Hair Dryers
The Best Dyson Supersonic Dupes and Alternatives in 2026
Dyson publishes 1,600 W, which is less power than a drugstore dryer draws, and says so openly. Once you know that, the question stops being how to match a motor and becomes which published rows you actually wanted.
Updated November 2026 · Sawyer V.
Buy the Shark SpeedStyle Pro. Against the Supersonic’s published figures it is the closest thing in this registry on every row that can be compared: 1,750 W against 1,600 W, 1.65 lb against 1.8 lb, the same two-year limited warranty, and the same architecture — high-velocity airflow with no heated styling surface.

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.
Quick picks
Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer Higher published wattage, lower published weight and the same warranty as the Supersonic, at a fraction of the price. | Anyone who wanted the Dyson for the airflow, not the badge | |
| 2 | ![]() ghd Helios 1875W advanced professional hair dryer 1,875 W with variable temperature and variable power control rather than fixed steps, on a 9 ft cable. | Dense hair, where drying time is the actual complaint | |
| 3 | ![]() T3 Featherweight StyleMax professional hair dryer 16.6 oz without the cord against Dyson's 1.8 lb, with fifteen heat-and-speed combinations. | Long hair, or anyone whose arm is the limiting factor | |
| 4 | ![]() L'ange Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer 0.7 lb without the cord and a published 140 to 230 degree range, with a magnetic wall mount. | Anyone who found the Dyson heavy, and wants published temperatures | |
| 5 | ![]() Hot Tools Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W 1,875 W with a diffuser and concentrator published as in the box, on a lifetime limited warranty. | Curly hair, and anyone who wants the attachments in the box | |
| 6 | ![]() Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer The same 1,875 W as the most expensive salon dryers here, at the lowest price in this registry. | Anyone testing whether the premium was ever the point | |
| — | ![]() Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system It publishes exactly the Supersonic's 1,600 W - and it is the answer to a different question entirely. We’d skip this | Someone who wanted an Airwrap, not a Supersonic |
1. The closest published match
Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer
Best for: Anyone who wanted the Dyson for the airflow, not the badge
Higher published wattage, lower published weight and the same warranty as the Supersonic, at a fraction of the price.
Take the Supersonic’s own spec sheet and go row by row. Dyson publishes 1,600 W; Shark publishes 1,750 W. Dyson publishes 1.8 lb; Shark publishes 1.65 lb. Dyson publishes an 8.6 ft cord; Shark publishes 96.1 in (8.0 ft). Both publish a two-year limited warranty. Both describe themselves as high-velocity airflow with no heated styling surface.
On the four rows both makers publish, Shark wins two, loses one narrowly and ties one. That is as close as a dupe argument gets to being settled by the manufacturers themselves, and it is the reason this is the pick rather than a cheaper dryer that wins on price alone.
One caveat that is load-bearing and is why this is not a blank recommendation. Shark names a DefrizzFast diffuser and a lift-and-stretch wide-tooth comb in its marketing, and when we read the HD731 page on 2026-10-17 both were listed as sold separately — the in-box list was the dryer, a FrizzFighter tool, a QuickSmooth brush and a Turbo concentrator. Dyson publishes its diffuser and comb as being in the box. Budget accordingly: full detail at what the Shark attachments cost, and the head-to-head at Dyson Supersonic vs Shark SpeedStyle.
What’s wrong with it
Two of the attachments that would make it a like-for-like swap were listed as sold separately when we last read Shark's page, so the real cost is higher than the shelf price. Shark also publishes no heat-setting count and no speed-setting count - two rows Dyson does publish - and no decibel figure, same as everyone.
