Skip to content
Strand & Steam

Is It Worth It?

The Best Hair Tools Under $100 in 2026

The most powerful dryer on this site is a drugstore one, and the longest warranty is on a tool that costs less than a haircut.

Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.

Under $100 you give up heat-setting granularity and published information — not power. The highest published wattage on this site is a drugstore dryer and the longest warranty is a drugstore hot air brush. For robust hair that is a fair trade; for fine or damaged hair it is not.

Affordable styling tools on a shop shelf

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.

Ranked picks with what each is best for and where to buy
#ProductBest forPrice
1

Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush

Four heat settings including cool, a detachable head, and a four-year warranty — the longest in our registry.

A blowout without the two-handed technique
2

Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer

1,875 W — the highest published wattage on this site, matching a ghd that costs several times more.

Robust hair that just needs drying
3

Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer

The same four-year limited warranty as the Plus, with a brush head that does not detach.

The same warranty for less, if you can live with the head

T3 Featherweight StyleMax professional hair dryer

The step up worth making — but not on this page, and not for robust hair.

We’d skip this

Not a sub-$100 purchase

1. Best tool at any price under $100

Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush

Best for: A blowout without the two-handed technique

Four heat settings including cool, a detachable head, and a four-year warranty — the longest in our registry.

This is the single best-value tool we cover, and the warranty is why. Four years of limited coverage is double what Dyson, Shark and T3 publish on anything and a year more than ghd’s three, on the cheapest kind of tool in the category.

Four heat settings including a dedicated cool is more granularity than the far more expensive T3 AireBrush One-Step publishes. The detachable brush head is what lets you clean it, which over four years is the difference between a working tool and a clogged one.

Ceramic titanium barrel with tourmaline ionic technology — the same vocabulary the premium brands use.

What’s wrong with it

Revlon publishes no wattage, weight, cord length or speed count, so five rows of the standard spec block are simply unavailable.

Published specifications — Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush

Published specifications for the Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush
WattageNot published
Heat settings4 heat settings — low, medium, high, cool
Speed settingsNot published
WeightNot published
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsDetachable brush head
Plate / barrelCeramic titanium barrel; tourmaline ionic
Dual voltageNot published
Warranty4-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — One-Step Volumizer Plus product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

Revlon does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

2. Most power per dollar

Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer

Best for: Robust hair that just needs drying

1,875 W — the highest published wattage on this site, matching a ghd that costs several times more.

Read the spec sheets side by side and the assumption that expensive means powerful collapses entirely. This dryer publishes 1,875 W. The ghd Helios publishes 1,875 W. The Dyson Supersonic publishes 1,600 W and the Airwrap 1,300 W.

If watts were what you were buying, this would be the flagship and the industry’s price structure would be upside down.

Three heat and two speed settings, a 1 in triple-coated ceramic grill infused with coconut oil, ceramic tourmaline ionic technology.

What’s wrong with it

Three heat settings and two speeds is the coarsest range on the site, and Revlon publishes no weight, cord length, voltage or warranty for it.

Published specifications — Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer

Published specifications for the Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer
Wattage1,875 W
Heat settings3 heat settings
Speed settings2 speed settings
WeightNot published
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNot published
Plate / barrel1 in grill, triple-coated ceramic; tourmaline ionic
Dual voltageNot published
WarrantyNot published

Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$22.35 a year

1,875 W × 65 hours a year = 121.9 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

3. The cheaper sibling

Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer

Best for: The same warranty for less, if you can live with the head

The same four-year limited warranty as the Plus, with a brush head that does not detach.

Still sold, still carrying the identical four-year limited warranty, and usually a little cheaper than the Plus. If your budget is truly tight this is a real option rather than a trap.

Revlon publishes a ceramic coating and a non-detachable brush head. What they do not publish is a heat-setting count, where the Plus states four including cool.

For a robust head of hair being smoothed occasionally, that gap matters less than the price difference. For anything fragile, buy the Plus.

What’s wrong with it

Non-detachable head so it cannot be cleaned properly, and no published heat-setting count — you cannot confirm it has a cool setting at all.

Published specifications — Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer

Published specifications for the Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer
WattageNot published
Heat settingsNot published
Speed settingsNot published
WeightNot published
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNon-detachable brush head
Plate / barrelCeramic coating
Dual voltageNot published
Warranty4-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

Revlon does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

The one we'd skip

T3 Featherweight StyleMax professional hair dryer

Best for: Not a sub-$100 purchase

The step up worth making — but not on this page, and not for robust hair.

We include this as the skip to be clear about what the extra money actually buys, because the honest answer is narrower than the price gap suggests.

