Skip to content
Strand & Steam

Brands

Revlon Hair Tools: The Line-Up, and What We'd Buy

The most powerful dryer and the longest warranty we can document are both Revlon. So is the least complete spec sheet.

Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.

Revlon publishes the highest wattage on this site (1,875 W) and the longest warranty (four years), both on tools costing a fraction of the premium brands. What it does not publish is weight, cord length, voltage or, on most products, a heat-setting count.

Drugstore beauty aisle shelving stocked with styling tools

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.

The two numbers Revlon wins on

Where Revlon leads the whole registry

Where Revlon leads the whole registry
SpecificationRevlonBest premium figureWinner
Published wattage1,875 W (SmoothStay)1,875 W (ghd Helios)Tie
Warranty4 years3 years (ghd irons)Revlon
Heat settings on a hot air brush4, including cool3 (T3 AireBrush)Revlon
Published weightNot published11.1 oz (T3 iron)Premium
Published cord lengthNot published96.1 in (Shark)Premium
Published voltageNot publishedPublished by allPremium

Revlon leads or ties on three rows and publishes nothing at all on three others. That is the trade in one table.

What the thin spec sheets actually cost you

Not performance — verifiability. You cannot check what you are holding, you cannot compute a running cost, and you cannot confirm whether the tool will survive a trip abroad.

For robust hair being dried and occasionally styled, none of that matters much. For fine, colored or damaged hair, the missing heat-setting count on most Revlon products is the exact row you need, and its absence is why the fine-hair page names the SmoothStay as its skip despite it having the most power on the site.

The warranty question

Four years on the One-Step brushes is the longest written durability commitment anywhere in our registry, and it deserves a straight answer about what it means.

A warranty is a commercial decision priced against expected failure rates and the cost of honoring claims — and replacing a drugstore brush costs Revlon very little, where replacing a flagship costs Dyson a great deal. So the four years may reflect confidence, or it may reflect cheap replacement, and we do not know which.

What is not in doubt is that it is the only durability figure any of these companies publishes, and Revlon’s is the longest. Full treatment at what a hair tool warranty is actually worth.

The ionic vocabulary

Revlon publishes ceramic, tourmaline and ionic claims across its range in the same words the premium brands use. That is worth noticing for what it says about the claims rather than about Revlon.

A feature that appears identically on the cheapest and most expensive tool in a category has stopped being a way to tell them apart. Our full treatment is at are ionic hair dryers worth it.

What we would actually buy

The One-Step Volumizer Plus, without hesitation, and not only as a budget pick — it is the best-value tool on this site outright, and it is the one Revlon product where the published specification is genuinely competitive rather than merely cheap.

The SmoothStay dryer if your hair is robust and you want it dry fast. Not the Salon One-Step, while its own newer sibling exists at nearly the same price with more published and more function.

Brand comparisons: Dyson, Shark, T3 and ghd. The value argument in full is at the best hair tools under $100.

Price per use, at 5 uses a week over 5 years

Cost per use at a range of purchase prices
What you payCost per useCost per year
$30$0.02$6.00
$60$0.05$12.00
$100$0.08$20.00
$150$0.12$30.00
$200$0.15$40.00
$300$0.23$60.00
$400$0.31$80.00
$500$0.38$100.00

5 uses a week for 5 years is 1300 uses. Both figures are stated assumptions, not measurements — halve the life and every cost per use doubles. We publish the ladder rather than a worked example for one specific product because a price we typed into a sentence would be wrong within a week.

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.

Ranked picks with what each is best for and where to buy
#ProductBest forPrice
1

Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush

Four heat settings including cool, a detachable head, and a four-year warranty — the longest on this site.

A blowout without two-handed technique
2

Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer

1,875 W — matching a ghd Helios that costs several times more, and beating every Dyson we list.

Robust hair that just needs drying fast

Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer

The same four-year warranty, a brush head that does not detach, and no published heat-setting count.

We’d skip this

Nobody, while the Plus exists

1. The one we'd buy

Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush

Best for: A blowout without two-handed technique

Four heat settings including cool, a detachable head, and a four-year warranty — the longest on this site.

