Skip to content
Strand & Steam

Is It Worth It?

The Best Hair Tools Under $50

The cheap shelf is not worse at drying hair. It is worse at telling you anything about itself.

Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.

Under $50 you lose published specifications rather than performance: no wattage, no weight, no voltage on most of the shelf. What you keep is a working tool and, in Revlon’s case, the longest warranty of any brush in this registry.

Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.

A note on the price in the headline

Prices move, and this site never types one into an article. Every price you see beside a buy button comes from the live price layer with the date it was verified; if that data is more than 48 hours old the number disappears and the button says so instead.

So read this page as “the tools that sit on the sub-$50 shelf, and why these are the good ones,” rather than as a promise about today’s checkout total. Check the live figure before you buy.

What you actually give up

Not much of it is performance. A hot air brush is a fan, an element and a bristled barrel at any price, and the cheap ones do the same three things. What disappears is information.

Published rows across the sub-$50 shelf here

Published rows across the sub-$50 shelf here
RowRevlon SmoothStayRevlon One-Step PlusL'ange Le Volume
Wattage1,875 WNot published1,000 W
Heat settings34, including cool3, stated in °F
WeightNot publishedNot published1.1 lb
Cord lengthNot publishedNot published6.6 ft
VoltageNot publishedNot published125 V
WarrantyNot published4 years1 year

Revlon publishes the most power and the longest warranty, and the least about everything else.

The one row to check first

On a brush, whether the head detaches. Lint collects on the grill behind the bristles, airflow drops, and the tool runs hotter for longer to compensate — so a sealed head is a slow decline you cannot fix, and it is the most common reason a cheap brush feels cheap after a year.

On a dryer, whether the filter can be cleaned. Same mechanism, same outcome: a blocked filter is how dryer motors die. See cleaning and maintenance.

The cheapest genuinely useful things to buy

Two of them are not styling tools at all, and both do more for most people than trading up a tier:

When spending more is actually justified

Three cases. If your hair is fine, colored or recovering, a published temperature floor is worth paying for, and almost nothing under $50 publishes one. If you travel, dual voltage is worth paying for. And if you style daily, a longer warranty and a cleanable airflow path change the cost per year rather than the price.

What to buy at every budget maps the tiers, and the best tools under $100 is the next shelf up.

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.

Ranked picks with what each is best for and where to buy
#ProductBest forPrice
1
Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush

Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush

Four heat settings including a cool option, a detachable head you can clean, and a four-year warranty.

One tool that dries and shapes
$41.99 · View on Amazon

$65.99 · 36% off · price as of September 27, 2026

#ad How we earn

2
Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer

Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer

1,875 W with three heat settings and two speeds - the joint-highest published wattage on this site.

A straightforward dryer that just works
$34.97 · View on Amazon

$39.99 · 13% off · price as of September 27, 2026

#ad How we earn

3
L'ange Le Volume Brush Dryer

L'ange Le Volume Brush Dryer

1,000 W with all three settings published as real temperatures, topping out at 225.7°F, and 1.1 lb published.

Fine or colored hair on a budget
$48.99 · View on Amazon

$69.00 · 29% off · price as of September 27, 2026

#ad How we earn

—
Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer

Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer

The same four-year warranty on a brush with a non-detachable head and no published heat settings.

We’d skip this

Nobody, at any price
$49.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 27, 2026

#ad How we earn

1. Best value on the whole site

Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush

Best for: One tool that dries and shapes

Four heat settings including a cool option, a detachable head you can clean, and a four-year warranty.

The strongest cost-of-ownership argument here. Four years is the longest published warranty of any brush in this registry — double T3's and four times L’ange's — on a tool that costs a fraction of either.

The detachable head is what makes that warranty meaningful, because the usual failure is a clogged airflow path rather than a dead motor, and a head that comes off can be cleaned.

Four blank rows: no wattage, weight, cord length or voltage.

What’s wrong with it

Nothing published about power, weight, cord or voltage, and slow on thick or very long hair.

Published specifications — Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush

Published specifications for the Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush
WattageNot published
Heat settings4 heat settings — low, medium, high, cool
Speed settingsNot published
WeightNot published
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsDetachable brush head
Plate / barrelCeramic titanium barrel; tourmaline ionic
Dual voltageNot published
Warranty4-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — One-Step Volumizer Plus product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

Revlon does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

$41.99 · View on Amazon

$65.99 · 36% off · price as of September 27, 2026

#ad How we earn

2. Most published power on the shelf

Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer

Best for: A straightforward dryer that just works

1,875 W with three heat settings and two speeds - the joint-highest published wattage on this site.

