Skip to content
Strand & Steam

Travel & Dual Voltage

The Best Hair Tools for a Cruise in 2026

On a ship you cannot check the outlet before you board, the cabin circuit cares about wattage in a way your bathroom never has, and there is no replacing anything for seven days. That inverts the usual ranking completely.

Updated November 2026 · Sawyer V.

Pack the ghd flight+. It is the only dual-voltage dryer in this entire registry, which settles the one question you cannot answer before you board, and ghd publishes 0.99 lb including the cord and nozzle with a folding handle. Everything else here is a styling tool; the dryer decision has exactly one answer.

ghd flight+ travel hair dryer

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.

Ranked picks with what each is best for and where to buy
#ProductBest forPrice
1
ghd flight+ travel hair dryer

ghd flight+ travel hair dryer

The one dual-voltage dryer in this registry, at a published 0.99 lb including cord and nozzle, with a folding handle.

Anyone who does not trust the cabin dryer, if there is one
$129.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

2
L'ange Le Duo 360° Airflow Styler (Standard)

L'ange Le Duo 360° Airflow Styler (Standard)

36 W and genuine 100 to 240 V in a tool that both straightens and curls, at 0.8 lb with a published 60-minute shut-off.

A cabin circuit, and anyone who wants one tool not two
$49.98 · View on Amazon

$59.97 · 17% off · price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

3
T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron

T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron

11.1 oz without the cord and genuine 100 to 240 V auto world voltage, with nine heat settings.

A packed case where every ounce is already spoken for
$179.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

4
ghd Curve Thin curling wand (0.5 inch barrel)

ghd Curve Thin curling wand (0.5 inch barrel)

Universal voltage with a published cool tip and a built-in safety stand - the two rows a tiny bathroom actually needs.

A cabin bathroom, where there is nowhere to put anything
$209.00 · View on Amazon

$239.00 · 13% off · price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

5
Hot Tools Black Gold 1¼" Digital Salon Curling Iron

Hot Tools Black Gold 1¼" Digital Salon Curling Iron

Universal dual voltage and a 9 ft professional swivel cord on a lifetime limited warranty, at a fraction of the premium wands here.

Anyone who would rather not spend premium money on a trip tool
$66.18 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

6
T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler

T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler

The one dual-voltage air styler in this registry, publishing 1,200 to 1,400 W and three attachments.

Someone who wants a styler rather than an iron, on either outlet
$299.99 · View on Amazon

$349.99 · 14% off · price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

—
Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer

Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer

1,875 W - the highest published draw on this site - attached to no published voltage at all.

We’d skip this

A bathroom at home, on a known 120 V supply
$34.97 · View on Amazon

$39.99 · 13% off · price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

1. The only dryer that can sail

ghd flight+ travel hair dryer

Best for: Anyone who does not trust the cabin dryer, if there is one

The one dual-voltage dryer in this registry, at a published 0.99 lb including cord and nozzle, with a folding handle.

Every other dryer on this site is single voltage. ghd publishes dual voltage on the flight+, and it is the only one — so it is the only dryer here that can be used on a 230 V supply with nothing but a plug adapter. On a ship, where you may find a 110 V outlet, a 220 V outlet, both, or one of each in awkward places, that is the whole decision.

The weight figure is published on a stricter basis than most: 0.99 lb including the cord and the nozzle, where T3 publishes its ounces with the cord excluded. ghd also publishes a folding handle for packing, a stated 149°F airflow temperature — an actual number, which almost no dryer gives you — and variable temperature and speed control.

The honest frame: this is a travel dryer, not a replacement for a full-size one. It is the correct tool for seven days and the wrong tool for a year. Full sheet at the ghd flight+ review, and the field at the best travel hair dryers.

What’s wrong with it

ghd publishes no wattage and no cord length for it, so you cannot work out its draw before you plug it into a cabin circuit and you cannot tell whether it will reach from the outlet to the mirror. A folding travel dryer is also a real compromise on airflow against a full-size body, and ghd publishes nothing that lets you quantify it.

