Skip to content
Strand & Steam

Hair Dryers

The Best Travel Hair Dryers in 2026

There is exactly one dual-voltage dryer in our whole registry. That fact decides this entire page.

Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.

A travel dryer has to publish a voltage range spanning roughly 110 to 240 volts, or European mains will destroy it. Of the seven dryers in our registry, exactly one — the ghd flight+ — publishes dual voltage. Every other dryer we list is 120 V or 125 V only.

A compact hair dryer packed into a suitcase

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.

Ranked picks with what each is best for and where to buy
#ProductBest forPrice
1

ghd flight+ travel hair dryer

Dual voltage, a published 0.99 lb with the cord on, and a folding handle.

Anyone flying anywhere
2

T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler

1,200–1,400 W, dual voltage, with curling attachments and an oval brush in the same handle.

One tool for a whole trip
3

T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron

100–240 V auto world voltage at a published 11.1 oz — the lightest iron in our registry.

Using the hotel dryer and bringing your own iron

Dyson Supersonic hair dryer

120 V only and 1.8 lb — the most expensive thing you could break in a hotel room.

We’d skip this

Not travel, at any price

1. The only dual-voltage dryer here

ghd flight+ travel hair dryer

Best for: Anyone flying anywhere

Dual voltage, a published 0.99 lb with the cord on, and a folding handle.

This is the only dryer in our registry that publishes dual voltage, which on this page is close to the entire argument. Everything else we list needs a voltage converter rated above 1,600 W, and that is not a thing anyone sensibly carries.

0.99 lb including the cord and nozzle is the lightest published weight of any dryer here by a wide margin — the next lightest is 16.6 oz without its cord. The handle folds.

ghd publishes an airflow temperature of 149°F and variable speed and temperature controls, with a two-year warranty.

What’s wrong with it

ghd publishes no wattage and no cord length, so no running cost can be computed and you cannot compare its power against a full-size dryer. Compact dryers are slower — that is the trade.

Published specifications — ghd flight+ travel hair dryer

Published specifications for the ghd flight+ travel hair dryer
WattageNot published
Heat settingsVariable temperature control
Speed settingsVariable speed control
Weight0.99 lb, including cord and nozzle
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNozzle; folding handle for packing
Plate / barrelAirflow temperature stated as 149°F
Dual voltageYes — dual voltage
Warranty2-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from ghd — flight+ travel hair dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

2. Dries and styles, dual voltage

T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler

Best for: One tool for a whole trip

1,200–1,400 W, dual voltage, with curling attachments and an oval brush in the same handle.

An air styler is an underrated travel answer: it dries and shapes from one handle, so you are not packing a dryer and an iron and a barrel. This is the only dual-voltage air styler in our registry.

It is also the only T3 product that publishes a wattage — 1,200–1,400 W, which is above the Dyson Airwrap’s 1,300 W ceiling at the top of its range. Three heat and three speed settings, a 9 ft swivel cord, ceramic surfaces, two-year warranty.

Two extra-long curling attachments and an oval AireBrush attachment are published as included.

What’s wrong with it

No published weight, and an air styler is slower at plain drying than a dedicated dryer — you are trading speed for packing one tool instead of three.

Published specifications — T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler

Published specifications for the T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler
Wattage1,200–1,400 W
Heat settings3 heat settings
Speed settings3 speed settings
WeightNot published
Cord length9 ft, 360-degree swivel cord
Noise (dB)Not published
Attachments2 extra-long curling attachments (left and right), oval AireBrush attachment
Plate / barrelKorean CeraGloss ceramic
Dual voltageYes — dual voltage
Warranty2-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from T3 Micro — Aire 360 Dual Voltage product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$16.69 a year

1,200–1,400 W × 65 hours a year = 91.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

3. The iron to pack instead

T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron

Best for: Using the hotel dryer and bringing your own iron

100–240 V auto world voltage at a published 11.1 oz — the lightest iron in our registry.

The unglamorous advice on this page is: take your iron, leave your dryer, use the one in the hotel. Irons draw far less power and cross voltages far more often, so this is the category where travelling is actually solved.

T3 publishes 100–240 V auto world voltage — stated as a range rather than a marketing phrase — and 11.1 oz without the cord. Nine heat settings and CeraGloss ceramic plates.

A hotel dryer will be worse than yours. It will also not be destroyed by the wall socket.

What’s wrong with it

It is not a dryer, so this only works if you can live with hotel hardware for the drying half. No published wattage or cord length.

Published specifications — T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron

Published specifications for the T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron
WattageNot published
Heat settings9 heat settings
Speed settingsNot applicable
Weight11.1 oz (cord not included)
Cord length360-degree swivel cord — length not published
Noise (dB)Not applicable
AttachmentsNone supplied
Plate / barrelCeraGloss ceramic plates, 1 in
Dual voltageYes — auto world voltage, 100–240 V
Warranty2-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from T3 Micro — SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

T3 does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

The one we'd skip

Dyson Supersonic hair dryer

Best for: Not travel, at any price

120 V only and 1.8 lb — the most expensive thing you could break in a hotel room.

Every summer people pack this and plug it into a European socket through a plug adapter, and every summer it is destroyed. A plug adapter changes the shape of the pins and nothing else.

