Guides
What to Buy at Every Budget: $50 to $500
Four budgets, four different right answers. The interesting part is where the curve flattens, and it flattens earlier than the category wants you to think.
Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.
The steepest part of the curve is the first hundred dollars, where you go from no published specifications to a four-year warranty and a cool setting. Above roughly two hundred you are buying disclosure, attachments and mechanisms — not power, which peaks at the cheap end.

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.
Quick picks
Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush Four heat settings including a dedicated cool, a detachable head, and a four-year warranty — the longest in our registry. | The first real tool, and possibly the only one you need | |
| 2 | Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system 1,600 W — the same figure Dyson publishes for the Supersonic — with a configurable attachment set and a handle that converts to a dryer. | One tool that dries and shapes | |
| 3 | ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate) One fixed 365°F with no dial, universal voltage, and a three-year warranty — the longest iron cover in our registry. | Buying restraint rather than features | |
| 4 | Dyson Supersonic hair dryer Nine of the ten rows in our standard spec block published — more than any other tool we cover. | Wanting every row on the spec sheet filled in | |
| — | Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer Ties the salon flagship on wattage and publishes no warranty, cord length or attachment list. We’d skip this | Not a considered budget purchase |
1. The entry tier
Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush
Best for: The first real tool, and possibly the only one you need
Four heat settings including a dedicated cool, a detachable head, and a four-year warranty — the longest in our registry.
This is the tool that makes the whole budget question awkward, because it beats everything above it on the one number that cannot be marketing. Four years of limited cover is longer than anything Dyson, Shark, ghd or T3 publishes on anything at all.
A dedicated cool setting is the other thing the entry tier usually lacks and this has. Hair sets as it cools, so the final seconds of each section are what make a blowout hold — T3’s far more expensive brush publishes three heat settings with no cool among them.
The detachable head is what keeps it alive. These brushes clog, and a clogged intake runs the element hotter than the setting you chose.
What’s wrong with it
Revlon publishes no wattage, weight, cord length, speed count or voltage — five blank rows. You are buying a warranty and a cool setting, not a spec sheet.
Published specifications — Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush
| Wattage | Not published |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 4 heat settings — low, medium, high, cool |
| Speed settings | Not published |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | Not published |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Detachable brush head |
| Plate / barrel | Ceramic titanium barrel; tourmaline ionic |
| Dual voltage | Not published |
| Warranty | 4-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — One-Step Volumizer Plus product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
Revlon does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.
2. The middle tier
Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system
Best for: One tool that dries and shapes
1,600 W — the same figure Dyson publishes for the Supersonic — with a configurable attachment set and a handle that converts to a dryer.
The middle of the market is where the dupe argument lives, and this is its strongest example. Shark publishes exactly the same wattage as the Dyson Supersonic, and since nobody publishes airflow, that is the only directly comparable performance figure available.
The conversion is what makes it a budget answer rather than a second purchase. Drying is the daily job and curling is occasional; a handle that works as a plain dryer covers the frequent task instead of making you buy twice.
A configurable set including a diffuser, chosen at purchase. 1.5 lb, 8 ft cord, two-year limited warranty.
What’s wrong with it
Shark publishes no heat- or speed-setting count at all, so the low-airflow setting that fine and curly hair depend on is something you buy on faith.
Published specifications — Shark FlexStyle air styling and drying system
| Wattage | 1,600 W (peak 1,600 W) |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | Not published |
| Speed settings | Not published |
| Weight | 1.5 lb |
| Cord length | 8 ft |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Configurable — auto-wrap curlers, oval brush, paddle brush, concentrator, diffuser |
| Plate / barrel | Coanda airflow barrels; no clamped heat plate |
| Dual voltage | No — 120 V |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from SharkNinja — Shark FlexStyle (HD400SN) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$19.07 a year
1,600 W (peak 1,600 W) × 65 hours a year = 104.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
3. The upper tier
ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)
Best for: Buying restraint rather than features
One fixed 365°F with no dial, universal voltage, and a three-year warranty — the longest iron cover in our registry.