Published specifications — ghd flight+ travel hair dryer

Published specifications for the ghd flight+ travel hair dryer
WattageNot published
Heat settingsVariable temperature control
Speed settingsVariable speed control
Weight0.99 lb, including cord and nozzle
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNozzle; folding handle for packing
Plate / barrelAirflow temperature stated as 149°F
Dual voltageYes — dual voltage
Warranty2-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from ghd — flight+ travel hair dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

$129.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

2. Lowest published draw of anything here

L'ange Le Duo 360° Airflow Styler (Standard)

Best for: A cabin circuit, and anyone who wants one tool not two

36 W and genuine 100 to 240 V in a tool that both straightens and curls, at 0.8 lb with a published 60-minute shut-off.

36 W. That is the published figure, and it is the lowest draw of any styling tool in this registry by a factor of roughly fifty. On a cruise that matters more than it does anywhere else: a cabin is a small number of outlets on a shared circuit, and the difference between plugging in 36 W and plugging in 1,875 W is not academic.

It is also genuinely 100–240 V, 50/60 Hz, which is the full specification rather than the word “dual voltage” on its own — and the 50/60 Hz part is worth having in writing. L’ange publishes 0.8 lb (358 g), an 8.2 ft cord, five settings across 280–430°F and a 60-minute auto shut-off.

The two-in-one design earns its place in a case: titanium floating plates that straighten, plus 360° airflow and cooling vents that set a curl, so one tool covers both looks for the week. Full sheet at the Le Duo review.

What’s wrong with it

L'ange publishes a 1-year warranty, the shortest of any brand here - though on a sailing a warranty is worth nothing anyway, which is the point of this page. It publishes no speed-setting count and no attachment list, and a two-in-one means one failure takes both functions with it, mid-trip, with no replacement available.

Published specifications — L'ange Le Duo 360° Airflow Styler (Standard)

Published specifications for the L'ange Le Duo 360° Airflow Styler (Standard)
Wattage36 W (Standard); 50 W (Grande)
Heat settings5 settings, 280–430°F
Speed settingsNot published
Weight0.8 lb / 358 g (Standard); 0.9 lb / 400 g (Grande)
Cord length8.2 ft (2.5 m)
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNot published
Plate / barrelTitanium floating plates with rounded edges, 3.5 in × 1 in
Dual voltageYes — 100–240 V, 50/60 Hz
Warranty1-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from L'ange — Le Duo 360° Airflow Styler product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$0.43 a year

36 W (Standard); 50 W (Grande) × 65 hours a year = 2.3 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

$49.98 · View on Amazon

$59.97 · 17% off · price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

3. Lightest dual-voltage iron

T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron

Best for: A packed case where every ounce is already spoken for

11.1 oz without the cord and genuine 100 to 240 V auto world voltage, with nine heat settings.

T3 publishes 100–240 V auto world voltage — auto being the useful word, because it switches without a setting you could forget — at 11.1 oz without the cord, which is lighter than every other iron in this registry.

Nine heat settings is the most adjustment of any iron here, which matters on a trip for a reason that is not obvious: sea air, humidity and a different water supply all change how hair behaves, and a nine-step tool can be adapted where a single-preset iron cannot.

CeraGloss ceramic plates at 1 in, a 360-degree swivel cord and a two-year warranty. Full sheet at the SinglePass StyleMax review, and the packing case for an iron at the best flat irons for travel.

What’s wrong with it

The nine settings are a step count, not temperatures - T3 publishes no degrees for any position. T3 also publishes no wattage, so you cannot work out its draw for a cabin circuit, and no cord length, so you cannot tell whether it reaches the only outlet in the room.

Published specifications — T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron

Published specifications for the T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron
WattageNot published
Heat settings9 heat settings
Speed settingsNot applicable
Weight11.1 oz (cord not included)
Cord length360-degree swivel cord — length not published
Noise (dB)Not applicable
AttachmentsNone supplied
Plate / barrelCeraGloss ceramic plates, 1 in
Dual voltageYes — auto world voltage, 100–240 V
Warranty2-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from T3 Micro — SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

T3 does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

$179.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

4. Best gift to a bathroom with no counter

ghd Curve Thin curling wand (0.5 inch barrel)

Best for: A cabin bathroom, where there is nowhere to put anything

Universal voltage with a published cool tip and a built-in safety stand - the two rows a tiny bathroom actually needs.

