Skip to content
Strand & Steam

Multi-Stylers & Dupes

The Best Airwrap Dupes in 2026

There is one genuine near-equivalent, one much cheaper tool that does part of the job well, and a lot of noise.

Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.

The Shark FlexStyle is the only tool with genuinely comparable published specifications — more wattage, the same warranty, and it converts to a dryer. Below that, a hot air brush costs a small fraction and does the smoothing part well, but does not curl the same way. Those are the two real options.

Styling barrels and a brush attachment laid out on a surface

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.

Ranked picks with what each is best for and where to buy
#ProductBest forPrice
1

Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system

1,600 W against Dyson's 1,300 W, the same two-year warranty, and it converts to a standalone dryer.

Anyone who wants the Airwrap result for less
2

Shark FlexStyle IonCurl hair styler

1,700 W at the same published 1.5 lb — the highest rating of any air styler here.

Denser hair that the original FlexStyle dried too slowly
3

Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush

A fraction of the price, four heat settings and a four-year warranty — but it is a different tool, not a smaller one.

Smooth blowout volume rather than defined curls

Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)

The lowest published wattage of any air styler here, at several times the price of the closest alternative.

We’d skip this

Not the value case

1. The genuine near-equivalent

Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system

Best for: Anyone who wants the Airwrap result for less

1,600 W against Dyson's 1,300 W, the same two-year warranty, and it converts to a standalone dryer.

This is the tool the word “dupe” exists for in this category, and unusually the published specifications back the reputation up. More stated wattage than the Airwrap. The same two-year limited warranty. 1.5 lb against 1.4 lb. An 8 ft cord against 8.5 ft.

And one thing the Airwrap does not do at all: the barrel section detaches, so the handle works as a conventional dryer. If you would otherwise buy a separate dryer, the effective saving is larger than the sticker difference.

Shark does not publish heat- or speed-setting counts, which is the one row where Dyson is clearly more forthcoming. On fine or damaged hair, that gap matters.

What’s wrong with it

No published heat-setting or speed-setting count, and 120 V only. Neither company publishes airflow, so drying speed cannot be compared.

Published specifications — Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system

Published specifications for the Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system
Wattage1,600 W (peak 1,600 W)
Heat settingsNot published
Speed settingsNot published
Weight1.5 lb
Cord length8 ft
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsConfigurable — auto-wrap curlers, oval brush, paddle brush, concentrator, diffuser
Plate / barrelCoanda airflow barrels; no clamped heat plate
Dual voltageNo — 120 V
Warranty2-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from SharkNinja — Shark FlexStyle (HD400SN) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$19.07 a year

1,600 W (peak 1,600 W) × 65 hours a year = 104.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

2. Most power in the category

Shark FlexStyle IonCurl hair styler

Best for: Denser hair that the original FlexStyle dried too slowly

1,700 W at the same published 1.5 lb — the highest rating of any air styler here.

The IonCurl publishes 1,700 W, 400 W above the Airwrap and 100 W above the standard FlexStyle, at an identical published weight of 1.5 lb and the same 8 ft cord.

On a tool whose entire mechanism is drying hair into shape, extra power is the specification that shortens the session. For dense hair, this is the version of the FlexStyle worth looking at.

Shark publishes plastic and metal construction and a 120 V rating, with the same two-year limited warranty. As with the standard model, no heat- or speed-setting count is published, and no attachment list appears on this product page.

What’s wrong with it

No published attachment list at all on the product page, so what is in the box cannot be confirmed from the manufacturer. No heat- or speed-setting count either.

Published specifications — Shark FlexStyle IonCurl hair styler

Published specifications for the Shark FlexStyle IonCurl hair styler
Wattage1,700 W (peak 1,700 W)
Heat settingsNot published
Speed settingsNot published
Weight1.5 lb
Cord length8 ft
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNot published
Plate / barrelCoanda airflow barrels; plastic and metal body
Dual voltageNo — 120 V
Warranty2-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from SharkNinja — Shark FlexStyle IonCurl (HD840PK1) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$20.27 a year

1,700 W (peak 1,700 W) × 65 hours a year = 110.5 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

3. The cheap alternative that works

Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush

Best for: Smooth blowout volume rather than defined curls

A fraction of the price, four heat settings and a four-year warranty — but it is a different tool, not a smaller one.

An honest dupe roundup has to include the tool most people would actually be happy with. If what you want from an Airwrap is a smooth, voluminous blowout rather than defined curls, a hot air brush delivers that for a small fraction of the money.

Revlon publishes four heat settings — low, medium, high and cool — a ceramic titanium barrel with tourmaline ionic technology, a detachable brush head, and a four-year limited warranty. That warranty is double what Dyson and Shark offer.

What it will not do is wrap hair around a barrel to set a curl. This is a smoothing and volumizing tool, and calling it an Airwrap dupe overstates it. Calling it the right purchase for a lot of people does not.