Published specifications — Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer
| Wattage | 1,750 W (peak 1,750 W) |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | Not published |
| Speed settings | Not published |
| Weight | 1.65 lb |
| Cord length | 96.1 in (8.0 ft) |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Turbo concentrator, QuickSmooth brush, DefrizzFast diffuser, wide-tooth comb, touch-up brush, FrizzFighter finishing tool |
| Plate / barrel | High-velocity airflow; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | No — 120 V |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from SharkNinja — Shark SpeedStyle Pro (HD731) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$20.86 a year
1,750 W (peak 1,750 W) × 65 hours a year = 113.8 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
2. Most published airflow power
ghd Helios 1875W advanced professional hair dryer
Best for: Dense hair, where drying time is the actual complaint
1,875 W with variable temperature and variable power control rather than fixed steps, on a 9 ft cable.
If what you actually wanted from the Dyson was a faster dry, this is the honest answer and the comparison is uncomfortable for the premium end. ghd publishes 1,875 W against Dyson’s 1,600 W — the highest published figure on this site, tied with two much cheaper dryers.
The control set is genuinely different rather than merely cheaper. ghd publishes variable temperature control including a cool shot and variable power control— continuous dials, where Dyson publishes four heat steps and three speed steps. Whether a dial beats steps is a preference, but it is not a downgrade.
A 9 ft power cable, longer than Dyson’s 8.6 ft. Worth knowing before you spend: ghd publishes a 2-year consumer warranty and a 1-year professional warranty on it. Full sheet at the ghd Helios review.
What’s wrong with it
ghd publishes no weight, no attachment list and no decibel figure - three rows Dyson fills, and the missing weight is the one that matters most for a long dry. It is also the most expensive alternative here, so the saving against a Supersonic is the smallest on this page, and ghd states plainly that it is not universal voltage.
Published specifications — ghd Helios 1875W advanced professional hair dryer
| Wattage | 1,875 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | Variable temperature control, including a cool shot |
| Speed settings | Variable power control |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | 9 ft power cable |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Not published |
| Plate / barrel | Aeroprecis airflow; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | No — ghd states it is not universal voltage |
| Warranty | 2-year consumer warranty (1-year professional) |
Every figure above is taken from ghd — Helios 1875W professional hair dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$22.35 a year
1,875 W × 65 hours a year = 121.9 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
3. Beats it on weight by a clear margin
T3 Featherweight StyleMax professional hair dryer
Best for: Long hair, or anyone whose arm is the limiting factor
16.6 oz without the cord against Dyson's 1.8 lb, with fifteen heat-and-speed combinations.
The Supersonic is frequently bought for comfort rather than speed, and on comfort it is beaten here outright. T3 publishes 16.6 oz, cord not included, against Dyson’s 1.8 lb — a little over a pound against nearly two.
The control count also goes T3’s way: five heat settings and three speed settings, which is fifteen combinations against Dyson’s twelve. Plus a 9 ft professional cord, longer than Dyson’s.
Then the gap, and it is a real one: T3 publishes no wattage at all. You cannot compare its power to the Supersonic’s 1,600 W and you cannot compute a running cost, which on this site is a genuine mark against it. Full sheet at the Featherweight StyleMax review, and the head-to-head at Dyson Supersonic vs T3 Featherweight.
What’s wrong with it
No published wattage, which means the one row this page is built on cannot be compared at all - and it is the single most-missed figure on this site. It is also 125 V only and T3 publishes no attachment list, where Dyson publishes three items in the box.
Published specifications — T3 Featherweight StyleMax professional hair dryer
| Wattage | Not published |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 5 heat settings |
| Speed settings | 3 speed settings |
| Weight | 16.6 oz (cord not included) |
| Cord length | 9 ft professional cord |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Not published |
| Plate / barrel | Ceramic |
| Dual voltage | No — 125 V |
| Warranty | 2-year warranty |
Every figure above is taken from T3 Micro — Featherweight StyleMax product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
T3 does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.
4. Less than half the published weight
L'ange Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer
Best for: Anyone who found the Dyson heavy, and wants published temperatures
0.7 lb without the cord and a published 140 to 230 degree range, with a magnetic wall mount.
