Skip to content
Strand & Steam

Brands

ghd Hair Tools: The Line-Up, and What We'd Buy

One temperature, on almost everything. It is the most opinionated position any brand in this category takes, and it is mostly right.

Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.

ghd fixes almost every tool it makes at 365°F with no dial. That removes the single habit that damages most hair — turning the heat up when a pass fails — and it costs you headroom on resistant hair. It is a real position rather than a marketing one.

A flat iron closing on a section of straight hair

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.

The whole brand in one number

365°F. ghd fixes the Platinum+, the Chronos, the Chronos Curve Classic, the Curve Thin wand and the Wave waver at that single temperature, with no dial on any of them.

That is an unusual commercial decision. Every competitor sells settings counts as a feature — T3 publishes nine, Dyson publishes three or four — and ghd sells the removal of the choice.

Every ghd tool in our registry

Every ghd tool in our registry
ToolTemperatureWarrantyNotable
Platinum+ flat iron365°F fixed3-yearUniversal voltage, 9 ft cable
Chronos flat iron365°F fixed3-yearWide-plate version available
Chronos Curve Classic365°F fixed2-year1 in barrel, 20-min sleep mode
Curve Thin wand365°F fixed2-year0.5 in barrel, universal voltage
Wave triple barrel waver365°F fixed2-yearThree barrels, dual sensors
Helios dryerVariable + cool shot2-year consumer1,875 W, not universal voltage
flight+ travel dryerVariable2-yearDual voltage, 0.99 lb

Five of the seven are fixed at the same temperature. The two dryers are the exceptions, and dryers do not clamp a surface onto hair.

Why the fixed temperature is defensible

Because it targets the actual failure mode. The way most people damage their hair is not a single catastrophic session — it is turning the dial up because a pass did not take, and never turning it back.

365°F is also a well-chosen number rather than an arbitrary one. Published DSC work puts the melting point of the ordered keratin in dry hair at about 401°F, and a flat-iron study reported denaturation at 459°F alongside observed cuticle damage. A fixed setting thirty-six degrees below the first of those figures, with no way to approach the second, is a genuinely protective design.

Notably, Dyson independently names 365°F as the starting point for the Corrale. Two companies with no reason to under-sell their own products landed on the same number.

Where it costs you

  • Resistant hair. When a dense coily section will not release at 365°F, your only remaining option is another pass — and passes are what damage hair. That is why we name the Platinum+ as the skip on the 4C page and the thick-hair page.
  • Very damaged hair. You cannot go below 365°F either, and hair that fragile might want to.
  • Disclosure. ghd publishes no wattage or weight on any tool in our registry, and no attachment list on the Helios. On those rows Dyson and Shark are considerably more forthcoming.

The warranty pattern

Three years on the two flagship irons, two years on everything else. The three-year figure is the longest of any premium tool on this site, beaten only by Revlon’s four years on drugstore hot air brushes.

It is worth noting that ghd puts its longest coverage on the products where its design argument is strongest, which is at least internally consistent. The full comparison is at what a hair tool warranty is worth.

What we would actually buy

The Platinum+ if your hair is fine, fragile or has been over-ironed, and the Chronos wide plate if it is long and dense. Both for the same reason: the temperature decision is made for you, correctly.

The flight+ if you travel, because nothing else in this category does. Not the Helios, unless raw drying power on dense hair is specifically what you are after — in which case a Shark publishes more about itself for less money.

Brand comparisons: Dyson, Shark, T3 and Revlon.

Price per use, at 5 uses a week over 5 years

Cost per use at a range of purchase prices
What you payCost per useCost per year
$30$0.02$6.00
$60$0.05$12.00
$100$0.08$20.00
$150$0.12$30.00
$200$0.15$40.00
$300$0.23$60.00
$400$0.31$80.00
$500$0.38$100.00

5 uses a week for 5 years is 1300 uses. Both figures are stated assumptions, not measurements — halve the life and every cost per use doubles. We publish the ladder rather than a worked example for one specific product because a price we typed into a sentence would be wrong within a week.

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.

Ranked picks with what each is best for and where to buy
#ProductBest forPrice
1

ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)

One fixed 365°F, 1 inch floating plates, universal voltage and a three-year warranty.

Anyone who has ever turned the dial up
2

ghd Chronos flat iron (1 inch plate)

The same fixed 365°F and three-year warranty, with a wide-plate version alongside the 1 inch.

Long or dense hair that needs coverage
3

ghd flight+ travel hair dryer

The only dual-voltage dryer in our whole registry, at a published 0.99 lb with the cord on.

Anyone flying anywhere

ghd Helios 1875W advanced professional hair dryer

1,875 W — identical to a drugstore Revlon — with no published attachment list and no universal voltage.

We’d skip this

Not the ghd argument

1. The one we'd buy

ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)

Best for: Anyone who has ever turned the dial up

One fixed 365°F, 1 inch floating plates, universal voltage and a three-year warranty.

This is the clearest expression of the ghd argument and the tool where it makes most sense. Most heat damage is a habit rather than an accident — reaching for a higher setting when the first pass does not take, and never coming back down — and an iron with no dial makes that impossible.

365°F sits roughly thirty-six degrees below the published melting point of the ordered keratin in dry hair, with no way to cross it. ghd publishes infinity sensors monitoring heat 250 times a second across the plates, a 20-second heat-up and a 30-minute sleep mode.

Universal voltage and a 9 ft cable. Three-year warranty, the longest of any iron in our registry.