What the upper tier buys here is unusual: it buys you fewer options. There is no temperature dial, which removes the most common self-inflicted error in this category.
Three years against two from Dyson and T3 is the concrete part. So is published universal voltage, which puts it in the small group of tools you can actually take abroad — and which ghd does not market it on.
A 9 ft cable, precision-milled floating plates. No wattage or weight published, which is the consistent ghd pattern.
What’s wrong with it
Fixed at 365°F means coarse resistant hair has no headroom and processed hair has no floor — and 1 inch plates only, where the Chronos offers wide.
Published specifications — ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)
| Wattage | Not published |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | One fixed temperature — 365°F |
| Speed settings | Not applicable |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | 9 ft power cable |
| Noise (dB) | Not applicable |
| Attachments | None supplied |
| Plate / barrel | Precision-milled floating high-gloss plates, 1 in |
| Dual voltage | Yes — universal voltage |
| Warranty | 3-year warranty |
Every figure above is taken from ghd — Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.
4. The flagship tier
Dyson Supersonic hair dryer
Best for: Wanting every row on the spec sheet filled in
Nine of the ten rows in our standard spec block published — more than any other tool we cover.
At the top of the market you are buying disclosure and attachments. 1,600 W, four heat settings with a cold shot, three speeds, 1.8 lb, an 8.6 ft cable, three named attachments, 120 V and a two-year warranty. Only decibels are missing, and nobody publishes those.
Twelve heat-and-speed combinations plus a dedicated cool is the clearest published control of any dryer here. On fine, colored or curly hair, being able to verify the low end before buying is worth real money.
What you are not buying is power: 1,600 W is less than a drugstore Revlon draws, and Dyson publishes that openly.
What’s wrong with it
The heaviest dryer in our registry at 1.8 lb, 120 V only so it cannot travel, and a two-year warranty that a $40 Revlon brush doubles.
Published specifications — Dyson Supersonic hair dryer
| Wattage | 1,600 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 4 heat settings, including a cold shot |
| Speed settings | 3 speed settings |
| Weight | 1.8 lb |
| Cord length | 8.6 ft |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | 3 — styling concentrator, diffuser, wide-tooth comb |
| Plate / barrel | Air-multiplier body; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | No — 120 V |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from Dyson — Supersonic hair dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$19.07 a year
1,600 W × 65 hours a year = 104.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
The one we'd skip
Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer
Best for: Not a considered budget purchase
Ties the salon flagship on wattage and publishes no warranty, cord length or attachment list.
1,875 W is the joint highest published wattage in our registry — identical to the ghd Helios at several times the price — and on robust hair being rough-dried, that is a genuinely good buy. We say so on the budget dryers page.
It is the skip on a budget-tier page for a specific reason: at the entry tier your money should buy the thing that survives. This publishes no warranty term at all, where its own sibling brush publishes four years.
Two speed settings is the other problem — the fewest of any dryer here, on the joint most powerful element here. That is a narrow tool, and the entry tier is exactly where you cannot afford a narrow tool.
What’s wrong with it
Five of ten spec rows blank including warranty and cord length, and the fewest speed settings in the registry.
Published specifications — Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer
| Wattage | 1,875 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 3 heat settings |
| Speed settings | 2 speed settings |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | Not published |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Not published |
| Plate / barrel | 1 in grill, triple-coated ceramic; tourmaline ionic |
| Dual voltage | Not published |
| Warranty | Not published |
Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$22.35 a year
1,875 W × 65 hours a year = 121.9 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
Where the curve actually flattens
The useful way to think about a hair tool budget is not “how much should I spend” but “at what point does spending more stop buying anything I can verify”.