This pick is here for a reason that has nothing to do with hair. A cruise cabin bathroom is small, the surfaces are small, and there is frequently nowhere to put a 365°F barrel down between sections. ghd publishes a built-in safety stand and a cool tip, which are the two published rows that address exactly that.

It publishes universal voltage, so it works on either outlet standard you find, a 30-second heat-up — useful when you are getting ready around a dinner seating — an 8.8 ft 360-degree swivel cord and an auto sleep mode.

The barrel is 0.5 in, the smallest in this registry, which is the one that holds a curl on shorter hair rather than producing a bend that drops out. Full sheet at the ghd Curve review, and the field at the best travel curling irons.

What’s wrong with it

365 degrees fixed, with no lower setting, on a clipless wand that needs the section held by hand - more technique than most picks here. ghd publishes no weight and no wattage for it, so it can be neither packed by mass nor assessed for draw, and a 0.5 in barrel is the wrong geometry for long loose waves.

Published specifications — ghd Curve Thin curling wand (0.5 inch barrel)

Published specifications for the ghd Curve Thin curling wand (0.5 inch barrel)
WattageNot published
Heat settingsOne fixed temperature — 365°F
Speed settingsNot applicable
WeightNot published
Cord length8.8 ft, 360-degree swivel cord
Noise (dB)Not applicable
AttachmentsCool tip, built-in safety stand
Plate / barrel0.5 in thin barrel, clipless
Dual voltageYes — universal voltage
Warranty2-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from ghd — Curve Thin curling wand product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

$209.00 · View on Amazon

$239.00 · 13% off · price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

5. Most reach for the money, on either voltage

Hot Tools Black Gold 1¼" Digital Salon Curling Iron

Best for: Anyone who would rather not spend premium money on a trip tool

Universal dual voltage and a 9 ft professional swivel cord on a lifetime limited warranty, at a fraction of the premium wands here.

Hot Tools publishes universal dual voltage and a 9 ft professional swivel cord — the longest reach of any curling iron here, which matters when the only accessible outlet is beside the bed rather than the mirror.

The warranty is a lifetime limited warranty, the only lifetime cover from any brand in this registry. It will not help you mid-ocean, for the reasons set out below, but it is the right thing to have on a tool that lives in a suitcase and gets knocked about.

Heat is published as variable up to 455°F, with the barrel available in ¾, 1, 1¼ and 1½ in. Full sheet at the Black Gold curling iron review, and the value argument at the best budget curling irons.

What’s wrong with it

Hot Tools publishes no floor temperature, no step count, no wattage and no weight for it. On a cruise the missing wattage is the awkward one - you cannot work out its draw - and the missing floor means the one published number is the 455 degree ceiling.

Published specifications — Hot Tools Black Gold 1¼" Digital Salon Curling Iron

Published specifications for the Hot Tools Black Gold 1¼" Digital Salon Curling Iron
WattageNot published
Heat settingsVariable, up to 455°F
Speed settingsNot applicable
WeightNot published
Cord length9 ft professional swivel cord
Noise (dB)Not applicable
AttachmentsNone published beyond the iron and its cord
Plate / barrelBlack Gold ceramic-titanium barrel; ¾, 1, 1¼ and 1½ in
Dual voltageYes — universal dual voltage
WarrantyLifetime limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from Hot Tools — Black Gold 1¼" Digital Salon Curling Iron product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

Hot Tools does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

$66.18 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

6. The only air styler that can sail

T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler

Best for: Someone who wants a styler rather than an iron, on either outlet

The one dual-voltage air styler in this registry, publishing 1,200 to 1,400 W and three attachments.

Air stylers are almost all 120 V only — the Dyson Airwrap, both Shark FlexStyles and the Calista EliteAir all are — which rules the whole category out of this page except for this one. T3 publishes dual voltage on the Aire 360, and it is the only one.

It is also T3’s one product that publishes a wattage: 1,200–1,400 W. That is a real figure to plan a cabin circuit around, and it is higher than the Airwrap’s 1,300 W at the top of the range, so it is not a low-draw tool.

