Skip to content
Strand & Steam

Multi-Stylers & Dupes

The Best Multi-Stylers for Thick Hair in 2026

This is the category where the Airwrap's famous low wattage stops being a design argument and starts being a problem.

Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.

An air styler works by drying damp hair into shape, so on dense hair the published wattage is what decides how long you stand there. The range in our registry runs from 1,300 W to 1,700 W, and on thick hair that 400-watt gap is the difference between a session and an ordeal.

An air styling tool with barrel attachments on a plain surface

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.

Ranked picks with what each is best for and where to buy
#ProductBest forPrice
1

Shark FlexStyle IonCurl hair styler

1,700 W — the highest air styler rating in our registry — at the same published 1.5 lb as the standard FlexStyle.

Dense hair the standard models dry too slowly
2

Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system

1,600 W with a published attachment list, and the handle converts to a standalone dryer.

Dense hair where you want to know what you are buying
3

T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler

1,200–1,400 W published, three speeds, and the only dual-voltage air styler here.

Dense hair that also travels

Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)

1,300 W — the lowest mains rating on this site — on a tool whose entire mechanism is drying hair.

We’d skip this

Not dense hair

1. Most published power

Shark FlexStyle IonCurl hair styler

Best for: Dense hair the standard models dry too slowly

1,700 W — the highest air styler rating in our registry — at the same published 1.5 lb as the standard FlexStyle.

Shark built this variant for hair the original FlexStyle dried too slowly, which is precisely the complaint this page is about. 1,700 W is 400 W above the Dyson Airwrap and 100 W above the standard FlexStyle.

The weight and cord are unchanged from the standard model — a published 1.5 lb and 8 ft — so the extra power costs you nothing in handling.

Plastic and metal construction, 120 V, two-year limited warranty.

What’s wrong with it

Shark publishes no attachment list for this model at all, so confirm what is in the box at the point of purchase. No heat- or speed-setting count either.

Published specifications — Shark FlexStyle IonCurl hair styler

Published specifications for the Shark FlexStyle IonCurl hair styler
Wattage1,700 W (peak 1,700 W)
Heat settingsNot published
Speed settingsNot published
Weight1.5 lb
Cord length8 ft
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNot published
Plate / barrelCoanda airflow barrels; plastic and metal body
Dual voltageNo — 120 V
Warranty2-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from SharkNinja — Shark FlexStyle IonCurl (HD840PK1) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$20.27 a year

1,700 W (peak 1,700 W) × 65 hours a year = 110.5 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

2. Power plus a published set

Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system

Best for: Dense hair where you want to know what you are buying

1,600 W with a published attachment list, and the handle converts to a standalone dryer.

300 W above the Airwrap, with the attachment configuration actually published — auto-wrap curlers, an oval brush, a paddle brush, a concentrator and a diffuser, chosen at purchase.

The conversion matters more on thick hair than anywhere. Dense hair needs proper drying before any styling tool is useful, and a handle that works as a conventional dryer means you are not fighting an underpowered styler through the boring eighty percent.

1.5 lb, 8 ft cord, 120 V, two-year limited warranty.

What’s wrong with it

No published heat- or speed-setting count. 120 V only, and 1,600 W is still well below a proper dryer's 1,875 W for the drying half of the job.

Published specifications — Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system

Published specifications for the Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system
Wattage1,600 W (peak 1,600 W)
Heat settingsNot published
Speed settingsNot published
Weight1.5 lb
Cord length8 ft
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsConfigurable — auto-wrap curlers, oval brush, paddle brush, concentrator, diffuser
Plate / barrelCoanda airflow barrels; no clamped heat plate
Dual voltageNo — 120 V
Warranty2-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from SharkNinja — Shark FlexStyle (HD400SN) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$19.07 a year

1,600 W (peak 1,600 W) × 65 hours a year = 104.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

3. Published wattage and dual voltage

T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler

Best for: Dense hair that also travels

1,200–1,400 W published, three speeds, and the only dual-voltage air styler here.

At the top of its published range this sits above the Airwrap, which is not something most air stylers manage. Three heat and three speed settings give real control, and T3 publishes the wattage — the only product in their range that does.

Extra-long curling attachments are published as included, which matters on dense long hair where a short barrel cannot hold enough of a section to shape it.

9 ft swivel cord, dual voltage, ceramic surfaces, two-year warranty.

What’s wrong with it

The bottom of its range, 1,200 W, is below the Airwrap. No published weight, and no diffuser in the published attachment list.

