Is It Worth It?
The Best Hair Tools of 2026, One Per Category
Six categories, six picks, and the arithmetic underneath each one. If you only read one page on this site, this is the one.
Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.
One tool per category, on published specifications: Dyson Supersonic (dryer), ghd Platinum+ (flat iron), Shark FlexStyle (air styler), Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus (hot air brush), ghd Curve Thin (curling), and Tangle Teezer Ultimate (no-heat). Four of the six are not the most expensive option in their category.

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.
Quick picks
Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Dyson Supersonic hair dryer Nine of the ten rows in our standard spec block are published — more than any other tool we cover. | Anyone who wants the most complete published spec sheet | |
| 2 | ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate) One fixed temperature of 365°F, universal voltage, and a three-year warranty — the longest iron cover in our registry. | Anyone who turns an iron up when a pass does not work | |
| 3 | Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system 1,600 W — the same figure Dyson publishes for the Supersonic — in a tool whose handle converts to a standalone dryer. | Wanting the Airwrap mechanism and a dryer for one price | |
| 4 | Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush Four heat settings including a dedicated cool, a detachable head, and a four-year warranty — the longest in our registry. | A blowout without the two-handed technique | |
| 5 | ghd Curve Thin curling wand (0.5 inch barrel) A 0.5 in clipless barrel — the narrowest here by a factor of two — with a cool tip, a safety stand and published universal voltage. | Curls that hold, on hair that usually drops them | |
| — | Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer The same four-year warranty as its sibling, with a head that does not detach and no published heat-setting count. We’d skip this | Not a considered purchase |
1. Best hair dryer
Dyson Supersonic hair dryer
Best for: Anyone who wants the most complete published spec sheet
Nine of the ten rows in our standard spec block are published — more than any other tool we cover.
This wins on disclosure rather than on power, and that is the honest reason. 1,600 W, four heat settings with a cold shot, three speeds, 1.8 lb, an 8.6 ft cable, three named attachments, 120 V and a two-year warranty. Only decibels are missing, and nobody in this category publishes those.
Twelve heat-and-speed combinations plus a dedicated cool is the clearest published heat control of any dryer here, and the attachment list — concentrator, diffuser, wide-tooth comb — covers straight, curly and coily hair from one box.
1,600 W is less than a drugstore Revlon draws, and Dyson publishes that openly. The pitch is airflow and regulation, not wattage.
What’s wrong with it
The heaviest dryer in our registry at a published 1.8 lb, 120 V only so it cannot travel, and the most expensive conventional dryer we list by a distance.
Published specifications — Dyson Supersonic hair dryer
| Wattage | 1,600 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 4 heat settings, including a cold shot |
| Speed settings | 3 speed settings |
| Weight | 1.8 lb |
| Cord length | 8.6 ft |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | 3 — styling concentrator, diffuser, wide-tooth comb |
| Plate / barrel | Air-multiplier body; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | No — 120 V |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from Dyson — Supersonic hair dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$19.07 a year
1,600 W × 65 hours a year = 104.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
2. Best flat iron
ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)
Best for: Anyone who turns an iron up when a pass does not work
One fixed temperature of 365°F, universal voltage, and a three-year warranty — the longest iron cover in our registry.
There is no dial. That is the entire product, and it addresses the most common self-inflicted error in this category: reaching for a higher setting when the first pass fails, then blaming the hair.
Three years is the longest iron warranty we list, against two from Dyson and T3. A warranty is one of the few numbers on a spec sheet that cannot be marketing, because being wrong about it costs the maker money.
Universal voltage and a 9 ft cable make it quietly the best traveling iron here too, which is not how it is marketed.
What’s wrong with it
Fixed at 365°F with no headroom, so coarse resistant hair is left with repeat passes as the only option — and ghd publishes no wattage or weight for it.
Published specifications — ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)
| Wattage | Not published |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | One fixed temperature — 365°F |
| Speed settings | Not applicable |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | 9 ft power cable |
| Noise (dB) | Not applicable |
| Attachments | None supplied |
| Plate / barrel | Precision-milled floating high-gloss plates, 1 in |
| Dual voltage | Yes — universal voltage |
| Warranty | 3-year warranty |
Every figure above is taken from ghd — Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.
3. Best air styler
Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system
Best for: Wanting the Airwrap mechanism and a dryer for one price
1,600 W — the same figure Dyson publishes for the Supersonic — in a tool whose handle converts to a standalone dryer.
The strongest number in the whole dupe argument is on the cheaper tool. Shark publishes exactly the same 1,600 W as the Dyson Supersonic, and nobody in this category publishes airflow, so that is the only directly comparable performance figure available.
The conversion is what makes it the category pick rather than a runner-up. Drying is the daily job and curling is occasional, so a handle that works as a plain dryer covers the frequent task properly instead of making you buy twice.
A configurable set including a diffuser, chosen at purchase — 1.5 lb, 8 ft cord, two-year limited warranty.
What’s wrong with it
Shark publishes no heat- or speed-setting count at all, so how gently it can be run is something you buy on faith — the one row that would decide it for fine or curly hair.