It ties the ghd Helios and the Hot Tools Pro Artist on published power, at a small fraction of either price. For straight to wavy hair that dries quickly and does not need a diffuser, that is most of what a dryer has to do.

Three heat settings and two speeds is a sensible layout rather than a compromise: six combinations covers a normal routine.

Everything else is blank — no weight, cord, voltage, attachments or warranty. It also costs the most here to run, about $22.35 a year against $19.07 for a 1,600 W dryer.

What’s wrong with it

Five blank specification rows including warranty, and the highest running cost here.

Published specifications — Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer

Published specifications for the Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer
Wattage1,875 W
Heat settings3 heat settings
Speed settings2 speed settings
WeightNot published
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNot published
Plate / barrel1 in grill, triple-coated ceramic; tourmaline ionic
Dual voltageNot published
WarrantyNot published

Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$22.35 a year

1,875 W × 65 hours a year = 121.9 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

$34.97 · View on Amazon

$39.99 · 13% off · price as of September 27, 2026

#ad How we earn

3. The only one that states its degrees

L'ange Le Volume Brush Dryer

Best for: Fine or colored hair on a budget

1,000 W with all three settings published as real temperatures, topping out at 225.7°F, and 1.1 lb published.

The disclosure outlier of the shelf. L’ange publishes the wattage, the weight, the cord and a Fahrenheit figure for every setting, which nothing else at this price does.

A 225.7°F ceiling is the gentlest published figure in the brush category, which makes this the sub-$50 pick for hair that is fine, colored or recovering.

The cord row states 6.6 ft and 2.4 m on the same line, which cannot both be true; we report it as published. One-year warranty, 125 V.

What’s wrong with it

The shortest warranty in this registry, 125 V only, and 1,000 W is slow on thick hair.

Published specifications — L'ange Le Volume Brush Dryer

Published specifications for the L'ange Le Volume Brush Dryer
Wattage1,000 W
Heat settings3 — cool 95.4°F, low 178.9°F, high 225.7°F (all published)
Speed settingsNot published
Weight1.1 lb (500 g)
Cord length6.6 ft — the same line also states 2.4 m, which is 7.9 ft
Noise (dB)Not published
Attachments2 — protective cover and cleaning brush
Plate / barrelTitanium oval barrel, 60 mm or 75 mm
Dual voltageNo — 125 V, 60 Hz
Warranty1-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from L'ange — Le Volume Brush Dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$11.92 a year

1,000 W × 65 hours a year = 65.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

$48.99 · View on Amazon

$69.00 · 29% off · price as of September 27, 2026

#ad How we earn

The one we'd skip

Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer

Best for: Nobody, at any price

The same four-year warranty on a brush with a non-detachable head and no published heat settings.

The one to avoid on this shelf, and it is usually sitting right next to the one to buy. The head does not come off, so the grill behind the bristles cannot be cleaned.

That is the exact failure that makes people replace budget brushes: airflow drops month by month, the tool runs hotter for longer, and the drying time disappears. The warranty does not cover a tool getting gradually worse through normal use.

Revlon also publishes no heat-setting count for it, where the detachable model publishes four including cool.

What’s wrong with it

A sealed head that cannot be cleaned, and no published heat settings.

Published specifications — Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer

Published specifications for the Revlon Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer
WattageNot published
Heat settingsNot published
Speed settingsNot published
WeightNot published
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNon-detachable brush head
Plate / barrelCeramic coating
Dual voltageNot published
Warranty4-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — Salon One-Step hair dryer and volumizer. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

Revlon does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

$49.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 27, 2026

#ad How we earn

Questions people actually ask

Are cheap hair tools any good?

On outcome, often yes. What you lose under $50 is published specification rather than performance - most of the shelf states no wattage, weight or voltage. The cheapest brush here also carries the longest warranty in this registry.

What should I check before buying a budget hot air brush?

Whether the brush head detaches. Lint collects on the grill behind the bristles and chokes the airflow, and a sealed head turns that into a decline you cannot reverse.

Cleaning and maintenance

When is it worth spending more than $50?

When you need a published temperature floor for fine or colored hair, when you need dual voltage for travel, or when you style daily and a longer warranty changes the cost per year.

What to buy at every budget

Are the prices on this page guaranteed?

No. Prices move, and this site never types one into an article. Every figure beside a buy button comes from the live price layer with the date it was checked, and disappears if that data goes stale.

Sources

Read next