Travel & Dual Voltage
Can You Rely on the Hotel Hair Dryer?
The dryer bolted to the wall is the least specified appliance you will ever use. Whether that matters depends entirely on what your hair needs.
Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.
If your hair is straightforward and you are rough-drying, the hotel dryer is fine and packing one is wasted weight. If you need a diffuser, a genuinely low speed or a cool shot, it will not have them — and the only conventional dryer in our registry that travels is the ghd flight+.

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.
Quick picks
Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ghd flight+ travel hair dryer Published dual voltage, 0.99 lb including cord and nozzle, and a folding handle — nothing else in our registry does this. | Anyone whose routine genuinely needs their own settings | |
| 2 | T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler The only dual-voltage air styler in our registry, at a published 1,200–1,400 W with three heat and three speed settings. | Trips where the hotel dryer covers drying but not shaping | |
| 3 | ghd Curve Thin curling wand (0.5 inch barrel) Published universal voltage on a 0.5 in clipless barrel, with a 30-second heat-up and a built-in safety stand. | Rescuing a result rather than replacing the dryer | |
| — | Dyson Supersonic hair dryer 120 V only and the heaviest published dryer in our registry at 1.8 lb. We’d skip this | Not travel, at all |
1. The only dryer here that travels
ghd flight+ travel hair dryer
Best for: Anyone whose routine genuinely needs their own settings
Published dual voltage, 0.99 lb including cord and nozzle, and a folding handle — nothing else in our registry does this.
Across ten dryers and air stylers in our registry this is the only conventional dryer with a published dual voltage rating. Every Dyson and Shark is 120 V, both T3 dryers are 125 V, and ghd states plainly that their own Helios is not universal voltage.
0.99 lb is published including cord and nozzle, which is a stricter figure than the cord-excluded weights most makers print. The folding handle is the other packing specification and no other dryer here publishes one.
ghd also states an airflow temperature of 149°F — unusual disclosure, and a reassuringly low number on fine or colored hair.
What’s wrong with it
The published attachment list is a nozzle and a folding handle. There is no diffuser, so the one dryer you can take abroad is the one that cannot diffuse curls — and no wattage is published.
Published specifications — ghd flight+ travel hair dryer
| Wattage | Not published |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | Variable temperature control |
| Speed settings | Variable speed control |
| Weight | 0.99 lb, including cord and nozzle |
| Cord length | Not published |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Nozzle; folding handle for packing |
| Plate / barrel | Airflow temperature stated as 149°F |
| Dual voltage | Yes — dual voltage |
| Warranty | 2-year warranty |
Every figure above is taken from ghd — flight+ travel hair dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.
2. If you need to style, not just dry
T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler
Best for: Trips where the hotel dryer covers drying but not shaping
The only dual-voltage air styler in our registry, at a published 1,200–1,400 W with three heat and three speed settings.
A different answer to the same problem: let the hotel dryer do the rough drying, and pack the tool that does the part it cannot.
T3 publishes dual voltage, which no other air styler here does, and nine published heat-and-speed combinations — genuine control in a bathroom where you do not know what the water has done to your hair.
Two extra-long curling attachments and an oval AireBrush, a 9 ft swivel cord, two-year warranty.
What’s wrong with it
No diffuser in the published set and no published weight, and it is a bulky object to pack for a job the hotel dryer half-does already.
Published specifications — T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler
| Wattage | 1,200–1,400 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 3 heat settings |
| Speed settings | 3 speed settings |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | 9 ft, 360-degree swivel cord |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | 2 extra-long curling attachments (left and right), oval AireBrush attachment |
| Plate / barrel | Korean CeraGloss ceramic |
| Dual voltage | Yes — dual voltage |
| Warranty | 2-year warranty |
Every figure above is taken from T3 Micro — Aire 360 Dual Voltage product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$16.69 a year
1,200–1,400 W × 65 hours a year = 91.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
3. The smallest thing that fixes a bad dry
ghd Curve Thin curling wand (0.5 inch barrel)
Best for: Rescuing a result rather than replacing the dryer
Published universal voltage on a 0.5 in clipless barrel, with a 30-second heat-up and a built-in safety stand.
The pragmatic option. Accept the hotel dryer, then fix the front sections with something that packs into nothing.
A 30-second heat-up is worth more away from home than at home, and the built-in safety stand matters in a bathroom with unfamiliar surfaces and no counter space.
Published universal voltage, an 8.8 ft swivel cord, a cool tip and a two-year warranty.
What’s wrong with it
Fixed at 365°F with nothing below, a half-inch barrel only suits tight curls, and it does nothing at all about drying.
Published specifications — ghd Curve Thin curling wand (0.5 inch barrel)
| Wattage | Not published |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | One fixed temperature — 365°F |
| Speed settings | Not applicable |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | 8.8 ft, 360-degree swivel cord |
| Noise (dB) | Not applicable |
| Attachments | Cool tip, built-in safety stand |
| Plate / barrel | 0.5 in thin barrel, clipless |
| Dual voltage | Yes — universal voltage |
| Warranty | 2-year warranty |
Every figure above is taken from ghd — Curve Thin curling wand product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.
The one we'd skip
Dyson Supersonic hair dryer
Best for: Not travel, at all
120 V only and the heaviest published dryer in our registry at 1.8 lb.
The best-documented dryer we cover and our pick on several pages, and it should stay at home.
120 V only. A plug adapter changes the shape of the pins and does nothing to the electricity, so on a UK supply declared at 230 V — and legally permitted up to 253 V under the ESQCR 2002 — it is destroyed rather than inconvenienced.