Published specifications — T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler

Published specifications for the T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler
Wattage1,200–1,400 W
Heat settings3 heat settings
Speed settings3 speed settings
WeightNot published
Cord length9 ft, 360-degree swivel cord
Noise (dB)Not published
Attachments2 extra-long curling attachments (left and right), oval AireBrush attachment
Plate / barrelKorean CeraGloss ceramic
Dual voltageYes — dual voltage
Warranty2-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from T3 Micro — Aire 360 Dual Voltage product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$16.69 a year

1,200–1,400 W × 65 hours a year = 91.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

The one we'd skip

Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)

Best for: Not dense hair

1,300 W — the lowest mains rating on this site — on a tool whose entire mechanism is drying hair.

We recommend this tool on two other pages and it is the wrong buy here, and the reason is one number Dyson publishes themselves.

1,300 W is the lowest mains rating in our whole registry — lower than every dryer we list and 400 W below the IonCurl. The Airwrap works by drying damp hair into shape around a barrel, so on dense hair you are asking the least powerful tool available to do the most drying.

That is a mismatch, not a defect. On fine hair the low wattage is exactly the right specification and it wins the fine-hair page. On thick hair it is the most expensive way to stand there the longest.

What’s wrong with it

Lowest published wattage on the site, at the highest price, on the hair type with the most water to remove.

Published specifications — Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)

Published specifications for the Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)
Wattage1,300 W
Heat settings3 heat settings
Speed settings3 speed settings
Weight1.4 lb
Cord length8.5 ft
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsCurling barrels, smoothing brushes, round volumizing brush, drying nozzle
Plate / barrelCoanda airflow barrels; no clamped heat plate
Dual voltageNo — 120 V
Warranty2-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from Dyson — Airwrap Complete Long product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$15.50 a year

1,300 W × 65 hours a year = 84.5 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

The wattage table for this category

Published wattage across every air styler we list

Published wattage across every air styler we list
ToolPublished wattageWeightConverts to a dryer
Shark FlexStyle IonCurl1,700 W1.5 lbYes
Shark FlexStyle1,600 W1.5 lbYes
T3 Aire 3601,200–1,400 WNot publishedNo
Dyson Airwrap Complete Long1,300 W1.4 lbNo

Wattage measures electricity drawn rather than air moved, and nobody publishes airflow in comparable units. On a tool that dries hair into shape it is the closest usable proxy we have.

Note what the table does not settle. Airflow is the specification that would actually decide drying speed and no manufacturer publishes it in comparable units, so wattage is a proxy and we are saying so rather than dressing it up.

Dry properly first, then style

The most useful advice on this page costs nothing: on thick hair, do not ask an air styler to do the bulk drying. Rough-dry to about eighty percent with a proper dryer, then bring the styler in for shape.

Air stylers are optimized for setting a shape as the last of the water leaves, not for removing a headful of it. Used for the whole job on dense hair they are slow, and the length of the session becomes its own form of heat exposure. The dryers built for this half are at the best hair dryers for thick hair.

Barrel length, which matters more than diameter here

On dense long hair a short barrel cannot hold enough of a section to shape it, so the curl slips or comes out uneven. Dyson sells the Airwrap in short and long configurations for this reason and T3 publishes extra-long curling attachments on the Aire 360.

Buying the short configuration for waist-length dense hair is a common and expensive mistake, and the two variants sit next to each other at purchase. The full attachment breakdown is at what each attachment does.

The running cost, since sessions are long

At the June 2026 US average residential rate of 18.34 cents per kWh and our standard assumption of fifteen minutes a day five days a week, the 1,700 W IonCurl costs about $20.27 a year to run and the 1,300 W Airwrap about $15.50.

On thick hair a realistic session is closer to thirty minutes, which doubles both figures to roughly $41 and $31. Still under ten dollars a year between them, and still not a reason to choose either. The full working is at what your tools cost to run.

Price per use, at 5 uses a week over 5 years

Cost per use at a range of purchase prices
What you payCost per useCost per year
$30$0.02$6.00
$60$0.05$12.00
$100$0.08$20.00
$150$0.12$30.00
$200$0.15$40.00
$300$0.23$60.00
$400$0.31$80.00
$500$0.38$100.00

5 uses a week for 5 years is 1300 uses. Both figures are stated assumptions, not measurements — halve the life and every cost per use doubles. We publish the ladder rather than a worked example for one specific product because a price we typed into a sentence would be wrong within a week.

Questions people actually ask

Is the Dyson Airwrap good for thick hair?

Its published 1,300 W is the lowest mains rating in our registry, and the tool works by drying hair into shape. On dense hair that combination means a long session. A higher-wattage air styler, or a proper dryer plus a styler, suits thick hair better.

What wattage air styler do I need for thick hair?

The published range across the category is 1,300 W to 1,700 W. Higher is better on dense hair because the tool is drying as it styles — but wattage measures electricity drawn rather than air moved, so treat it as a proxy.

Should I dry my hair before using an air styler?

On thick hair, yes — rough-dry to about eighty percent with a proper dryer first. Air stylers are built to set a shape as the last water leaves, not to remove a headful of it.

Dryers for thick hair

Sources

Read next