What each band adds, in published specifications
| Band | What you gain over the band below | What you do not |
|---|---|---|
| Entry | A cool setting, a cleanable head, a four-year warranty | Any published wattage, weight, cord or voltage |
| Middle | Published wattage, weight, cord length, an attachment list | Heat and speed settings counts, on Shark at least |
| Upper | A longer warranty, published voltage, floating plates | More power — it is flat or falling from here |
| Flagship | Complete disclosure, the most attachments, novel mechanisms | A longer warranty than the entry tier offers |
Read the right-hand column. The two things that do not improve with price in this category are power and warranty length — and those are the two things most people assume they are buying.
The power inversion, stated plainly
The joint most powerful dryers in our registry are a ghd Helios and a drugstore Revlon SmoothStay, both at a published 1,875 W. The Dyson Supersonic publishes 1,600 W and the Dyson Airwrap 1,300 W.
If wattage were what the money bought, this industry’s pricing would be upside down. It is not — the premium brands are selling airflow and heat regulation, which nobody publishes in comparable units. The full argument is on the wattage page.
The warranty inversion
Four years on the Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus. Three on ghd irons. Two on everything Dyson, Shark and T3 make. The cheapest tool in our registry has double the cover of the most expensive.
A warranty is one of the few numbers on a spec sheet that cannot be marketing, because getting it wrong costs the manufacturer money. That makes this inversion the single most useful fact for anyone shopping on a budget — the general argument is on the warranty page.
Running cost barely moves
Worth ruling out as a budget factor. The whole spread across every mains tool in our registry is under eight dollars a year, and it runs backwards: the cheapest dryer is the most expensive to run because it draws the most power.
At 65 hours a year and the June 2026 US average residential rate of 18.34 cents per kWh — EIA Electric Power Monthly — a 1,875 W dryer costs $22.35 a year and a 1,200 W brush costs $14.31. Nobody should choose on that. Full arithmetic on the running costs page.
Price per use is what should set your budget
Price per use, at 5 uses a week over 5 years
| What you pay | Cost per use | Cost per year |
|---|---|---|
| $30 | $0.02 | $6.00 |
| $60 | $0.05 | $12.00 |
| $100 | $0.08 | $20.00 |
| $150 | $0.12 | $30.00 |
| $200 | $0.15 | $40.00 |
| $300 | $0.23 | $60.00 |
| $400 | $0.31 | $80.00 |
| $500 | $0.38 | $100.00 |
5 uses a week for 5 years is 1300 uses. Both figures are stated assumptions, not measurements — halve the life and every cost per use doubles. We publish the ladder rather than a worked example for one specific product because a price we typed into a sentence would be wrong within a week.
This is the table that should actually decide the band. At five uses a week over five years, the difference between the entry tier and the flagship is a few cents a use — trivial if you style daily, and decisive if you style twice a month.
So the honest rule is: let frequency set the budget, not the other way round. Daily use justifies almost anything on this site. Occasional use justifies the entry tier and nothing above it, no matter how good the flagship’s spec sheet is.
What we would buy at each band
- Entry: the Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus, and genuinely stop there if your hair is fine or dries quickly.
- Middle: the Shark FlexStyle, because the conversion means one purchase covers two jobs.
- Upper: the ghd Platinum+ if you iron, or the Shark SpeedStyle Pro if you want six published attachments.
- Flagship: the Dyson Supersonic for disclosure, or the Corrale if your sections take more than one pass.
And the cheapest useful purchase on this whole site is not on this page: a detangling brush costs less than any tool here and addresses a documented mechanical failure mode — why.
Questions people actually ask
How much should I spend on a hair tool?
Let frequency decide. At five uses a week over five years the gap between the entry tier and a flagship is a few cents a use; at twice a month it is dollars. Daily use justifies almost anything; occasional use justifies the entry tier only.
Do expensive hair dryers have more power?
No — it runs the other way. The joint most powerful dryers in our registry are a ghd Helios and a drugstore Revlon at 1,875 W each. The Dyson Supersonic publishes 1,600 W and the Airwrap 1,300 W.
What does spending more actually buy?
Disclosure, attachments and occasionally a novel mechanism like flexing plates. What it does not buy is power or a longer warranty — the cheapest tool in our registry has four years of cover against two from every premium brand.