Dyson publishes 120 V for the US Supersonic. A converter capable of handling its 1,600 W exists, weighs more than the dryer, and costs enough to make the whole exercise absurd.

At a published 1.8 lb it is also the heaviest dryer in our registry — the worst weight-to-usefulness ratio in a suitcase of anything we cover. The same applies to the Airwrap, the FlexStyle, the SpeedStyle Pro and both T3 dryers, all published at 120 V or 125 V.

What’s wrong with it

Single voltage at 120 V, the heaviest published weight here, and the highest replacement cost if the wall socket wins.

Published specifications — Dyson Supersonic hair dryer

Published specifications for the Dyson Supersonic hair dryer
Wattage1,600 W
Heat settings4 heat settings, including a cold shot
Speed settings3 speed settings
Weight1.8 lb
Cord length8.6 ft
Noise (dB)Not published
Attachments3 — styling concentrator, diffuser, wide-tooth comb
Plate / barrelAir-multiplier body; no heated styling surface
Dual voltageNo — 120 V
Warranty2-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from Dyson — Supersonic hair dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$19.07 a year

1,600 W × 65 hours a year = 104.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

The voltage table, in full

Published voltage for every dryer and styler in our registry

Published voltage for every dryer and styler in our registry
ToolPublished voltageTravels on an adapter alone?
ghd flight+ travel dryerDual voltageYes
T3 Aire 360 air stylerDual voltageYes
Dyson Supersonic120 VNo
Dyson Airwrap Complete Long120 VNo
Shark SpeedStyle Pro120 VNo
Shark FlexStyle120 VNo
T3 Featherweight StyleMax125 VNo
T3 AireLuxe125 VNo
ghd HeliosNot universal voltage, per ghdNo
Revlon SmoothStayNot publishedCheck the rating plate

Every figure from the manufacturer's own product page. Two of ten travel. Price is no guide at all — the most expensive tools here are among the least portable.

Adapter is not converter

These two words get used interchangeably in luggage aisles and describe completely different objects.

  • A plug adapter is a passive piece of plastic that lets an American plug fit a European socket. It changes nothing electrically.
  • A voltage converter actively steps roughly 230 V down to something a 120 V appliance survives, and must be rated above the appliance’s wattage. For a 1,875 W dryer that is a heavy, expensive unit.

The failure almost everyone has is the first standing in for the second. Full explanation at how to read a hair tool voltage rating.

What a compact dryer actually costs you

Speed. A travel dryer is smaller, which means a smaller motor and heating element, which means longer drying. ghd publishes an airflow temperature of 149°F for the flight+ and no wattage at all, so there is no way to compare it on power with a full-size dryer — and we are not going to guess at a figure the maker does not state.

For a week away that trade is obviously worth it. For a month it may not be, and buying a cheap dryer on arrival is frequently the better answer than carrying either a compact dryer or a converter.

Before you pack anything

Read the rating plate on the tool itself — handle near the cord entry, or the plug. A single figure like 120 V~ 60 Hz means single voltage. A range spanning 110 to 240 means you are fine with an adapter. Do not rely on the retailer listing and do not assume an expensive tool is a capable one.

The wider packing guidance, including plug shapes by country, is at hair tools for Europe, and the complete dual-voltage list across every category is at the dual voltage page.

Price per use, at 5 uses a week over 5 years

Cost per use at a range of purchase prices
What you payCost per useCost per year
$30$0.02$6.00
$60$0.05$12.00
$100$0.08$20.00
$150$0.12$30.00
$200$0.15$40.00
$300$0.23$60.00
$400$0.31$80.00
$500$0.38$100.00

5 uses a week for 5 years is 1300 uses. Both figures are stated assumptions, not measurements — halve the life and every cost per use doubles. We publish the ladder rather than a worked example for one specific product because a price we typed into a sentence would be wrong within a week.

Questions people actually ask

What is the best travel hair dryer?

In our registry, the only dryer that publishes dual voltage is the ghd flight+, at 0.99 lb including the cord with a folding handle. Every other dryer we list publishes 120 V or 125 V and will be damaged by European mains.

Can I take my Dyson hair dryer abroad?

Not to a 230 V country. Dyson publishes 120 V for the US Supersonic and Airwrap, so a plug adapter alone will destroy them. A converter rated for 1,600 W is heavier than the dryer and not a practical travel item.

Are travel hair dryers any good?

They are slower, because a smaller body means a smaller motor and element. For a week that trade is usually worth it. Note that ghd publishes no wattage for the flight+, so its power cannot be compared with a full-size dryer.

Should I just use the hotel hair dryer?

For most trips, yes — and pack a dual-voltage iron instead. Irons draw far less power and cross voltages far more often, which is why the travel problem is genuinely solved in that category and not in dryers.

The dual voltage list

Sources

Read next