Skip to content
Strand & Steam

Multi-Stylers & Dupes

Shark FlexStyle Attachments: What You Get and What Costs Extra

Shark sells its stylers as a platform, which means the attachment you actually need may not be in the box. Its own pages make that unusually hard to check.

Updated November 2026 · Sawyer V.

Check the in-the-box list on the exact listing before you buy, because Shark sells six FlexStyle attachments individually — the Curl-Defining Diffuser, the Paddle Brush, the Oval Brush, the 1.25 in Auto-Wrap Curlers and the Wide-Tooth Comb at $39.99 each, and a storage case at $59.99 — and its own IonCurl page carries an “In the Box” heading with no items listed under it. If the diffuser is why you are buying, confirm it is included or budget for it.

Air styler attachments laid out on a surface

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.

Why this page exists

Shark does something in this category that nobody else here does: it sells its air stylers as a platform. One handle, one motor, and a set of attachments that are also individually purchasable products with their own model numbers and their own prices.

That is a genuinely good design. It means a worn-out brush is a $39.99 replacement rather than a new styler, and it means you can add the attachment your hair actually needs later. It also means the thing you are picturing when you buy the tool may not be in the box, and the amount you end up spending is not the number on the listing.

This site has run into that twice while checking other things, so here is the whole picture in one place.

The six attachments Shark sells on their own

Read from the accessory block on SharkNinja’s own FlexStyle IonCurl page on 2026-11-05, with the model numbers and prices as that page states them.

Shark FlexStyle attachments sold individually, as listed by SharkNinja

Shark FlexStyle attachments sold individually, as listed by SharkNinja
AttachmentModelPrice as listedWhat it is for
Curl-Defining DiffuserXSKHD4DA (Stone), XSKHD4DABK (Black)$39.99Drying curls and coils without disturbing the pattern
Paddle Brush399LX400$39.99Smoothing - the flat shape that lays the cuticle down
Oval Brush397LX400$39.99Volume and a rounded blow-out finish
1.25 in Auto-Wrap CurlersXSKSCRLR400$39.99The Coanda curl the platform is known for
Wide-Tooth CombXSKHD4WTCB$39.99Stretching a section while it dries
Vegan Leather Storage CaseXSKHD8SB (Pink), XHD400SAC (Black)$59.99Storage - not a styling attachment

Quoted from SharkNinja's FlexStyle IonCurl (HD840PK1) accessory block, read 2026-11-05. Prices are the maker's own listed figures on that date and are not the live prices beside our buy buttons.

Five styling attachments at $39.99 each. Buy three of them and you have spent more than the Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus costs in total. That is not a criticism of the pricing — it is the arithmetic you should do before assuming the platform is cheaper than it looks.

The “In the Box” heading with nothing in it

Here is the part that prompted this page. On the FlexStyle IonCurl page, read on 2026-11-05, there is a section heading reading “In the Box” and no items are listed under it. The only text beneath it is footnotes about comparisons to other tools.

Elsewhere the same page says the tool comes “with four versatile attachments” and that you can “curl, smooth, volumize, or dry with four versatile styling attachments.” It names a 1.25 in Auto-Wrap Curler, an Oval Brush, a FrizzFighter High Shine Polisher and a Styling Concentrator in its marketing copy — but it does not state that those four are the four in the box. We read it from SharkNinja’s own HD840PK1 page.

So a buyer trying to do the responsible thing — check what is included before paying — cannot complete that check on the manufacturer’s own page. You are left inferring it from marketing copy, which is exactly the situation this site exists to flag.

This is not a one-off. On 2026-10-17 we read the SpeedStyle HD731 page and found the in-box list had become four items — the dryer, a FrizzFighter finishing tool, a QuickSmooth brush and a Turbo concentrator — with the DefrizzFast diffuser, the lift-and-stretch wide-tooth comb, an express touch-up brush and a storage bag all listed as sold separately. Our earlier reading of that same product had named those as its attachments without the split. The SpeedStyle Pro review and ghd Helios vs Shark SpeedStyle Pro both carry that warning.

The compatibility list, and a discrepancy worth knowing

Shark does publish compatibility, which is more than most accessory makers manage. The Curl-Defining Diffuser’s own page states it is compatible with HD400, HD435, HD440, HD430REF, HD435REF and HD432PK, read from the XSKHD4DA page on 2026-11-05.

Two things follow, and the second is the one to act on.