L’ange publishes 0.7 lb (317.5 g) without the cord against the Supersonic’s 1.8 lb. That is less than half, and it makes this the lightest dryer in this registry by a wide margin.
It also does something Dyson does not: it publishes actual temperatures. Four settings across 140–230°F with a cool shot, where Dyson publishes four heat settings and no degrees. If heat control was the reason you were looking at a Supersonic, this is the only dryer here that lets you verify what you are applying.
1,300 W, two speeds, a 6.6 ft (2 m) cord, and two published accessories — a magnetic concentrator nozzle and a magnetic wall mount. Full sheet at the Axia HaloRing review.
What’s wrong with it
1,300 W is below Dyson's 1,600 W and the lowest published figure of any full-size dryer here, so a dry takes longer - which partly spends the advantage the weight buys. The cord is 6.6 ft against Dyson's 8.6 ft, it is 125 V only, and L'ange publishes a 1-year warranty against Dyson's two.
Published specifications — L'ange Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer
| Wattage | 1,300 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 4 — cool shot, low, medium, high (140–230°F published) |
| Speed settings | 2 speeds |
| Weight | 0.7 lb (317.5 g) without the cord |
| Cord length | 6.6 ft (2 m) |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | 2 — magnetic concentrator nozzle and magnetic wall mount |
| Plate / barrel | HaloRing body; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | No — 125 V, 50/60 Hz |
| Warranty | 1-year warranty |
Every figure above is taken from L'ange — Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$15.50 a year
1,300 W × 65 hours a year = 84.5 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
5. Best warranty of anything here
Hot Tools Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W
Best for: Curly hair, and anyone who wants the attachments in the box
1,875 W with a diffuser and concentrator published as in the box, on a lifetime limited warranty.
Two published rows beat the Supersonic outright. The first is 1,875 W against 1,600 W. The second is the warranty: Hot Tools publishes a lifetime limited warranty, the only lifetime cover from any brand in this registry, against Dyson’s two years.
The third is the one that matters if your hair is curly. Hot Tools publishes two attachments in the box — a curl-defining diffuser and a precision concentrator. Dyson publishes three, including a diffuser and a wide-tooth comb, which is more; but Hot Tools is one of only two makers here that publishes a diffuser as included at all, and it is by far the cheaper of the two.
Three heat settings, two speeds with a cool shot, a 9 ft professional cord. Full sheet at the Pro Artist 1875W review, and the curl case at the best diffusers for curly hair.
What’s wrong with it
Hot Tools publishes no weight, no voltage and no decibel figure - three rows Dyson fills, and the missing weight means you cannot check the comfort claim that sends people to a Supersonic in the first place. Three heat settings is also less adjustment than Dyson's four plus a cold shot.
Published specifications — Hot Tools Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W
| Wattage | 1,875 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 3 heat settings |
| Speed settings | 2 speeds, with a cool shot |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | 9 ft professional cord |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | 2 — curl-defining diffuser and precision concentrator |
| Plate / barrel | Tourmaline ceramic grill; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | Not published |
| Warranty | Lifetime limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from Hot Tools — Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$22.35 a year
1,875 W × 65 hours a year = 121.9 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
6. Most published watts per dollar on the site
Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer
Best for: Anyone testing whether the premium was ever the point
The same 1,875 W as the most expensive salon dryers here, at the lowest price in this registry.
This is the pick that tests the premise. Revlon publishes 1,875 W — higher than the Supersonic, and identical to the figure ghd publishes on a dryer costing many times more. If raw published airflow power were what the money bought, this would end the argument.
It publishes three heat settings, two speeds and a 1 in triple-coated ceramic grill with a tourmaline ionic claim. For a reader who suspects they have been sold a story, buying this first and keeping the difference is a defensible experiment.
The reason it is last rather than first is everything Revlon does not say, and on this page that matters more than usual: you cannot run a dupe comparison against rows the maker leaves blank. Full sheet at the SmoothStay review, and the direct comparison at Dyson Supersonic vs Revlon SmoothStay.