Published specifications — Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system
| Wattage | 1,600 W (peak 1,600 W) |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | Not published |
| Speed settings | Not published |
| Weight | 1.5 lb |
| Cord length | 8 ft |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Configurable — auto-wrap curlers, oval brush, paddle brush, concentrator, diffuser |
| Plate / barrel | Coanda airflow barrels; no clamped heat plate |
| Dual voltage | No — 120 V |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from SharkNinja — Shark FlexStyle (HD400SN) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$19.07 a year
1,600 W (peak 1,600 W) × 65 hours a year = 104.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
4. Best value tool at any price
Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush
Best for: A blowout without the two-handed technique
Four heat settings including a dedicated cool, a detachable head, and a four-year warranty — the longest in our registry.
Four years of limited cover is longer than anything Dyson, Shark, ghd or T3 publishes on anything, on the cheapest kind of tool we cover. That single row is the strongest fact on this page.
A dedicated cool setting is what makes a blowout hold — hair sets as it cools, not while it is hot — and T3’s far more expensive brush publishes three heat settings with no cool among them.
The detachable head is what keeps it alive. These brushes pull air through the bristles and clog, and a clogged intake runs the element hotter than the setting you chose.
What’s wrong with it
Revlon publishes no wattage, weight, cord length, speed count or voltage — five blank rows, which is the trade for the price and the warranty.
Published specifications — Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush
| Wattage | Not published |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 4 heat settings — low, medium, high, cool |
| Speed settings | Not published |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | Not published |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Detachable brush head |
| Plate / barrel | Ceramic titanium barrel; tourmaline ionic |
| Dual voltage | Not published |
| Warranty | 4-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — One-Step Volumizer Plus product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
Revlon does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.
5. Best curling tool
ghd Curve Thin curling wand (0.5 inch barrel)
Best for: Curls that hold, on hair that usually drops them
A 0.5 in clipless barrel — the narrowest here by a factor of two — with a cool tip, a safety stand and published universal voltage.
A narrower barrel wraps more turns into the same length of hair, so the curl survives the day on hair that drops a one-inch curl by lunchtime. Nothing else in our registry goes below one inch.
Clipless means no crease and an even curl root to tip, and the published cool tip is what makes that usable without a glove. The built-in safety stand keeps a 365°F barrel off the counter.
Published universal voltage puts it in the small group of tools here you can take abroad, and a 30-second heat-up means you use it rather than skip it.
What’s wrong with it
Fixed at 365°F with nothing below, which rules it out for bleached hair, and a half-inch barrel only suits tight curls — it cannot produce a loose wave.
Published specifications — ghd Curve Thin curling wand (0.5 inch barrel)
| Wattage | Not published |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | One fixed temperature — 365°F |
| Speed settings | Not applicable |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | 8.8 ft, 360-degree swivel cord |
| Noise (dB) | Not applicable |
| Attachments | Cool tip, built-in safety stand |
| Plate / barrel | 0.5 in thin barrel, clipless |
| Dual voltage | Yes — universal voltage |
| Warranty | 2-year warranty |
Every figure above is taken from ghd — Curve Thin curling wand product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.
The one we'd skip
Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer
Best for: Not a considered purchase
The same four-year warranty as its sibling, with a head that does not detach and no published heat-setting count.
The original Salon One-Step is still sold and still popular, and it is the one tool in our registry we would actively steer people away from — because a strictly better version exists from the same brand at a similar price.
The head does not come off, so the air intake cannot be cleaned. On a tool that pulls air through its own bristles, that is a countdown rather than an inconvenience.
Revlon publishes four heat settings including cool for the Plus and publishes no heat-setting count at all for this one. Six of the ten rows on its spec sheet are blank. Buy the Plus.
What’s wrong with it
Six blank spec rows including the heat-setting count, and a non-detachable head on a tool whose standard failure mode is a blocked intake.
Published specifications — Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer
| Wattage | Not published |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | Not published |
| Speed settings | Not published |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | Not published |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Non-detachable brush head |
| Plate / barrel | Ceramic coating |
| Dual voltage | Not published |
| Warranty | 4-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
Revlon does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.
How these were chosen
Not by testing. We have not used any of these tools, own none of them, and accept no free product — which we say on every page and on how we research.
What we do instead is read every figure off the manufacturer’s own product page, put them in the same ten rows in the same order on every product, and rank on what is actually published. Three criteria, in this order:
- How much the maker will tell you. A complete spec sheet is a tool you can plan around. A sheet with five blank rows is one you are taking on trust.
- Whether the published numbers suit the job. Heat granularity, attachment breadth, voltage, cord length — the figures that change how a tool behaves rather than how it markets.
- What it costs per use over five years. Not the sticker. The arithmetic is below and it changes the answer more than people expect.
Price is not one of the criteria
Worth stating plainly, because it is the thing that makes this page different from most “best hair tools” lists.
Four of the six picks above are not the most expensive option in their category, and one of them — the Revlon hot air brush — is the cheapest tool in our entire registry. That is not us being contrarian. It is what happens when you rank on published specifications: the four-year warranty is genuinely the longest we have seen, and the brands charging six times more publish two.