Fifteen heat-and-speed combinations against the SmoothStay’s six. A published 16.6 oz weight, so you know what you are holding. A published 9 ft cord, the longest on the site. Those three things — granularity, weight, disclosure — are what price reliably buys in this category.

What it does not buy is power: T3 publishes no wattage at all. If your hair is robust, spending several times more for settings you will not use is the wrong call, and we would rather say so on a page about value than sell you up.

What’s wrong with it

Several times the price of the tools above, no published wattage, and the benefit only shows on hair fragile enough to need the low end.

Published specifications — T3 Featherweight StyleMax professional hair dryer

Published specifications for the T3 Featherweight StyleMax professional hair dryer
WattageNot published
Heat settings5 heat settings
Speed settings3 speed settings
Weight16.6 oz (cord not included)
Cord length9 ft professional cord
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNot published
Plate / barrelCeramic
Dual voltageNo — 125 V
Warranty2-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from T3 Micro — Featherweight StyleMax product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

T3 does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

What under $100 does not cost you

Where cheap and premium actually land

Where cheap and premium actually land
SpecificationCheapest hereMost expensive hereWinner
Published wattage1,875 W (Revlon)1,300 W (Dyson Airwrap)Cheap
Warranty4 years (Revlon)2 years (Dyson, Shark, T3)Cheap
Ionic / ceramic claimsPublishedPublishedTie
Dual voltageNot publishedMostly 120 V onlyNeither
Heat-setting count3 (SmoothStay)9 (T3 irons)Premium
Published weightNot publishedPublished to a tenth of an ouncePremium
Published cord lengthNot publishedPublishedPremium

Two of the seven rows favor the cheap end outright, three favor premium, and two are a wash. That is a much narrower gap than the price difference implies.

The two rows where cheap genuinely costs you

Heat-setting granularity. Three heat settings divides the whole usable range into thirds, so the lowest setting sits well above the lowest setting on a nine-setting tool. For robust hair that is irrelevant. For fine, colored or damaged hair it is the entire decision, and it is the reason the fine-hair page names the highest-wattage dryer on the site as its skip.

Disclosure. Dyson and Shark publish wattage, weight, cord length, voltage and warranty on everything. Revlon publishes a wattage on some products and very little consistently. You are not being sold a worse tool so much as a tool you cannot check — and whether that matters depends entirely on whether you need to check.

The arithmetic on trading up

Price per use, at 5 uses a week over 5 years

Cost per use at a range of purchase prices
What you payCost per useCost per year
$30$0.02$6.00
$60$0.05$12.00
$100$0.08$20.00
$150$0.12$30.00
$200$0.15$40.00
$300$0.23$60.00
$400$0.31$80.00
$500$0.38$100.00

5 uses a week for 5 years is 1300 uses. Both figures are stated assumptions, not measurements — halve the life and every cost per use doubles. We publish the ladder rather than a worked example for one specific product because a price we typed into a sentence would be wrong within a week.

At five uses a week over five years — 1,300 uses — moving from a $40 tool to a $150 one costs about eight cents a use. Moving from $40 to $400 costs about twenty-eight cents.

Whether that is worth it depends on your hair and how often you use the thing, and we would rather give you the number than an opinion. The full treatment is at are expensive hair dryers worth it.

Where to spend if you only spend once

On the dryer, and only if your hair needs the low end. It is the tool you will use most days, and heat-setting granularity is the one thing that reliably improves with price.

Everything else can start cheap. A drugstore hot air brush carries the longest warranty on this site. A mid-range iron with a fine-grained range does the job of a flagship for most hair. And the buying order that wastes the least money is at what to buy first.

The cheapest change of all

Using heat less often. Going from five sessions a week to two cuts your total exposure by sixty percent, does more for how your hair looks in six months than any upgrade on this page, and costs nothing.

That is an awkward thing to write on a page about buying things, which is exactly why we would rather write it. The arithmetic is at how often you can use heat.

Questions people actually ask

Are cheap hair tools any good?

On power and warranty, genuinely yes — the highest published wattage on this site is a drugstore dryer and the longest warranty is a drugstore hot air brush. What you give up is heat-setting granularity and published specifications.

What is the best hair tool under $100?

A hot air brush, for most people. It replaces a two-handed blowout technique with a one-handed tool, and the Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus carries a four-year limited warranty — double what any premium brand here publishes.

Is it worth spending more than $100 on a hair dryer?

Only if your hair needs the low end. At five uses a week over five years, every $100 of price is about eight cents a use — the question is whether finer heat control is worth that to you, and for robust hair it usually is not.

The full arithmetic

Sources

Read next