  • The SpeedStyle is not on that list. The SpeedStyle Pro is model HD731, and HD731 does not appear among the six models above. The SpeedStyle’s own diffuser is named differently on its page — the DefrizzFast diffuser — so these read as two different parts for two different Shark tools. If you own a SpeedStyle, the FlexStyle diffuser is not the accessory you want.
  • The IonCurl is not on that list either, and the diffuser is sold on the IonCurl page. The IonCurl is HD840. The diffuser appears in the accessory block of the HD840 page, but HD840 is absent from the diffuser’s own published compatibility list. We are reporting that as the discrepancy it is rather than resolving it: two pages on the same manufacturer’s site imply different things, and the right move is to confirm fit with Shark for your exact model before ordering.

We flag maker self-contradictions when we find them rather than silently picking the convenient reading — the same way we flagged L’ange contradicting itself on a cord length and T3 contradicting itself on a list price. A company disagreeing with itself on its own site is worth noticing.

What the diffuser itself publishes

Worth setting out, because it is the only standalone diffuser on this site and the reason is that almost no other one is documented at all.

Shark FlexStyle Curl-Defining Diffuser (XSKHD4DA), as published

Shark FlexStyle Curl-Defining Diffuser (XSKHD4DA), as published
RowPublished figure
Weight0.42 lb
Dimensions5.79 in L x 5.79 in W x 3.2 in H
ProngsRetractable and extendable - two modes, no count or length published
Extended mode, per Shark"Recommended mode for longer, thicker hair that reaches and lifts the root"
Retracted mode, per Shark"Recommended mode for shorter, finer hair for ultimate coverage and less heat on the scalp"
Best for, per Shark"Wavy, curly, and coily hair"
CompatibilityHD400, HD435, HD440, HD430REF, HD435REF, HD432PK
MaterialNot published
Nozzle diameter it fitsNot published
WarrantyNot published for the attachment

Read from SharkNinja's XSKHD4DA page on 2026-11-05.

The two prong modes are the genuinely useful part, and they are unusually specific for an accessory: Shark tells you which mode suits which hair, and the retracted-mode line explicitly mentions less heat on the scalp. That is a real instruction rather than a claim, and it is the kind of thing most diffuser listings do not attempt. Diffuser vs concentrator covers which attachment your hair wants in the first place.

Why this is the only standalone diffuser on the site

Because it is the only one we could source. That deserves explaining, since the obvious question is why a site about hair tools does not rank ten of them.

The universal-diffuser shelf on Amazon is almost entirely unbranded house labels. We checked the category on 2026-11-05 and the live listings came back under names with no manufacturer behind them at all — no product pages, no spec sheets, nothing to cite. This site does not publish figures read off a retailer listing, which is the whole method: how we research sets out why.

Conair makes a universal one and is a real company, but conair.com returned 404 at its root and at its hair-care category when we tried on 2026-11-05, so nothing on it could be sourced either. That leaves Shark’s, which publishes a weight, outside dimensions, a compatibility list and two documented prong modes — and which fits six Shark models rather than any dryer.

So the honest state of this category is: fit is the only specification that matters on a diffuser, and it is the one almost nobody publishes. If you own a Shark FlexStyle you can buy a documented one. If you own anything else, you are buying on guesswork, and the better move is usually to buy a dryer that includes a diffuser rather than to gamble on an attachment — which dryers actually publish a diffuser has the three that do.

What to check before you buy any of it

  1. Read the in-the-box list on the exact listing, not the marketing copy, and not a review. If the listing does not state it, treat the attachment as not included.
  2. Match the model number, not the family name. “FlexStyle” covers HD400, HD430, HD435, HD440 and HD840 variants; “SpeedStyle” is HD731. The diffuser’s published list names six of those and not the others.
  3. Price the attachments you will actually add. At $39.99 each, two of them is most of the gap between the dupe-class styler and the flagship — the Airwrap dupe field and air styler vs hot air brush are the two pages that put that in perspective.
  4. Decide whether you need the platform at all. If you only ever want a smooth blow-out, a single-shape tool is far cheaper and does that one job — budget blow-dry brushes.

