Skip to content
Strand & Steam

Brands

Shark Hair Tools: The Line-Up, and What We'd Buy

The reason 'dupe' became a search term in this category. The published specs support the reputation more than you would expect.

Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.

Shark publishes wattage, weight, exact cord length in inches, product dimensions, voltage and warranty on every tool — as thoroughly as Dyson. Their stated wattages are higher and their prices lower. The one row they omit is the heat-setting count.

An air styling tool with attachments on a plain surface

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.

What Shark publishes

Every Shark tool in our registry

Every Shark tool in our registry
ToolWattageWeightCordWarranty
SpeedStyle Pro dryer1,750 W1.65 lb96.1 in2-year limited
FlexStyle1,600 W1.5 lb8 ft2-year limited
FlexStyle IonCurl1,700 W1.5 lb8 ft2-year limited

Shark publishes cord length to a tenth of an inch and full product dimensions — more precision than any other brand here. They publish no heat-setting or speed-setting count on any of them.

The disclosure, and the one gap

Shark is one of only two brands on this site that publishes a complete block on every tool, and on some rows they publish more than anyone: cord length to 96.1 inches, product dimensions to a hundredth of an inch.

The gap is consistent and it is the same one every time: no heat-setting count, no speed-setting count, on any product. That is the specification we weight most heavily across this whole site, because it decides how gently you can work. It matters most for fine and damaged hair, and much less for robust hair.

Why the dupe reputation holds up

Put the two most-compared tools side by side on published figures and the cheaper one leads on power and function, ties on warranty and voltage, and trails by fractions on weight and cord.

That is unusual. Normally a cheaper alternative is worse on the spec sheet and you are deciding whether the difference matters. Here the spec sheet favors the alternative, and the argument for the expensive tool lives entirely in airflow — the one figure nobody publishes.

The full comparison is at Airwrap vs FlexStyle, and the dryer version at Supersonic vs SpeedStyle.

What we would buy

The FlexStyle, for most people, because the dryer conversion means it covers both jobs and the wattage is competitive with tools costing far more. The SpeedStyle Pro if your hair is thick, curly or coily and you want the attachment set.

If your hair is fine or damaged, buy from a brand that publishes its heat-setting count. That is not a criticism of the hardware — it is that you cannot check the one thing you most need to check.

Price per use, at 5 uses a week over 5 years

Cost per use at a range of purchase prices
What you payCost per useCost per year
$30$0.02$6.00
$60$0.05$12.00
$100$0.08$20.00
$150$0.12$30.00
$200$0.15$40.00
$300$0.23$60.00
$400$0.31$80.00
$500$0.38$100.00

5 uses a week for 5 years is 1300 uses. Both figures are stated assumptions, not measurements — halve the life and every cost per use doubles. We publish the ladder rather than a worked example for one specific product because a price we typed into a sentence would be wrong within a week.

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.

Ranked picks with what each is best for and where to buy
#ProductBest forPrice
1

Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system

1,600 W, converts to a standalone dryer, and the same two-year warranty as the tool it competes with.

Anyone who needs a dryer and a styler
2

Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer

1,750 W, six named attachments and a published 96.1 in cord — more disclosure than most of the category.

Thick, curly or coily hair
3

Shark FlexStyle IonCurl hair styler

1,700 W at the same published 1.5 lb — the highest air styler rating in our registry.

Dense hair the standard model dries too slowly

Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)

Lower published wattage, no dryer conversion, the same warranty — at several times the price.

We’d skip this

The comparison Shark is asking you to make

1. The one we'd buy

Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system

Best for: Anyone who needs a dryer and a styler

1,600 W, converts to a standalone dryer, and the same two-year warranty as the tool it competes with.

The conversion is the actual product and it gets under-stated. The barrel section detaches and the handle works as a conventional dryer, so one purchase covers the daily tool and the styling tool.

300 W more than the Dyson Airwrap, 0.1 lb heavier, an 8 ft cord against 8.5, and the same two-year limited warranty. Configurable attachments — auto-wrap curlers, oval brush, paddle brush, concentrator, diffuser — chosen at purchase.

What’s wrong with it

Shark publishes no heat- or speed-setting count, which is exactly the row fine or damaged hair needs to check. 120 V only.

Published specifications — Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system

Published specifications for the Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system
Wattage1,600 W (peak 1,600 W)
Heat settingsNot published
Speed settingsNot published
Weight1.5 lb
Cord length8 ft
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsConfigurable — auto-wrap curlers, oval brush, paddle brush, concentrator, diffuser
Plate / barrelCoanda airflow barrels; no clamped heat plate
Dual voltageNo — 120 V
Warranty2-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from SharkNinja — Shark FlexStyle (HD400SN) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$19.07 a year

1,600 W (peak 1,600 W) × 65 hours a year = 104.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

2. Most attachments in the category

Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer

Best for: Thick, curly or coily hair

1,750 W, six named attachments and a published 96.1 in cord — more disclosure than most of the category.