Equally, the Dyson Supersonic wins its category while being the most expensive dryer we list, because it publishes more than anything else. The method does not have a thumb on either scale.
What each category actually turns on
The deciding specification, by category
| Category | What decides it | Who publishes it best |
|---|---|---|
| Hair dryer | Heat and speed granularity, plus attachments | Dyson — 12 combinations, a cold shot, 3 named attachments |
| Flat iron | Whether you can be trusted with a dial | ghd — no dial at all, 3-year warranty |
| Air styler | Whether it also dries, and what is in the box | Shark — converts to a dryer, configurable set |
| Hot air brush | A cool setting and a cleanable head | Revlon — both, plus 4 years of cover |
| Curling | Barrel diameter, and whether it creases | ghd — 0.5 in, clipless, cool tip |
| No-heat | Whether it eases knots or drags them | Tangle Teezer — two-tier bristles |
The arithmetic that should change your shortlist
Every price-per-use figure on this site assumes five uses a week for five years. That is a stated assumption rather than a measurement, and it is printed under every cost block so you can substitute your own.
Price per use, at 5 uses a week over 5 years
| What you pay | Cost per use | Cost per year |
|---|---|---|
| $30 | $0.02 | $6.00 |
| $60 | $0.05 | $12.00 |
| $100 | $0.08 | $20.00 |
| $150 | $0.12 | $30.00 |
| $200 | $0.15 | $40.00 |
| $300 | $0.23 | $60.00 |
| $400 | $0.31 | $80.00 |
| $500 | $0.38 | $100.00 |
5 uses a week for 5 years is 1300 uses. Both figures are stated assumptions, not measurements — halve the life and every cost per use doubles. We publish the ladder rather than a worked example for one specific product because a price we typed into a sentence would be wrong within a week.
The reason this matters: at that usage, the difference between a $100 tool and a $400 tool is about twenty-three cents a use. Which is either trivial or decisive depending entirely on how often you actually style your hair — and that is a question about you, not about the tool.
If you use heat twice a month, the cheap tool is correct and no argument about airflow changes that. If you dry daily, the flagship becomes reasonable. The full version is on are expensive hair dryers worth it.
Running costs, since nobody else publishes them
Electricity is a small term and it runs the opposite way to expectations, which is why it is worth a paragraph.
Annual running cost at 65 hours a year, 18.34 cents per kWh
| Tool | Published wattage | Cost a year |
|---|---|---|
| ghd Helios / Revlon SmoothStay | 1,875 W | $22.35 |
| Shark SpeedStyle Pro | 1,750 W | $20.86 |
| Shark FlexStyle IonCurl | 1,700 W | $20.27 |
| Dyson Supersonic / Shark FlexStyle | 1,600 W | $19.07 |
| Dyson Airwrap | 1,300 W | $15.50 |
| T3 AireBrush Round | 1,200 W | $14.31 |
The whole spread is under eight dollars a year, so nobody should choose on it. What is worth noticing is the direction: the cheapest dryer we list is the most expensive to run, because it draws the most power. Rate cited from the EIA Electric Power Monthly.
If you are buying one tool, not six
Most people do not need six tools, and the honest answer to “what should I buy first” depends on what your hair does without intervention rather than on any ranking.
- Hair that is fine and goes flat: a hot air brush beats a dryer and an iron combined — the reasoning.
- Curls you want to keep: a dryer with a published diffuser, and nothing else — which ones publish one.
- Thick hair that takes forever: power and airflow, so a dryer first — the picks.
- Already damaged: the cheapest useful purchase is a detangling brush, not a heated tool — why.
The full first-purchase argument is on the beginner kit page, and how many tools a normal person actually needs is on its own page.
What we will not tell you
Which of these dries fastest, which is quietest, or which feels best in the hand. We have not used them. No manufacturer publishes airflow in comparable units, and not one of the twenty-six products in our registry publishes a decibel figure — that gap has its own page.
Everything above is read off manufacturer product pages or computed from them with the working shown. Where a row says not published, the number is absent from the source we cite rather than unknown to us.
Questions people actually ask
What are the best hair tools in 2026?
On published specifications: Dyson Supersonic for a dryer, ghd Platinum+ for a flat iron, Shark FlexStyle for an air styler, Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus for a hot air brush, and the ghd Curve Thin for curling.
Do you have to spend a lot to get a good hair tool?
No. Four of our six category picks are not the most expensive option, and the longest warranty in our registry — four years — is on the cheapest tool we cover. Premium price buys disclosure and attachments more reliably than it buys power.
How do you pick these without testing them?
We read every figure off the manufacturer's own product page, put them in the same ten rows on every product, and rank on what is published. We do not test, own or accept free product, and we say so on every page.
Which single hair tool should I buy first?
It depends on what your hair does untouched. Fine hair that goes flat is best served by a hot air brush; curls by a dryer with a published diffuser; thick hair by power. Damaged hair is best served by a detangling brush, not a heated tool.