What we would do

  • Buy the diffuser if you own a FlexStyle on the list and your hair is wavy, curly or coily. It is documented, it is the right shape for the job, and the two prong modes are a real feature.
  • Do not buy it for a SpeedStyle. HD731 is not on the compatibility list and the SpeedStyle’s diffuser is a differently named part.
  • Confirm fit with Shark if you own an IonCurl. The accessory is merchandised on the HD840 page but HD840 is not on the diffuser’s own compatibility list.
  • Buy a dryer that includes a diffuser rather than an attachment, if you own neither. Only three tools in this registry publish a diffuser as included, and the cheapest of them publishes both a diffuser and a concentrator — the Hot Tools Pro Artist review.
  • Treat the storage case as storage, not a styling upgrade. At $59.99 it is the most expensive thing on the accessory list and it does nothing to your hair. Heat-resistant mats and pouches covers the cheap version of that problem.

What we could not establish

The base FlexStyle’s current in-the-box list. Its HD400SN page returned HTTP 403 to an automated fetch on 2026-11-05, having answered previously, so the attachment row for that product is the reading already on file rather than a fresh one — and given what changed on the SpeedStyle page between September and October, that row should be treated as a date-stamped reading rather than a standing fact.

Also: the diffuser’s material and the nozzle diameter it fits, neither of which Shark publishes, which is unfortunate because the diameter is what would let anyone judge fit on a non-Shark dryer. Any warranty on the attachments specifically. Heat and speed setting counts on every Shark tool here, which Shark has never published. Whether the four attachments named in the IonCurl’s marketing copy are the four in its box, because the page does not say. And how the attachments perform, since we hold no first-party testing of any of it.

The tools on this page

Prices come from the live price layer. Where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.

Shark FlexStyle Curl-Defining Diffuser (XSKHD4DA)

Shark FlexStyle Curl-Defining Diffuser (XSKHD4DA)

The only standalone diffuser on this site whose maker publishes anything checkable — a weight, a compatibility list and two prong modes — and it fits six Shark models rather than any dryer.

$39.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 5, 2026

#ad How we earn

Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system

Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system

Exactly the same published wattage as the Dyson Supersonic, in a tool that also converts to a dryer — the single strongest number in the dupe argument.

$297.97 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 5, 2026

#ad How we earn

Shark FlexStyle IonCurl hair styler

Shark FlexStyle IonCurl hair styler

100 W more than the original FlexStyle at the same published weight, aimed at the hair the first version dried too slowly.

$249.00 · View on Amazon

$349.99 · 29% off · price as of November 5, 2026

#ad How we earn

Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer

Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer

The highest published wattage of the premium dryers here and the most attachments in the box, at a fraction of Dyson's asking price.

$219.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 5, 2026

#ad How we earn

Questions people actually ask

Does the Shark FlexStyle come with a diffuser?

Check the exact listing, because Shark sells the Curl-Defining Diffuser separately at $39.99 and its own FlexStyle IonCurl page has an 'In the Box' heading with no items listed under it. The page says the tool comes with four attachments but does not state which four.

How much do Shark FlexStyle attachments cost separately?

As listed on SharkNinja's own accessory block on 2026-11-05: the Curl-Defining Diffuser, Paddle Brush, Oval Brush, 1.25 inch Auto-Wrap Curlers and Wide-Tooth Comb are each $39.99, and the vegan leather storage case is $59.99. Two styling attachments is most of the gap between a dupe-class styler and a flagship.

Which Shark models does the Curl-Defining Diffuser fit?

Shark publishes a compatibility list of HD400, HD435, HD440, HD430REF, HD435REF and HD432PK. The SpeedStyle Pro is HD731 and is not on that list; its diffuser is a differently named part, the DefrizzFast diffuser.

Will the FlexStyle diffuser fit the FlexStyle IonCurl?

We cannot say from the published pages, and the two pages disagree. The diffuser is sold in the accessory block of the IonCurl's HD840 page, but HD840 does not appear on the diffuser's own published compatibility list. Confirm with Shark for your exact model before ordering.

Is there a universal diffuser attachment worth buying?

We could not source one. The universal-diffuser shelf is almost entirely unbranded house labels with no manufacturer page to cite, and Conair's site returned 404 at its root and hair-care category when we checked. Fit is the only specification that matters on a diffuser and it is the one almost nobody publishes.

Which dryers publish a diffuser

What is the difference between the two prong modes on the Shark diffuser?

Shark publishes guidance for both. Extended prongs are the 'recommended mode for longer, thicker hair that reaches and lifts the root'; retracted prongs are the 'recommended mode for shorter, finer hair for ultimate coverage and less heat on the scalp'. That is unusually specific for an accessory.

Sources

Read next