Six named attachments, three of them aimed at textured hair: a DefrizzFast diffuser, a lift-and-stretch wide-tooth comb and a FrizzFighter finishing tool. Attachments change results more than a couple of hundred watts does.

1,750 W is the highest published rating of any premium dryer we list, at 1.65 lb — lighter than the Dyson Supersonic. Shark also publishes cord length to a tenth of an inch and full product dimensions, which almost nobody does.

What’s wrong with it

The missing heat- and speed-setting counts again, and 120 V only. At 1,750 W it is also among the most expensive here to run, at about $20.87 a year.

Published specifications — Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer

Published specifications for the Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer
Wattage1,750 W (peak 1,750 W)
Heat settingsNot published
Speed settingsNot published
Weight1.65 lb
Cord length96.1 in (8.0 ft)
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsTurbo concentrator, QuickSmooth brush, DefrizzFast diffuser, wide-tooth comb, touch-up brush, FrizzFighter finishing tool
Plate / barrelHigh-velocity airflow; no heated styling surface
Dual voltageNo — 120 V
Warranty2-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from SharkNinja — Shark SpeedStyle Pro (HD731) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$20.86 a year

1,750 W (peak 1,750 W) × 65 hours a year = 113.8 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

3. Most power in the category

Shark FlexStyle IonCurl hair styler

Best for: Dense hair the standard model dries too slowly

1,700 W at the same published 1.5 lb — the highest air styler rating in our registry.

An air styler works by drying hair into shape, so on dense hair wattage is what decides session length. 1,700 W is 400 W above the Dyson Airwrap at an identical published weight and cord length to the standard FlexStyle.

Published plastic and metal construction, 120 V, two-year limited warranty.

What’s wrong with it

No published attachment list at all on the product page, so what is in the box cannot be confirmed from the manufacturer.

Published specifications — Shark FlexStyle IonCurl hair styler

Published specifications for the Shark FlexStyle IonCurl hair styler
Wattage1,700 W (peak 1,700 W)
Heat settingsNot published
Speed settingsNot published
Weight1.5 lb
Cord length8 ft
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNot published
Plate / barrelCoanda airflow barrels; plastic and metal body
Dual voltageNo — 120 V
Warranty2-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from SharkNinja — Shark FlexStyle IonCurl (HD840PK1) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$20.27 a year

1,700 W (peak 1,700 W) × 65 hours a year = 110.5 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

The one we'd skip

Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)

Best for: The comparison Shark is asking you to make

Lower published wattage, no dryer conversion, the same warranty — at several times the price.

On a Shark brand page the honest skip is the tool Shark is aimed at, judged on published figures alone.

1,300 W against the FlexStyle’s 1,600 W. The same two-year limited warranty. A 0.1 lb weight advantage and half a foot of extra cord. And no conversion to a dryer, which means a second purchase for the tool you use most days.

The Airwrap is a good tool and on fine hair the low wattage is genuinely the right specification — we recommend it on the fine-hair page. As a value proposition against this line-up, it does not stand up.

What’s wrong with it

Lowest published wattage in the category, no dryer conversion, and the same warranty as tools costing a fraction as much.

Published specifications — Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)

Published specifications for the Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)
Wattage1,300 W
Heat settings3 heat settings
Speed settings3 speed settings
Weight1.4 lb
Cord length8.5 ft
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsCurling barrels, smoothing brushes, round volumizing brush, drying nozzle
Plate / barrelCoanda airflow barrels; no clamped heat plate
Dual voltageNo — 120 V
Warranty2-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from Dyson — Airwrap Complete Long product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$15.50 a year

1,300 W × 65 hours a year = 84.5 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

Questions people actually ask

Are Shark hair tools good?

On published specifications they lead the more expensive alternatives on wattage and attachment count, match on warranty and voltage, and add functions Dyson does not have. The one thing they do not publish is a heat-setting count.

Are Shark hair tools as good as Dyson?

The spec sheets favor Shark on most comparable rows. What no spec sheet settles is airflow, which nobody publishes in comparable units — and that is exactly where Dyson's technical argument lives.

The head-to-head

Which Shark hair tool should I buy?

The FlexStyle for most people, because it converts to a standalone dryer and covers both jobs from one purchase. The SpeedStyle Pro if your hair is thick, curly or coily and you want the six-attachment set.

How long is the Shark warranty?

Two years limited across the range, the same as Dyson and T3 and half what Revlon publishes on its hot air brushes.

Sources

Read next