This is the best-value tool we cover at any price, and the warranty is why. Four years of limited coverage is double what Dyson, Shark and T3 publish on anything and a year more than ghd’s three.

Four heat settings including a dedicated cool is more granularity than the far more expensive T3 AireBrush One-Step publishes. The cool step is what makes a blowout last past lunchtime, and plenty of brushes do not have one.

A detachable brush head is the specification that matters over a four-year period — it is what lets you clean the barrel rather than watching it slowly pack solid with shed hair and product.

What’s wrong with it

No published wattage, weight, cord length, voltage or speed count. Five blank rows in the standard spec block — more than any other product in our registry.

Published specifications — Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush

Published specifications for the Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush
WattageNot published
Heat settings4 heat settings — low, medium, high, cool
Speed settingsNot published
WeightNot published
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsDetachable brush head
Plate / barrelCeramic titanium barrel; tourmaline ionic
Dual voltageNot published
Warranty4-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — One-Step Volumizer Plus product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

Revlon does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

2. Most watts per dollar

Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer

Best for: Robust hair that just needs drying fast

1,875 W — matching a ghd Helios that costs several times more, and beating every Dyson we list.

1,875 W is the joint-highest published rating on this site. The Dyson Supersonic publishes 1,600 W and the Airwrap 1,300 W. If watts were what you were buying, this would be the flagship.

Revlon publishes a 1 in grill triple-coated in ceramic and infused with coconut oil, plus ceramic tourmaline ionic technology — the same vocabulary the premium brands use, on their own product page.

Three heat and two speed settings. At the June 2026 US average residential rate of 18.34 cents per kWh, about $22.36 a year to run — the highest figure on the site, and still not a reason to choose differently.

What’s wrong with it

Three heat settings and two speeds is the coarsest range on the site, and Revlon publishes no weight, cord length, voltage, warranty or attachment list for it.

Published specifications — Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer

Published specifications for the Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer
Wattage1,875 W
Heat settings3 heat settings
Speed settings2 speed settings
WeightNot published
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNot published
Plate / barrel1 in grill, triple-coated ceramic; tourmaline ionic
Dual voltageNot published
WarrantyNot published

Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$22.35 a year

1,875 W × 65 hours a year = 121.9 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

The one we'd skip

Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer

Best for: Nobody, while the Plus exists

The same four-year warranty, a brush head that does not detach, and no published heat-setting count.

The original Salon One-Step is still sold alongside the Volumizer Plus and carries the identical four-year limited warranty. On published information there is no reason to choose it.

Revlon publishes a non-detachable brush head where the Plus detaches — and on a tool that pulls hair through a heated brush for four years, being able to clean the barrel is the difference between a working tool and a clogged one.

It also publishes no heat-setting count at all, where the Plus states four including cool. Same coverage, less function, less published information, usually a marginal price difference.

What’s wrong with it

Non-detachable head, no published heat-setting count, wattage, weight or cord length — fewer stated specs than its own newer sibling at nearly the same price.

Published specifications — Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer

Published specifications for the Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer
WattageNot published
Heat settingsNot published
Speed settingsNot published
WeightNot published
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNon-detachable brush head
Plate / barrelCeramic coating
Dual voltageNot published
Warranty4-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

Revlon does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

Questions people actually ask

Are Revlon hair tools any good?

On published wattage and warranty, genuinely yes — Revlon publishes the joint-highest wattage on this site and the longest warranty at four years. What it does not publish is weight, cord length, voltage or, on most products, a heat-setting count.

Is the Revlon One-Step worth it?

It is the best-value tool we cover at any price. Four heat settings including cool, a detachable head for cleaning, and a four-year limited warranty that doubles what Dyson, Shark and T3 publish on anything.

How many watts is the Revlon SmoothStay?

Revlon publishes 1,875 W, which matches the ghd Helios and beats every Dyson we list — the Supersonic publishes 1,600 W and the Airwrap 1,300 W.

What is the difference between the Revlon One-Step Plus and the original?

Revlon publishes two differences: the Plus has a detachable brush head where the original does not, and the Plus states four heat settings where no count is published for the original. Both carry the same four-year warranty.

Sources

Read next