Brands
Dyson Hair Tools: The Line-Up, and What We'd Buy
The most thoroughly documented brand on this site, publishing the lowest wattages in the category. Both facts are worth understanding.
Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.
Dyson publishes a complete spec block on every tool — wattage, settings, weight, cable, voltage, warranty — which is more than most of the category manages. Those specs also show the lowest wattages here, a two-year warranty, and 120 V only across the range.

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.
What Dyson publishes
Every Dyson tool in our registry
| Tool | Wattage | Settings | Weight | Cable | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Supersonic | 1,600 W | 4 heat + cold shot, 3 speed | 1.8 lb | 8.6 ft | 2-year limited |
| Airwrap Complete Long | 1,300 W | 3 heat, 3 speed | 1.4 lb | 8.5 ft | 2-year limited |
| Corrale | 200 W (battery) | 3 heat | 1.23 lb | 10.9 ft charging | 2-year limited |
Dyson publishes a full block on every product page — wattage, heat and speed settings, weight, cable length, voltage and warranty. Not one publishes a decibel figure.
The disclosure is genuinely good
Building this site meant reading a manufacturer’s own page for every tool in the registry, and Dyson is one of only two brands that publishes a complete block on everything. T3 publishes no wattage at all; Revlon publishes a wattage on some products and very little consistently.
That matters practically. A missing spec is a comparison you cannot make and, on this site, a running cost we cannot compute. Dyson lets us compute all three of theirs.
The three things the published specs work against
- Wattage. The two lowest mains figures in our whole registry are both Dyson. That is the engineering argument stated openly, and it also means anyone buying Dyson expecting more power than a cheap tool is buying against the numbers.
- Warranty. Two years on everything — the shortest in this registry alongside Shark and T3, against ghd’s three and Revlon’s four.
- Voltage. 120 V across the range. The most expensive tools on this site are among the least travel-capable — the full list.
Where the money genuinely goes
Motor and airflow engineering that nobody publishes a comparable figure for, heat regulation that is at least visible in the settings count, being first with a new mechanism, and design. The long version, with the counter-arguments, is at why Dyson costs what it does.
What we would actually buy
The Supersonic, if your hair is fine and you dry it most days. That is the case where the heat control is genuinely the right specification and the frequency makes the arithmetic work.
The Airwrap only if you style several times a week — at occasional use it has the worst price-per-use figures on this site. The Corrale only if the flexing plates solve a problem you actually have, which means thick or coily hair rather than fine.
Price per use, at 5 uses a week over 5 years
| What you pay | Cost per use | Cost per year |
|---|---|---|
| $30 | $0.02 | $6.00 |
| $60 | $0.05 | $12.00 |
| $100 | $0.08 | $20.00 |
| $150 | $0.12 | $30.00 |
| $200 | $0.15 | $40.00 |
| $300 | $0.23 | $60.00 |
| $400 | $0.31 | $80.00 |
| $500 | $0.38 | $100.00 |
5 uses a week for 5 years is 1300 uses. Both figures are stated assumptions, not measurements — halve the life and every cost per use doubles. We publish the ladder rather than a worked example for one specific product because a price we typed into a sentence would be wrong within a week.
Quick picks
Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Dyson Supersonic hair dryer The best-documented heat control in the category: four settings plus a cold shot, on 1,600 W. | Daily drying on fine or fragile hair | |
| 2 | Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long) 1,300 W and no heated plate against the hair — genuinely new, and genuinely expensive. | Curling fine hair without a clamped barrel | |
| 3 | Dyson Corrale straightener Flexing plates that gather the section, and cordless — the most genuinely novel iron here. | Thick or coily hair where sections escape rigid plates | |
| — | Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system The tool that makes the Airwrap hard to justify on published specifications alone. We’d skip this | The case against the Dyson premium |
1. The one we'd buy
Dyson Supersonic hair dryer
Best for: Daily drying on fine or fragile hair
The best-documented heat control in the category: four settings plus a cold shot, on 1,600 W.
Of the three Dyson tools we cover, this is the one whose price is easiest to defend, because it is the one you would use most days — and frequency is what makes the price-per-use arithmetic work.
Four heat settings plus a cold shot and three speeds is the most granular published control of any conventional dryer we list. Two of the three attachments are aimed at curly and textured hair.
What’s wrong with it
Heaviest published weight in our registry at 1.8 lb, 120 V only, and a two-year warranty that a $40 hot air brush doubles.
