Skip to content
Strand & Steam

Hair Dryers

The Best Diffusers for Curly Hair in 2026

Buying a diffuser mostly means buying the dryer it clips onto. Three tools here publish one; the rest leave the row blank.

Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.

Buy the dryer that publishes a diffuser in the box rather than a universal one that has to grip a nozzle it was not designed for. In our registry that is the Shark SpeedStyle Pro, the Dyson Supersonic and the Shark FlexStyle. Everything else publishes no attachment list at all.

A diffuser attachment cupping curly hair

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.

Ranked picks with what each is best for and where to buy
#ProductBest forPrice
1

Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer

Shark names a DefrizzFast diffuser in a published list of six attachments, alongside 1,750 W.

Curls that need drying and finishing from one tool
2

Dyson Supersonic hair dryer

A diffuser and a wide-tooth comb published among three attachments, with three stated speed settings.

Curls that frizz on anything above the lowest speed
3

Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system

A diffuser among the published configurable attachments, and the handle converts to a standalone dryer.

Diffusing most days and shaping occasionally

ghd flight+ travel hair dryer

ghd publishes a nozzle and a folding handle. There is no diffuser, and the list is explicit.

We’d skip this

Not curls

1. Best published diffuser set

Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer

Best for: Curls that need drying and finishing from one tool

Shark names a DefrizzFast diffuser in a published list of six attachments, alongside 1,750 W.

This is the most complete published attachment list in our registry, and the diffuser is named rather than implied — which on this page is the entire point. You can confirm what is in the box before you pay.

The wide-tooth comb in the same list matters for curly and coily hair too: it dries under mechanical tension supplied by the teeth, which is how you stretch a pattern rather than preserve it. Having both in one box means both outcomes are available.

1,750 W, 1.65 lb, an 8 ft cord, 120 V, two-year limited warranty.

What’s wrong with it

Shark publishes no speed-setting count, and low airflow is exactly what a drying curl pattern needs — the one specification a curly-haired buyer most wants to check is missing.

Published specifications — Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer

Published specifications for the Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer
Wattage1,750 W (peak 1,750 W)
Heat settingsNot published
Speed settingsNot published
Weight1.65 lb
Cord length96.1 in (8.0 ft)
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsTurbo concentrator, QuickSmooth brush, DefrizzFast diffuser, wide-tooth comb, touch-up brush, FrizzFighter finishing tool
Plate / barrelHigh-velocity airflow; no heated styling surface
Dual voltageNo — 120 V
Warranty2-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from SharkNinja — Shark SpeedStyle Pro (HD731) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$20.86 a year

1,750 W (peak 1,750 W) × 65 hours a year = 113.8 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

2. Most published airflow control

Dyson Supersonic hair dryer

Best for: Curls that frizz on anything above the lowest speed

A diffuser and a wide-tooth comb published among three attachments, with three stated speed settings.

Three published speed settings is what separates this from the Shark on curly hair. Air speed disturbs a setting curl more than heat does, so being able to genuinely turn the airflow down is the specification that decides whether a pattern survives drying.

Two of the three published attachments are textured-hair attachments — the diffuser and a wide-tooth comb Dyson describes as engineered for curly and coily hair.

1,600 W, four heat settings including a cold shot, 1.8 lb, 8.6 ft cable, 120 V, two-year limited warranty.

What’s wrong with it

The heaviest dryer in our registry at a published 1.8 lb, on a technique that involves holding the tool cupped against your head for a long time.

Published specifications — Dyson Supersonic hair dryer

Published specifications for the Dyson Supersonic hair dryer
Wattage1,600 W
Heat settings4 heat settings, including a cold shot
Speed settings3 speed settings
Weight1.8 lb
Cord length8.6 ft
Noise (dB)Not published
Attachments3 — styling concentrator, diffuser, wide-tooth comb
Plate / barrelAir-multiplier body; no heated styling surface
Dual voltageNo — 120 V
Warranty2-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from Dyson — Supersonic hair dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$19.07 a year

1,600 W × 65 hours a year = 104.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

3. Diffuser plus a dryer in one handle

Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system

Best for: Diffusing most days and shaping occasionally

A diffuser among the published configurable attachments, and the handle converts to a standalone dryer.

Shark publishes a configurable set — auto-wrap curlers, an oval brush, a paddle brush, a concentrator and a diffuser — chosen at purchase. Being able to specify the configuration is a real advantage over a fixed bundle when the diffuser is the reason you are buying.

The dryer conversion earns its place on curly hair specifically. Diffusing is the daily job and curling is occasional, so a handle that works as a plain dryer covers the frequent task rather than making you buy twice.

1,600 W — the same figure Dyson publishes for the Supersonic — 1.5 lb, 8 ft cord, 120 V, two-year limited warranty.

What’s wrong with it

No published heat- or speed-setting count, so the low airflow that protects a curl pattern is something you are buying on faith.

Published specifications — Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system

Published specifications for the Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system
Wattage1,600 W (peak 1,600 W)
Heat settingsNot published
Speed settingsNot published
Weight1.5 lb
Cord length8 ft
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsConfigurable — auto-wrap curlers, oval brush, paddle brush, concentrator, diffuser
Plate / barrelCoanda airflow barrels; no clamped heat plate
Dual voltageNo — 120 V
Warranty2-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from SharkNinja — Shark FlexStyle (HD400SN) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$19.07 a year

1,600 W (peak 1,600 W) × 65 hours a year = 104.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

The one we'd skip

ghd flight+ travel hair dryer

Best for: Not curls

ghd publishes a nozzle and a folding handle. There is no diffuser, and the list is explicit.