1.8 lb is also the heaviest published dryer weight here, which is a lot of carry-on for a tool you cannot plug in. The distinction between adapters and converters is on its own page.
What’s wrong with it
Single voltage and the heaviest dryer in our registry — the two worst travel specifications available, on an otherwise excellent tool.
Published specifications — Dyson Supersonic hair dryer
| Wattage | 1,600 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 4 heat settings, including a cold shot |
| Speed settings | 3 speed settings |
| Weight | 1.8 lb |
| Cord length | 8.6 ft |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | 3 — styling concentrator, diffuser, wide-tooth comb |
| Plate / barrel | Air-multiplier body; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | No — 120 V |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from Dyson — Supersonic hair dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$19.07 a year
1,600 W × 65 hours a year = 104.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
What a hotel dryer actually is
Usually a wall-mounted unit with a push-and-hold button, one or two heat positions, and no attachment. And — the point of this page — no published specifications whatsoever. No wattage, no settings count, no airflow figure, no manufacturer you can look up.
On a site whose entire method is reading manufacturer spec sheets, that is an unusual object: a tool you are expected to use with zero available information about it. We cannot rank hotel dryers and would not pretend to.
What we can do is tell you which of your requirements a generic dryer predictably fails, so you can decide whether to carry one.
When the hotel dryer is genuinely fine
Your requirement against what a wall unit typically offers
| What you need | Hotel dryer | Verdict |
|---|---|---|
| Get wet hair dry before bed | Yes — this is what it is for | Pack nothing |
| Rough-dry before straightening | Yes | Pack the iron, not a dryer |
| A concentrator to smooth with tension | Almost never has one | Pack a brush, or accept the result |
| A diffuser for curls | Effectively never | This is the real gap |
| A genuinely low speed for fine hair | Usually two positions at most | Pack your own if this matters |
| A cool shot to set a style | Rare | Style will drop faster; plan for it |
The honest summary is that a hotel dryer is a drying appliance rather than a styling one. If your routine ends at “dry”, carrying a dryer abroad is wasted weight and one more thing to get wrong at security.
The curly-hair problem, which has no clean answer
If you diffuse, the hotel dryer will not help you and the one dryer in our registry that travels does not publish a diffuser either. ghd publishes the flight+ attachment list — a nozzle and a folding handle — and a diffuser is not on it.
That is a genuine gap in the category rather than an oversight on anyone’s part. Dryers are the hardest tools to make dual voltage, because the heating element is the highest-power component in this whole product family, and the travel models that manage it do so by being small and simple.
The workable options are: air-dry and refresh the front with a dual-voltage wand; take the flight+ and accept a less defined result; or plan a heat-free set — the options are here.
The bathroom socket problem
Worth knowing before you plan around packing your own. UK bathrooms frequently have no standard power socket at all, only a shaver socket, and shaver sockets are low-current fittings not intended for high-power appliances. A dryer will typically trip it or simply not run.
The practical consequence is that you will be drying your hair in the bedroom, which makes cord length matter more than it does at home. The country-by-country detail is on the UK page and the Europe page.
What to check before you pack anything
- Read the rating plate, not the product page. A range like 100–240 V means you are fine; a single figure means you are not.
- Buy the plug adapter, skip the converter. If your tool needs a converter, take a different tool — why.
- Ask the hotel what is in the room. Cheaper than carrying a dryer on a guess.
- Keep tools in the cabin. Corded tools are unrestricted, but they are the fragile expensive thing in your bag — the rules are here.
- Cool completely before packing. Obvious, and it is the step people skip on a checkout morning — storage.
Price per use, at 5 uses a week over 5 years
| What you pay | Cost per use | Cost per year |
|---|---|---|
| $30 | $0.02 | $6.00 |
| $60 | $0.05 | $12.00 |
| $100 | $0.08 | $20.00 |
| $150 | $0.12 | $30.00 |
| $200 | $0.15 | $40.00 |
| $300 | $0.23 | $60.00 |
| $400 | $0.31 | $80.00 |
| $500 | $0.38 | $100.00 |
5 uses a week for 5 years is 1300 uses. Both figures are stated assumptions, not measurements — halve the life and every cost per use doubles. We publish the ladder rather than a worked example for one specific product because a price we typed into a sentence would be wrong within a week.
What we would do
For most trips: use the hotel dryer, and pack a dual-voltage iron or wand for the finishing. That is the lightest bag and it covers the part a generic dryer genuinely cannot do.
If you travel constantly and your hair needs your own settings, the ghd flight+ is the only conventional dryer here that can come — and the full list of what travels across every category is on the dual-voltage page.
Questions people actually ask
Are hotel hair dryers bad for your hair?
There is no published specification for any of them, so nobody can tell you. What is predictable is what they lack — attachments, a genuinely low speed and a cool shot — which affects the result more than the risk.
Should I bring my own hair dryer when traveling?
Only if your routine needs something a wall unit cannot do: a diffuser, a low speed, or a cool shot. If you are rough-drying before an iron, packing a dryer is wasted weight — pack the iron instead.
Which hair dryer can I take abroad?
In our registry, only the ghd flight+ publishes a dual voltage rating. Every Dyson and Shark is 120 V, both T3 dryers are 125 V, and ghd states that the Helios is not universal voltage.
Why is there no socket in UK hotel bathrooms?
UK wiring practice restricts standard sockets in bathrooms, leaving only low-current shaver sockets, which are not intended for high-power appliances. Plan on drying your hair in the bedroom.