What’s wrong with it

You cannot go below 365°F either, which very damaged hair might want. ghd publishes no wattage and no weight for it.

Published specifications — ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)

Published specifications for the ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)
WattageNot published
Heat settingsOne fixed temperature — 365°F
Speed settingsNot applicable
WeightNot published
Cord length9 ft power cable
Noise (dB)Not applicable
AttachmentsNone supplied
Plate / barrelPrecision-milled floating high-gloss plates, 1 in
Dual voltageYes — universal voltage
Warranty3-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from ghd — Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

2. The one with a plate choice

ghd Chronos flat iron (1 inch plate)

Best for: Long or dense hair that needs coverage

The same fixed 365°F and three-year warranty, with a wide-plate version alongside the 1 inch.

The Chronos is the Platinum+ argument with the one thing that argument was missing: a choice of plate width. ghd publishes a wide-plate version, which on long dense hair is the difference between one pass and two.

Floating ceramic plates with an ultra-gloss coating and a re-engineered wishbone hinge to hold them aligned — alignment being what stops a wider plate gripping unevenly across a thick section.

Three-year warranty. Same fixed 365°F.

What’s wrong with it

Still no temperature adjustment, and ghd publishes no wattage, weight, cord length or voltage for it — fewer stated specs than the older Platinum+.

Published specifications — ghd Chronos flat iron (1 inch plate)

Published specifications for the ghd Chronos flat iron (1 inch plate)
WattageNot published
Heat settingsOne fixed temperature — 365°F
Speed settingsNot applicable
WeightNot published
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not applicable
AttachmentsNone supplied
Plate / barrelFloating ceramic plates with ultra-gloss coating, 1 in; wide-plate version also sold
Dual voltageNot published
Warranty3-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from ghd — Chronos flat iron (1 inch plate) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

3. The only travel answer here

ghd flight+ travel hair dryer

Best for: Anyone flying anywhere

The only dual-voltage dryer in our whole registry, at a published 0.99 lb with the cord on.

Across every dryer and air styler we list — Dyson, Shark, T3 and ghd’s own Helios — exactly one publishes dual voltage, and this is it. That makes it less a recommendation than the only option.

0.99 lb including cord and nozzle is the lightest published weight of any dryer here by a wide margin, and the handle folds. ghd publishes an airflow temperature of 149°F and variable speed and temperature controls.

Two-year warranty.

What’s wrong with it

No published wattage or cord length, so no running cost can be computed and its power cannot be compared with a full-size dryer. Compact dryers are slower.

Published specifications — ghd flight+ travel hair dryer

Published specifications for the ghd flight+ travel hair dryer
WattageNot published
Heat settingsVariable temperature control
Speed settingsVariable speed control
Weight0.99 lb, including cord and nozzle
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNozzle; folding handle for packing
Plate / barrelAirflow temperature stated as 149°F
Dual voltageYes — dual voltage
Warranty2-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from ghd — flight+ travel hair dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

The one we'd skip

ghd Helios 1875W advanced professional hair dryer

Best for: Not the ghd argument

1,875 W — identical to a drugstore Revlon — with no published attachment list and no universal voltage.

This is the ghd product that does not follow the ghd logic, and it is the one we would not buy.

ghd publishes 1,875 W, which is exactly the same figure Revlon publishes for the SmoothStay, a dryer costing a small fraction as much. Where the irons sell restraint, this sells the same number the drugstore shelf sells.

It also publishes no attachment list, so a concentrator or diffuser cannot be confirmed, no weight, and ghd explicitly states it is not universal voltage. Two-year consumer warranty rather than the three the irons carry.

It is not a bad dryer, and on dense coily hair the raw power earns it a place. As the ghd dryer to buy on the strength of the brand’s own philosophy, it does not stand up.

What’s wrong with it

Matches a drugstore dryer on its headline number, publishes no attachments or weight, and carries a shorter warranty than ghd's own irons.

Published specifications — ghd Helios 1875W advanced professional hair dryer

Published specifications for the ghd Helios 1875W advanced professional hair dryer
Wattage1,875 W
Heat settingsVariable temperature control, including a cool shot
Speed settingsVariable power control
WeightNot published
Cord length9 ft power cable
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNot published
Plate / barrelAeroprecis airflow; no heated styling surface
Dual voltageNo — ghd states it is not universal voltage
Warranty2-year consumer warranty (1-year professional)

Every figure above is taken from ghd — Helios 1875W professional hair dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$22.35 a year

1,875 W × 65 hours a year = 121.9 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

Questions people actually ask

Why do ghd straighteners only have one temperature?

Because the habit that damages most hair is turning the dial up when a pass does not take. ghd fixes almost everything it makes at 365 degrees Fahrenheit and removes the option, which is a real design position rather than a cost saving.

Is 365 degrees hot enough to straighten hair?

For most hair, yes — Dyson independently names the same figure as the Corrale's starting point. On very resistant coily or coarse hair it can leave you needing a second pass, which is the main cost of the fixed-temperature approach.

Are ghd tools dual voltage?

Some. ghd publishes universal voltage on the Platinum+ and the Curve Thin wand, and dual voltage on the flight+ travel dryer. It explicitly states the Helios dryer is not universal voltage.

The full voltage list

How long is the ghd warranty?

Three years on the Platinum+ and Chronos flat irons, and two years on the curling tools and dryers. The three-year figure is the longest of any premium tool in our registry.

Sources

Read next