What’s wrong with it
Revlon publishes no weight, no cord length, no voltage, no attachment list and no warranty - five blank rows out of ten, against a Dyson sheet that fills nine. That is the honest cost of the saving: not worse published performance, but almost nothing published to check.
Published specifications — Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer
| Wattage | 1,875 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 3 heat settings |
| Speed settings | 2 speed settings |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | Not published |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Not published |
| Plate / barrel | 1 in grill, triple-coated ceramic; tourmaline ionic |
| Dual voltage | Not published |
| Warranty | Not published |
Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$22.35 a year
1,875 W × 65 hours a year = 121.9 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
The one we'd skip
Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system
Best for: Someone who wanted an Airwrap, not a Supersonic
It publishes exactly the Supersonic's 1,600 W - and it is the answer to a different question entirely.
This is the most tempting wrong answer on the page, and the temptation is a published number: Shark states 1,600 W (peak 1,600 W) on the FlexStyle, which is exactly the Supersonic’s figure. It also publishes 1.5 lb, lighter than Dyson’s 1.8 lb, an 8 ft cord and the same two-year limited warranty.
On paper it looks like the closest dupe here. It is not, because it is a different tool. The FlexStyle is an air styler that converts to a dryer, built around Coanda airflow barrels, and its configurable attachment set is a styling set. If you buy it wanting a dryer, you are paying for a curling mechanism you did not want — and Shark’s own SpeedStyle Pro, the top pick above, publishes more power at less weight for less money.
Where the FlexStyle genuinely is the right answer is as an Airwrap alternative, and we say so plainly: that identical 1,600 W figure is the strongest number in that argument, which is laid out at the best Airwrap dupes and Dyson Airwrap vs Shark FlexStyle. Different product family, different question.
What’s wrong with it
You would be buying a styling mechanism to replace a dryer, and Shark's own cheaper SpeedStyle Pro publishes 1,750 W at 1.65 lb against this tool's 1,600 W at 1.5 lb. Shark also publishes no heat-setting or speed-setting count for it, and its attachment set is described as configurable rather than listed.
Published specifications — Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system
| Wattage | 1,600 W (peak 1,600 W) |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | Not published |
| Speed settings | Not published |
| Weight | 1.5 lb |
| Cord length | 8 ft |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Configurable — auto-wrap curlers, oval brush, paddle brush, concentrator, diffuser |
| Plate / barrel | Coanda airflow barrels; no clamped heat plate |
| Dual voltage | No — 120 V |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from SharkNinja — Shark FlexStyle (HD400SN) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$19.07 a year
1,600 W (peak 1,600 W) × 65 hours a year = 104.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
What the Supersonic actually publishes, which is the whole baseline
A dupe argument is only as good as the thing it is measured against, so here is the target, read off Dyson’s own product page. The surprising row is the first one.
Dyson Supersonic, as published by Dyson
| Row | What Dyson publishes | How it ranks in this registry |
|---|---|---|
| Wattage | 1,600 W | Below five other dryers here, including the cheapest |
| Heat settings | 4, including a cold shot | Joint most of any dryer here |
| Speed settings | 3 | Joint most of any dryer here |
| Weight | 1.8 lb | Second heaviest tool in the registry |
| Cord length | 8.6 ft | Mid-field - four dryers publish 9 ft |
| Attachments | 3 - styling concentrator, diffuser, wide-tooth comb | The most complete published in-box list of any dryer here |
| Dual voltage | No - 120 V | Same as every dryer here but one |
| Warranty | 2-year limited | Mid-field - two brands beat it |
| Noise | Not published | Same as every product in this registry |
Read from Dyson's own Supersonic product page. Dyson publishes nine of the ten rows this site tracks, which is better disclosure than most of the alternatives on this page manage.