Published specifications — Dyson Supersonic hair dryer
| Wattage | 1,600 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 4 heat settings, including a cold shot |
| Speed settings | 3 speed settings |
| Weight | 1.8 lb |
| Cord length | 8.6 ft |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | 3 — styling concentrator, diffuser, wide-tooth comb |
| Plate / barrel | Air-multiplier body; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | No — 120 V |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from Dyson — Supersonic hair dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$19.07 a year
1,600 W × 65 hours a year = 104.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
2. The category creator
Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)
Best for: Curling fine hair without a clamped barrel
1,300 W and no heated plate against the hair — genuinely new, and genuinely expensive.
The Airwrap invented its category, and being first with a mechanism nobody else had is the kind of thing a premium is normally for. Shaping hair with airflow instead of a clamped hot surface is a real departure.
1,300 W is the lowest mains rating on this site — the point on fine hair, and the limitation on dense hair.
What’s wrong with it
The highest price on the site, 120 V only, and the alternatives now publish more wattage for considerably less.
Published specifications — Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)
| Wattage | 1,300 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 3 heat settings |
| Speed settings | 3 speed settings |
| Weight | 1.4 lb |
| Cord length | 8.5 ft |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Curling barrels, smoothing brushes, round volumizing brush, drying nozzle |
| Plate / barrel | Coanda airflow barrels; no clamped heat plate |
| Dual voltage | No — 120 V |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from Dyson — Airwrap Complete Long product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$15.50 a year
1,300 W × 65 hours a year = 84.5 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
3. The interesting one
Dyson Corrale straightener
Best for: Thick or coily hair where sections escape rigid plates
Flexing plates that gather the section, and cordless — the most genuinely novel iron here.
The only iron in our registry with flexing plates, and the only cordless one. Both features address a real problem: dense sections escaping rigid plates, and being tethered during a long session.
Published 200 W battery rating, 1.23 lb, a 10.9 ft charging cable, and Dyson’s own guidance to begin at a medium heat of 365°F.
What’s wrong with it
Three heat settings is the fewest of any iron we list, and a battery is a consumable — capacity declines over the life of the tool.
Published specifications — Dyson Corrale straightener
| Wattage | 200 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 3 heat settings; Dyson's stated starting point is 365°F |
| Speed settings | Not applicable |
| Weight | 1.23 lb |
| Cord length | 10.9 ft charging cable |
| Noise (dB) | Not applicable |
| Attachments | Charging dock and travel pouch |
| Plate / barrel | Flexing manganese-copper alloy plates |
| Dual voltage | Battery — 10.8 V–16.8 V cell |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from Dyson — Corrale straightener product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$2.38 a year
200 W × 65 hours a year = 13.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
The one we'd skip
Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system
Best for: The case against the Dyson premium
The tool that makes the Airwrap hard to justify on published specifications alone.
The honest skip on a Dyson brand page is the Dyson premium, and the clearest way to show it is the alternative.
Shark publishes 1,600 W against the Airwrap’s 1,300 W, the same two-year limited warranty, a weight within 0.1 lb, and a barrel section that detaches so the handle works as a dryer. On published information the cheaper tool leads on power and function.
What no spec sheet settles is airflow, which nobody publishes comparably — and that is precisely where Dyson’s argument lives. Full comparison at Airwrap vs FlexStyle.
What’s wrong with it
Shark publishes no heat- or speed-setting count, which is the one row where Dyson is straightforwardly more transparent.
Published specifications — Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system
| Wattage | 1,600 W (peak 1,600 W) |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | Not published |
| Speed settings | Not published |
| Weight | 1.5 lb |
| Cord length | 8 ft |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Configurable — auto-wrap curlers, oval brush, paddle brush, concentrator, diffuser |
| Plate / barrel | Coanda airflow barrels; no clamped heat plate |
| Dual voltage | No — 120 V |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from SharkNinja — Shark FlexStyle (HD400SN) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$19.07 a year
1,600 W (peak 1,600 W) × 65 hours a year = 104.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
Questions people actually ask
Are Dyson hair tools worth it?
At high usage on hair that needs careful heat control, the price-per-use arithmetic makes them defensible. At occasional usage they are the worst value on this site. The published specifications alone do not justify the price.
Which Dyson hair tool should I buy?
The Supersonic if you dry your hair most days and it is fine or fragile — that is where the heat control matters and the frequency makes the price work. The Airwrap only if you style several times a week.
Are Dyson hair dryers dual voltage?
No. Dyson publishes 120 V for the Supersonic and the Airwrap in the US, so neither will work on European mains with a plug adapter alone.
How long is the Dyson warranty on hair tools?
Two years limited on the Supersonic, the Airwrap and the Corrale. That is the shortest in our registry alongside Shark and T3, and half what Revlon publishes on its hot air brushes.