What’s wrong with it

It does not curl the way an air styler does, and Revlon publishes no wattage, weight, cord length or speed-setting count for it.

Published specifications — Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush

Published specifications for the Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush
WattageNot published
Heat settings4 heat settings — low, medium, high, cool
Speed settingsNot published
WeightNot published
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsDetachable brush head
Plate / barrelCeramic titanium barrel; tourmaline ionic
Dual voltageNot published
Warranty4-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — One-Step Volumizer Plus product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

Revlon does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

The one we'd skip

Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)

Best for: Not the value case

The lowest published wattage of any air styler here, at several times the price of the closest alternative.

On a page about alternatives, the Airwrap itself is the thing we would skip, and the reasoning is entirely from published figures.

1,300 W is the lowest mains rating in our whole registry. The warranty is two years — the same as the Shark, and half what a drugstore Revlon offers. The weight advantage is 0.1 lb. The cord advantage is half a foot. And it does not convert to a dryer.

None of that makes it a bad tool, and on fine hair the low wattage is genuinely the right specification — which is why we recommend it on the fine-hair page. But if you arrived here looking for the best value in this category, the published numbers do not point at the Dyson.

What’s wrong with it

Lowest published wattage in the category, no dryer conversion, and a two-year warranty matched by a tool costing a fraction as much.

Published specifications — Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)

Published specifications for the Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)
Wattage1,300 W
Heat settings3 heat settings
Speed settings3 speed settings
Weight1.4 lb
Cord length8.5 ft
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsCurling barrels, smoothing brushes, round volumizing brush, drying nozzle
Plate / barrelCoanda airflow barrels; no clamped heat plate
Dual voltageNo — 120 V
Warranty2-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from Dyson — Airwrap Complete Long product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$15.50 a year

1,300 W × 65 hours a year = 84.5 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

What counts as a dupe

The word gets used for two different things, and conflating them is why so much of this coverage is unhelpful.

A functional equivalent does what the Airwrap does — uses fast airflow to wrap and set hair around a barrel. In current retail, essentially only the Shark FlexStyle line qualifies on published specifications.

A cheaper way to get a similar-looking result is a different proposition. A hot air brush produces smooth volume for a small fraction of the price, and for a great many people that is actually the result they wanted. It is not the same mechanism, and pretending otherwise sets people up for disappointment.

The comparison, on what is published

Air stylers and the nearest alternatives, as published

Air stylers and the nearest alternatives, as published
ToolWattageWeightWarrantyConverts to dryer
Dyson Airwrap Complete Long1,300 W1.4 lb2-yearNo
Shark FlexStyle1,600 W1.5 lb2-yearYes
Shark FlexStyle IonCurl1,700 W1.5 lb2-yearYes
Revlon One-Step Volumizer PlusNot publishedNot published4-yearNot applicable

Every figure from the manufacturer's own product page. Blank cells are blank at the source.

The Dyson is bottom of the table on power, mid-table on weight, tied bottom on warranty, and the only one that will not also dry your hair. That is a strange position for the most expensive product in a category.

What none of them publish

Airflow, in any comparable unit. Since these tools work by moving air, that is the specification that would settle which one styles faster and holds better — and it does not exist publicly. Anyone ranking air stylers on airflow is testing (and should say how) or guessing.

Noise is the other blank, from every manufacturer in the category.

The money, in cents per use

Price per use, at 5 uses a week over 5 years

Cost per use at a range of purchase prices
What you payCost per useCost per year
$30$0.02$6.00
$60$0.05$12.00
$100$0.08$20.00
$150$0.12$30.00
$200$0.15$40.00
$300$0.23$60.00
$400$0.31$80.00
$500$0.38$100.00

5 uses a week for 5 years is 1300 uses. Both figures are stated assumptions, not measurements — halve the life and every cost per use doubles. We publish the ladder rather than a worked example for one specific product because a price we typed into a sentence would be wrong within a week.

Find the price you are seeing on each tool and subtract the rows. That difference per use is the whole of what you are deciding, and it is a better basis than any adjective. The extended argument is at are expensive hair tools worth it.

Questions people actually ask

What is the best Dyson Airwrap dupe?

On published specifications, the Shark FlexStyle: more wattage, the same two-year warranty, a comparable weight, and it converts to a standalone dryer. It is the only current tool with genuinely comparable published specs.

Is there a cheap Airwrap alternative that actually works?

A hot air brush costs a small fraction and produces smooth, voluminous blowouts very well. It does not wrap hair around a barrel to set a curl, so it is a different tool rather than a cheaper version of the same one.

Hot air brushes, in detail

Are Airwrap dupes worth it?

The Shark leads the Dyson on most published rows and costs considerably less, so on spec sheets the value case is clear. What no spec sheet settles is curl quality and hold, because no manufacturer publishes airflow in comparable units.

Sources

Read next