Dyson is unusually open about the wattage figure, and it is the key to this whole page: the company states 1,600 W and argues that airflow control rather than raw power is what it sells. Take that at face value and the dupe question changes shape. You are not looking for a dryer that matches a motor — five dryers here already exceed it on paper. You are looking for whichever published row you were actually buying.
The alternatives, row by row against the target
Every alternative on this page against the Supersonic's published figures
| Dryer | Published wattage | Published weight |
|---|---|---|
| Dyson Supersonic (the target) | 1,600 W | 1.8 lb |
| Shark SpeedStyle Pro | 1,750 W - higher | 1.65 lb - lighter |
| ghd Helios | 1,875 W - higher | Not published |
| Hot Tools Pro Artist 1875W | 1,875 W - higher | Not published |
| Revlon SmoothStay | 1,875 W - higher | Not published |
| T3 Featherweight StyleMax | Not published | 16.6 oz - much lighter |
| L'ange Axia HaloRing | 1,300 W - lower | 0.7 lb - less than half |
| Shark FlexStyle (the skip) | 1,600 W - identical | 1.5 lb - lighter |
Read from each maker's own product page. Only two dryers in this registry publish both figures, which is why no row of this table is a complete comparison on its own.
The rows that are not wattage or weight
| Dryer | Warranty | Published attachments |
|---|---|---|
| Dyson Supersonic | 2-year limited | 3 - concentrator, diffuser, wide-tooth comb |
| Hot Tools Pro Artist 1875W | Lifetime limited - the best here | 2 - curl-defining diffuser, precision concentrator |
| Shark SpeedStyle Pro | 2-year limited | Four in the box, four sold separately (read 2026-10-17) |
| ghd Helios | 2-year consumer, 1-year professional | Not published |
| T3 Featherweight StyleMax | 2-year | Not published |
| L'ange Axia HaloRing | 1-year - the shortest here | 2 - magnetic nozzle, wall mount |
| Revlon SmoothStay | Not published | Not published |
Read from each maker's own product page. Hot Tools and Dyson are the only two makers in this registry that publish a diffuser as being in the box.
Two findings fall out of these tables. First, on published airflow power the Supersonic is beaten by four dryers, three of which cost a fraction of it — so anyone buying it for watts has misread the box. Second, the row where it genuinely leads is published in-box attachments, and that is the row people forget to price in: a cheaper dryer plus the diffuser it does not include is not always the saving it looks like.
What a dupe cannot copy, honestly
This site has an existing page on exactly that question — what a dupe actually copies, and what it cannot — and the short version applies here. The published rows above are the rows that can be compared. These cannot be, and pretending otherwise would make this page worthless:
- Airflow quality at a given wattage. Watts measure electrical draw, not how much air moves or how evenly. The makers who state an airflow figure state it in different units with no test method, so the figures are not comparable to each other.
- Heat consistency over a session. Dyson’s pitch is temperature regulation. Nobody in this registry, Dyson included, publishes a measurement of it.
- Noise. Not one maker here publishes a decibel figure, which is a bigger omission than it sounds — see how loud is a hair dryer, nobody will tell you.
- Motor life. No duty cycle, no rated hours, no figure from anyone. Warranty length is the only published proxy there is, which is why it is in the second table above.
- Build and finish. Real, visible, and not a specification. We have handled none of these tools and will not pretend to judge it.
Which row were you actually buying?
- Speed on dense hair. Buy published watts. The ghd Helios, Hot Tools Pro Artist or Revlon SmoothStay all publish 1,875 W, against the Supersonic’s 1,600 W, at three very different prices.
- Comfort over a long dry. Buy published weight. The L’ange Axia at 0.7 lb or the T3 Featherweight at 16.6 oz, both well under 1.8 lb.
- Heat control you can verify. Only one dryer here publishes degrees: the L’ange Axia, at 140–230°F. Dyson publishes four steps and no numbers.
