Skip to content
Strand & Steam

Shop by Hair Type

The Best Hair Tools for Frizzy Hair in 2026

Frizz has three causes and only one of them is fixed by a tool. Worth knowing which one you have before you spend anything.

Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.

Frizz is lifted cuticle scales, and they lift for three different reasons: mechanical disruption while drying, moisture moving in and out of the fiber, and permanent damage. Only the first is fixed by a better tool. The second is technique, and the third needs a haircut.

Frizzy hair backlit against a plain background

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.

Which kind of frizz do you have?

Three causes, three different answers

Three causes, three different answers
What you seeCauseWhat actually fixes it
Frizz appears while drying, gone if you air dryMechanical — airflow and handlingA concentrator, lower airflow, and not touching it
Frizz appears hours later, worse in humidityMoisture moving into the fiberSealing the cuticle: cool finish, product; partly unavoidable
Frizz ignores conditioner and technique entirelyDamaged cuticle, permanently liftedA haircut and less heat — no tool fixes this

The third is the one people spend the most money failing to solve. If conditioner makes no difference at all, you are in that row.

The mechanical cause, which tools fix

Cuticle scales point from root to tip, like roof tiles. Air travelling down the strand lays them flat; air travelling up or across it lifts them. That is the entire mechanism behind a concentrator nozzle, and it is why the same dryer produces smooth hair or frizzy hair depending on how it is held.

Handling does the same thing. Rubbing wet hair with a terry towel is abrasion on a swollen, lifted cuticle, and it creates frizz before you have switched anything on. Squeeze with a microfibre towel instead.

The damage cause, which tools do not fix

Heat past a certain point permanently changes the ordered keratin in hair and leaves the cuticle cracked and lifted. Published DSC work puts the melting point of that keratin in dry hair at about 401°F, and a flat-iron study reported denaturation at 459°F alongside electron microscopy showing cuticle damage.

That damage does not reverse. Products improve how it looks and feels — genuinely, and worth using — but the affected length grows out and gets cut off. The honest version is at can heat damaged hair be repaired, and the checklist for telling damage from dryness is at the signs of heat damage.

The ionic question

Manufacturers credit ionic output with neutralizing the static charge that makes dry strands repel each other, which is a real description of one kind of frizz. The practical problem is that the claim is now on almost every dryer sold, at every price — Revlon publishes it on a drugstore tool in the same words the premium brands use.

A feature that appears on the cheapest and most expensive tool in a category cannot tell them apart. Full treatment at are ionic hair dryers worth it.

Every category, for frizz

Price per use, at 5 uses a week over 5 years

Cost per use at a range of purchase prices
What you payCost per useCost per year
$30$0.02$6.00
$60$0.05$12.00
$100$0.08$20.00
$150$0.12$30.00
$200$0.15$40.00
$300$0.23$60.00
$400$0.31$80.00
$500$0.38$100.00

5 uses a week for 5 years is 1300 uses. Both figures are stated assumptions, not measurements — halve the life and every cost per use doubles. We publish the ladder rather than a worked example for one specific product because a price we typed into a sentence would be wrong within a week.

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.

Ranked picks with what each is best for and where to buy
#ProductBest forPrice
1

Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer

The only dryer in our registry with a published finishing tool, alongside a turbo concentrator.

Flyaways that survive everything else
2

T3 AireBrush One-Step smoothing and volumizing dryer brush

Ceramic bristles and separate heat and speed control — tension plus airflow in the right direction, in one pass.

Smoothing the cuticle mechanically
3

ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)

One fixed 365°F with no dial — because most frizzy hair is over-ironed hair.

Frizz on hair you also want straight
4

Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)

1,300 W and a smoothing brush attachment — the lowest-heat way to flatten a cuticle.

Smoothing without a clamped plate

Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer

No published heat-setting count, so the cool finish that sets a smooth cuticle cannot be confirmed.

We’d skip this

Not frizz

1. The dryer

Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer

Best for: Flyaways that survive everything else

The only dryer in our registry with a published finishing tool, alongside a turbo concentrator.

Shark publishes six attachments including a FrizzFighter finishing tool and a turbo concentrator. The concentrator is the important one: it narrows the airflow so you can direct it down the strand rather than across it, which is the single biggest lever on frizz.

A dedicated finishing attachment is unusual in this category and targets the problem where it actually shows up — at the end, after the main dry is done.

Full alternatives at the best hair dryers for frizzy hair.

What’s wrong with it

No published heat- or speed-setting count, so the cool-shot behavior cannot be verified. 120 V only.

Published specifications — Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer

Published specifications for the Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer
Wattage1,750 W (peak 1,750 W)
Heat settingsNot published
Speed settingsNot published
Weight1.65 lb
Cord length96.1 in (8.0 ft)
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsTurbo concentrator, QuickSmooth brush, DefrizzFast diffuser, wide-tooth comb, touch-up brush, FrizzFighter finishing tool
Plate / barrelHigh-velocity airflow; no heated styling surface
Dual voltageNo — 120 V
Warranty2-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from SharkNinja — Shark SpeedStyle Pro (HD731) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$20.86 a year

1,750 W (peak 1,750 W) × 65 hours a year = 113.8 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

2. The blow-dry brush

T3 AireBrush One-Step smoothing and volumizing dryer brush

Best for: Smoothing the cuticle mechanically

Ceramic bristles and separate heat and speed control — tension plus airflow in the right direction, in one pass.

