, and not being tethered is a real advantage.
What’s wrong with it
Battery-powered, so session length is finite and a full silk press may outlast a charge. Three heat settings, and it is the most expensive tool here.
Published specifications — Dyson Corrale straightener
| Wattage | 200 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 3 heat settings; Dyson's stated starting point is 365°F |
| Speed settings | Not applicable |
| Weight | 1.23 lb |
| Cord length | 10.9 ft charging cable |
| Noise (dB) | Not applicable |
| Attachments | Charging dock and travel pouch |
| Plate / barrel | Flexing manganese-copper alloy plates |
| Dual voltage | Battery — 10.8 V–16.8 V cell |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from Dyson — Corrale straightener product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$2.38 a year
200 W × 65 hours a year = 13.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
2. Most heat control
T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron
Best for: Adjusting between the nape, the crown and the edges
Nine settings, so the fragile hairline does not have to take the same heat as the crown.
A 4C head is not one hair type. The edges and nape are usually finer and have often taken the most stress over the years, while the crown is denser and more resistant. Nine heat settings lets you treat them differently, which is a genuine advantage over irons offering high, medium and low.
T3 positions CeraGloss ceramic for even heat without hot spots. Even heat is what makes one pass realistic, and one pass is the whole game on coily hair.
11.1 oz published — the lightest iron in our registry, and on a session that can run an hour, that is not a footnote.
What’s wrong with it
1 inch plates mean a lot of sections on dense hair, so the session runs longer. No published wattage, and no published cord length.
Published specifications — T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron
| Wattage | Not published |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 9 heat settings |
| Speed settings | Not applicable |
| Weight | 11.1 oz (cord not included) |
| Cord length | 360-degree swivel cord — length not published |
| Noise (dB) | Not applicable |
| Attachments | None supplied |
| Plate / barrel | CeraGloss ceramic plates, 1 in |
| Dual voltage | Yes — auto world voltage, 100–240 V |
| Warranty | 2-year warranty |
Every figure above is taken from T3 Micro — SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
T3 does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.
The one we'd skip
ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)
Best for: Not resistant coily textures
365°F fixed, with no way up when a resistant section will not release.
This iron is a genuinely good product and it is the wrong shape for this job.
A fixed 365°F with no adjustment means that when a dense, resistant section does not straighten on the first pass, your only remaining option is another pass. On coily hair, where sections are already the most likely to need repeating, that is the worst possible constraint to design around.
ghd’s fixed-temperature philosophy is aimed at people who would otherwise turn the dial to maximum, and it is a good answer to that problem. It is not an answer to this one. We recommend it for fine hair without reservation.
What’s wrong with it
No temperature adjustment, which on resistant coily sections forces repeat passes — the single worst thing for this hair type.
Published specifications — ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)
| Wattage | Not published |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | One fixed temperature — 365°F |
| Speed settings | Not applicable |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | 9 ft power cable |
| Noise (dB) | Not applicable |
| Attachments | None supplied |
| Plate / barrel | Precision-milled floating high-gloss plates, 1 in |
| Dual voltage | Yes — universal voltage |
| Warranty | 3-year warranty |
Every figure above is taken from ghd — Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.
What a silk press actually asks of an iron
A silk press is a full straightening of natural coily hair without chemicals, and it is a demanding process by any measure: wash, blow-dry with tension, then press in small sections. Almost all of the heat exposure is in that last stage, and almost all of it is avoidable exposure caused by repeat passes.
So the specification that matters is not maximum temperature. It is whatever gets a section straight the first time — plate contact, recovery between sections, and enough range to match the density you are working on.
The blow-dry is doing most of the work
This is the single most useful thing on the page. If you go into a press with hair that has only been air-dried, the iron has to do all the straightening and you will pass repeatedly. If you blow-dry with tension first — a comb attachment or a proper stretch dry — the iron only has to finish, and the number of passes drops sharply.
Which is why the dryer matters as much as the iron here. Shark publishes a lift-and-stretch wide-tooth comb with the SpeedStyle Pro and Dyson publishes a wide-tooth comb for curly and textured hair with the Supersonic; both are made for exactly this step. See the dryers for textured hair.
What the makers do not tell you
Nobody publishes heat recovery time — how fast the plates return to temperature after a pass — and on dense hair that is arguably the most important number there is. An iron whose plates drop 30°F on every section and take time to recover will feel like it is not working, and you will compensate by passing again.
We cannot report a figure nobody publishes, so we do not. What we can do is say plainly that this is the gap, so you know that a page confidently ranking irons on “heat recovery” is not working from published data either.
What is published, on the irons that suit this job
| Iron | Plates | Heat settings | Weight | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dyson Corrale | Flexing manganese-copper alloy | 3 | 1.23 lb | 2-year limited |
| T3 SinglePass StyleMax | 1 in CeraGloss ceramic | 9 | 11.1 oz | 2-year |
| ghd Platinum+ | 1 in floating high-gloss | 1 (fixed 365°F) | Not published | 3-year |
Protecting the hair through it
- Bone dry before the iron touches it. Coily hair holds water deep in the section and dries unevenly.
- Small sections, honestly sized. The whole reason people take big sections is that a press takes a long time, and it is the reason it damages hair.
- One pass per section, then move on. Going back because a piece is not perfect is how a press turns into heat damage.
- Space presses out. Frequency is the variable that matters most, and it is the one entirely within your control — how often is too often.
Price per use, at 5 uses a week over 5 years
| What you pay | Cost per use | Cost per year |
|---|---|---|
| $30 | $0.02 | $6.00 |
| $60 | $0.05 | $12.00 |
| $100 | $0.08 | $20.00 |
| $150 | $0.12 | $30.00 |
| $200 | $0.15 | $40.00 |
| $300 | $0.23 | $60.00 |
| $400 | $0.31 | $80.00 |
| $500 | $0.38 | $100.00 |
5 uses a week for 5 years is 1300 uses. Both figures are stated assumptions, not measurements — halve the life and every cost per use doubles. We publish the ladder rather than a worked example for one specific product because a price we typed into a sentence would be wrong within a week.
Questions people actually ask
What temperature is a silk press done at?
Higher than the mid-300s that ghd and Dyson name for typical hair, because coily hair is more resistant — but the goal is still the lowest setting that finishes a section in one pass. Repeat passes at a lower temperature are usually worse than one pass at a higher one.
How often can I get a silk press without damage?
Less often than most schedules allow. There is no published number that applies to everyone, and total exposures matter far more than any single session, so spacing presses out is the most effective thing you can change.
Why won't my 4C hair stay straight after pressing?
Most often because it was not fully dry, or because it was not stretched with tension during the blow-dry so the iron was straightening from scratch. Humidity afterwards reverts hair that was never fully dry to begin with.