- The attachments. This is where the Supersonic leads. Hot Tools is the only cheaper dryer here that publishes a diffuser as in the box — the best diffusers for curly hair covers the rest.
- Something that will not die. Buy published warranty. Hot Tools publishes a lifetime limited warranty against Dyson’s two years — what a warranty is actually worth.
- You wanted the styling, not the drying. Then you wanted an Airwrap, and the dupe answer is a different page: the best Airwrap dupes.
- You are not sure the premium is real at all. are expensive hair dryers worth it: the arithmetic and why is Dyson so expensive.
What we could not compare
The thing a dupe buyer most wants to know: whether a cheaper dryer feels like the expensive one in the hand and in the hair. We have tested nothing, own none of these tools, accept no loaner units and publish no ratings, so every comparison above is between published figures and nothing else. Airflow volume and velocity cannot be ranked because the makers who state a figure use incompatible units with no test method attached. Heat regulation, motor life and noise are published by nobody here. One registry gap is worth flagging on this page specifically: Dyson’s own site has refused every automated fetch we have attempted since 2026-10-12, so the Supersonic figures above are from our 2026-09-03 reading of its product page rather than from a fresh one, and they are the oldest baseline on this page. And the Shark in-box split is our 2026-10-17 reading — Shark changes those lists, so check the exact listing before you buy.
Questions people actually ask
What is the best Dyson Supersonic dupe?
The Shark SpeedStyle Pro, on published specifications. Against the Supersonic's own figures it publishes 1,750 W to Dyson's 1,600 W, 1.65 lb to Dyson's 1.8 lb, the same two-year limited warranty and the same architecture - high-velocity airflow with no heated styling surface.
How many watts is the Dyson Supersonic?
1,600 W, published by Dyson. That is less than five other dryers in this registry draw, including a Revlon that costs a fraction as much and publishes 1,875 W - and Dyson states the figure openly, because its pitch is airflow and heat control rather than raw power.
Is there a cheaper hair dryer as good as a Dyson?
On the rows that can be compared, several beat it. Four dryers here publish a higher wattage and two publish a much lower weight. What cannot be compared is airflow quality at a given wattage, heat consistency, noise and motor life - no maker in this registry publishes a measurement for any of them, and we have tested nothing.
Is the Shark FlexStyle a good Dyson Supersonic alternative?
Not as a dryer swap, despite publishing exactly the Supersonic's 1,600 W. The FlexStyle is an air styler that converts to a dryer, so buying it for drying means paying for a curling mechanism - and Shark's own cheaper SpeedStyle Pro publishes 1,750 W at 1.65 lb. The FlexStyle is the right answer to a different question: it is the strongest Airwrap alternative here.
Which hair dryer is lighter than the Dyson Supersonic?
Several. The L'ange Axia HaloRing publishes 0.7 lb without the cord, less than half the Supersonic's 1.8 lb; the T3 Featherweight StyleMax publishes 16.6 oz; the Shark FlexStyle 1.5 lb and the Shark SpeedStyle Pro 1.65 lb. ghd, Hot Tools and Revlon publish no weight for any dryer they make.
Does a cheaper dryer come with a diffuser?
Usually not, and this is the row where the Supersonic genuinely leads. Dyson publishes three attachments in the box including a diffuser and a wide-tooth comb. Only one cheaper dryer here publishes a diffuser as included - the Hot Tools Pro Artist 1875W - and the Shark SpeedStyle Pro's diffuser was listed as sold separately when we read its page on 2026-10-17.
Sources
- Dyson — Supersonic hair dryer product page
- SharkNinja — Shark SpeedStyle Pro (HD731) product page
- ghd — Helios 1875W professional hair dryer product page
- T3 Micro — Featherweight StyleMax product page
- L'ange — Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer product page
- Hot Tools — Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W product page
- Revlon Hair Tools — SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer product page
- SharkNinja — Shark FlexStyle (HD400SN) product page