A hot air brush does the two things that flatten a cuticle at the same time: it pulls the section under tension and it moves warm air along it rather than across it. That is why it produces a smoother result than a dryer alone on the same hair.

Three heat and two speed settings, and T3 positions CeraGloss ceramic for even heat without hot spots — hot spots being what forces a second pass over a section you have already smoothed.

16 oz, an 8 ft swivel cord, 125 V, two-year warranty.

What’s wrong with it

No published wattage. Used too often it flattens texture as well as frizz, which on wavy hair is not what people want.

Published specifications — T3 AireBrush One-Step smoothing and volumizing dryer brush

Published specifications for the T3 AireBrush One-Step smoothing and volumizing dryer brush
WattageNot published
Heat settings3 heat settings
Speed settings2 speed settings
Weight16 oz (cord not included)
Cord length8 ft, 360-degree swivel cord
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNone supplied
Plate / barrelCeraGloss ceramic surface, heat-resistant bristles
Dual voltageNo — 125 V
Warranty2-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from T3 Micro — AireBrush One-Step product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

T3 does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

3. The flat iron

ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)

Best for: Frizz on hair you also want straight

One fixed 365°F with no dial — because most frizzy hair is over-ironed hair.

There is a loop worth naming: frizz makes people iron more, ironing damages the cuticle, damaged cuticles frizz more. An iron with no temperature dial breaks the escalation at the hardware level.

ghd publishes infinity sensors monitoring heat 250 times a second across the plates and precision-milled floating high-gloss plates. Even heat is what lets one pass finish a section, and one pass is what stops the loop.

9 ft cable, universal voltage, three-year warranty.

What’s wrong with it

You cannot go below 365°F either, and hair that is frizzy because it is damaged might want to. No published wattage or weight.

Published specifications — ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)

Published specifications for the ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)
WattageNot published
Heat settingsOne fixed temperature — 365°F
Speed settingsNot applicable
WeightNot published
Cord length9 ft power cable
Noise (dB)Not applicable
AttachmentsNone supplied
Plate / barrelPrecision-milled floating high-gloss plates, 1 in
Dual voltageYes — universal voltage
Warranty3-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from ghd — Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

4. The air styler

Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)

Best for: Smoothing without a clamped plate

1,300 W and a smoothing brush attachment — the lowest-heat way to flatten a cuticle.

If your frizz is on already-damaged hair, the priority is smoothing it with the least additional heat. 1,300 W is the lowest mains rating in our registry, and the smoothing brush attachments work by airflow and tension rather than by clamping a plate on.

Dyson publishes smoothing brushes in both firm and soft versions in the Complete Long configuration — the soft one being the sensible choice on fragile hair.

Three heat and three speed settings, 1.4 lb, 8.5 ft cable.

What’s wrong with it

The most expensive tool on this site, 120 V only, and slow on dense hair. A two-year warranty a $40 hot air brush doubles.

Published specifications — Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)

Published specifications for the Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)
Wattage1,300 W
Heat settings3 heat settings
Speed settings3 speed settings
Weight1.4 lb
Cord length8.5 ft
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsCurling barrels, smoothing brushes, round volumizing brush, drying nozzle
Plate / barrelCoanda airflow barrels; no clamped heat plate
Dual voltageNo — 120 V
Warranty2-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from Dyson — Airwrap Complete Long product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$15.50 a year

1,300 W × 65 hours a year = 84.5 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

The one we'd skip

Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer

Best for: Not frizz

No published heat-setting count, so the cool finish that sets a smooth cuticle cannot be confirmed.

Finishing a section on cool is what locks the cuticle flat as it cools, and it is the step that decides whether smoothing holds until evening.

Revlon publishes no heat-setting count for this model at all, where its own newer sibling the Volumizer Plus states four including a dedicated cool. Both carry the identical four-year warranty and the Plus adds a detachable head for cleaning.

Same coverage, less function, less published information. There is no version of this comparison where the older model wins.

What’s wrong with it

No published cool setting, and a non-detachable brush head that collects the product residue frizzy hair tends to carry.

Published specifications — Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer

Published specifications for the Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer
WattageNot published
Heat settingsNot published
Speed settingsNot published
WeightNot published
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNon-detachable brush head
Plate / barrelCeramic coating
Dual voltageNot published
Warranty4-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

Revlon does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

Questions people actually ask

What hair tools help with frizz?

A dryer with a proper concentrator, used pointing down the strand rather than across it, and a hot air brush that applies tension and airflow in the same direction. Neither helps if the frizz is from a permanently damaged cuticle.

Why is my hair frizzy even after straightening?

Usually because the cuticle is damaged rather than just rough — the scales are physically lifted and cracked, so no amount of pressing lays them back down. That is the kind of frizz a haircut fixes and a tool does not.

How to tell which kind you have

Do ionic dryers help frizz?

Manufacturers say ionic output neutralizes the static charge on dry hair. Because nearly every dryer now makes that claim at every price point, it is not a useful way to choose between two of them.

Sources

Read next