We rate this dryer highly and it wins the travel page — it is the only conventional dryer in our registry with a published dual voltage rating, at 0.99 lb including cord and nozzle.

On this page it is disqualified by its own spec sheet. ghd publishes the attachment list and a diffuser is not on it. That is unusually honest disclosure and it is still a no.

This is worth naming because it creates a real gap in the category: the one dryer you can take abroad is the one that cannot diffuse. If you have curls and you travel, you are choosing between two things that should not be in tension.

What’s wrong with it

Nozzle only, no published wattage, and a stated airflow temperature of 149°F — cooler air means a longer session on dense curls.

Published specifications — ghd flight+ travel hair dryer

Published specifications for the ghd flight+ travel hair dryer
WattageNot published
Heat settingsVariable temperature control
Speed settingsVariable speed control
Weight0.99 lb, including cord and nozzle
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNozzle; folding handle for packing
Plate / barrelAirflow temperature stated as 149°F
Dual voltageYes — dual voltage
Warranty2-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from ghd — flight+ travel hair dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

A diffuser is an attachment, which changes the question

Almost every other page on this site ranks products. This one cannot quite, because a diffuser is not usually sold as a product — it is a part that comes with a dryer, designed around that dryer’s nozzle diameter and airflow.

So the real question is which dryers publish one in the box. And the answer is narrower than the category’s marketing suggests.

Published attachment lists across our dryers and stylers

Published attachment lists across our dryers and stylers
ToolDiffuser published?
Shark SpeedStyle ProYes — DefrizzFast diffuser, in a list of six
Dyson SupersonicYes — one of three published attachments
Shark FlexStyleYes — in the configurable set, chosen at purchase
Dyson AirwrapNo — a drying nozzle is published in the Complete Long set
ghd flight+No — nozzle and folding handle only
ghd HeliosNot published
T3 Featherweight StyleMaxNot published
T3 AireLuxeNot published
T3 Aire 360No — two curling attachments and an oval brush
Revlon SmoothStayNot published

Three yeses out of ten. If a diffuser is the reason you are buying, six of those ten tools cannot confirm they include one — and on a specification this central to the purchase, a blank row is not a yes.

What a diffuser actually does

It takes the dryer’s airflow and pushes it out through a ring of holes across a wide bowl, so the air speed at any one point drops sharply. The prongs hold hair up off the bowl so warm air circulates through it rather than blasting at it.

Nothing about a diffuser dries hair faster. It is slower, deliberately, because what you are protecting is the shape the hair dries into. Air arriving fast across a drying curl separates the clump that was forming, and a separated clump is what frizz is.

The full contrast with the attachment that does the opposite is on diffuser versus concentrator.

Why we would not buy a universal diffuser

They exist, they are inexpensive, and they are a compromise for one mechanical reason: a universal diffuser has to grip a nozzle it was not designed for, and a loose join leaks air out of the seam rather than through the bowl.

That is the whole objection, and it is worth being measured about it — we have not tested any, and a well-fitting universal diffuser on a dryer you already own is obviously better than no diffuser at all. But if you are choosing a dryer now and diffusing is the job, buying one that publishes a fitted diffuser is the cleaner decision.

The category also gives you almost nothing to compare universal diffusers on. They are sold overwhelmingly by brands that publish no bowl diameter, no material and no compatible nozzle range — which is the same disclosure problem we ran into on storage bags, and we handle it the same way: criteria, not a fabricated ranking.

Technique matters more than the attachment

  • Lowest speed, medium heat. Backwards from what most people reach for, and correct. Airflow wrecks a curl pattern; warmth mostly does not.
  • Cup and hold, do not sweep. Gather a section into the bowl, hold it against the head, wait, lower, move on.
  • Stop touching it. Every pass of a hand through drying curly hair breaks the clump that was forming.
  • Dry to 90 percent, not 100. The last of the drying is the most damaging part and costs you the most definition.

The full method for curls is on the curly blow-dry guide, and the alternative on the days you would rather not is on the heat-free page.

Price per use, at 5 uses a week over 5 years

Cost per use at a range of purchase prices
What you payCost per useCost per year
$30$0.02$6.00
$60$0.05$12.00
$100$0.08$20.00
$150$0.12$30.00
$200$0.15$40.00
$300$0.23$60.00
$400$0.31$80.00
$500$0.38$100.00

5 uses a week for 5 years is 1300 uses. Both figures are stated assumptions, not measurements — halve the life and every cost per use doubles. We publish the ladder rather than a worked example for one specific product because a price we typed into a sentence would be wrong within a week.

What we would buy

The Shark SpeedStyle Pro if you want the widest published set and the most power. The Dyson Supersonic if you want published speed control, which on curls is the specification that matters most. The Shark FlexStyle if you want the diffuser and a dryer in one handle.

If your hair is tightly coily rather than curly, the wide-tooth comb is often the more useful attachment in the same boxes — that reasoning is on the coily and 4C page.

Questions people actually ask

Which hair dryers come with a diffuser?

In our registry: the Shark SpeedStyle Pro publishes a DefrizzFast diffuser among six attachments, the Dyson Supersonic publishes one among three, and the Shark FlexStyle offers one in its configurable set. Six other tools publish no attachment list at all.

Are universal diffusers any good?

They have to grip a nozzle they were not designed for, and a loose join leaks air out of the seam rather than through the bowl. On a dryer you already own it beats no diffuser; if you are choosing a dryer now, buy one that publishes a fitted one.

What speed should I diffuse on?

The lowest one that still dries. Air speed disturbs a setting curl far more than heat does, which is why published speed-setting counts matter more than wattage on this page.

Diffuser vs concentrator

Sources

Read next