Three attachments are published — two extra-long curling attachments, left and right, and an oval AireBrush attachment — on a 9 ft swivel cord, with a two-year warranty. Full sheet at the T3 Aire 360 review, and the field at the best travel multi-stylers.

What’s wrong with it

At up to 1,400 W it is the biggest draw on this page by a wide margin, which is the row a cabin circuit cares about. T3 publishes no weight for it, so it cannot be packed by mass, and an air styler is bulky in a case in a way an iron is not.

Published specifications — T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler

Published specifications for the T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler
Wattage1,200–1,400 W
Heat settings3 heat settings
Speed settings3 speed settings
WeightNot published
Cord length9 ft, 360-degree swivel cord
Noise (dB)Not published
Attachments2 extra-long curling attachments (left and right), oval AireBrush attachment
Plate / barrelKorean CeraGloss ceramic
Dual voltageYes — dual voltage
Warranty2-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from T3 Micro — Aire 360 Dual Voltage product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$16.69 a year

1,200–1,400 W × 65 hours a year = 91.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

$299.99 · View on Amazon

$349.99 · 14% off · price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

The one we'd skip

Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer

Best for: A bathroom at home, on a known 120 V supply

1,875 W - the highest published draw on this site - attached to no published voltage at all.

This is the specific mistake this page exists to prevent. Revlon publishes 1,875 W, which ties the highest published draw anywhere on this site, and publishes no voltage figure at all — the row reads “Not published” on revlonhairtools.com.

Put those two facts together for a ship. You would be taking the largest electrical load available in this category and plugging it into an outlet whose standard you cannot confirm before you board, with no published figure that tells you whether the tool tolerates it. On a 230 V supply, a 120 V-only tool needs a converter rather than an adapter, and the two look alike in the same airport shop — adapter vs converter vs transformer is what goes wrong.

It is a perfectly good cheap dryer at home, and we say so at the SmoothStay review. Revlon also publishes no weight and no cord length, so it cannot be packed by mass either. For a sailing, the one dual-voltage dryer above is the only dryer answer there is.

What’s wrong with it

No published voltage, no published weight, no published cord length, no published attachments and no published warranty - five blank rows out of ten, on the highest published wattage on the site. For a trip where you cannot replace anything, that is the worst possible combination of unknowns.

Published specifications — Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer

Published specifications for the Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer
Wattage1,875 W
Heat settings3 heat settings
Speed settings2 speed settings
WeightNot published
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNot published
Plate / barrel1 in grill, triple-coated ceramic; tourmaline ionic
Dual voltageNot published
WarrantyNot published

Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$22.35 a year

1,875 W × 65 hours a year = 121.9 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

$34.97 · View on Amazon

$39.99 · 13% off · price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

Why a ship is not a country and not a hotel

We have five travel pages already and this is a sixth, which deserves a justification. Four things are true on a cruise that are not true on a normal trip, and each one changes the ranking.

What changes on a ship, against a hotel abroad

What changes on a ship, against a hotel abroad
ConstraintA hotel abroadA cabin on a ship
Outlet standardKnown from the country before you packDepends on the ship and sometimes the deck - frequently both standards, sometimes one
Electrical loadA normal room circuit, rarely a thoughtA small number of outlets on a shared supply, where 1,875 W is a real number
Replacing a failed toolA shop, the same dayNot for the length of the sailing, at any price
Somewhere to set a hot toolA counter, usuallyOften nothing - which makes a published safety stand a specification
WarrantyUseful afterwardsWorth nothing while you are on board

Our reading of the situation, not a cruise line's published policy. See the section below on what only your line can tell you.

The third row is the one that reorders everything. At home, the right answer to a tool that might fail is a long warranty. On a seven-day sailing the right answer is a tool with fewer things to go wrong and a voltage rating that cannot be wrong — which is why the two cheapest, simplest dual-voltage tools here outrank most of the premium shelf.

The voltage list, which is the short part

Twelve of the thirty-seven products in this registry publish dual or universal voltage. That is the entire field for this page, and exactly one of them is a dryer.

Every tool in this registry published as dual or universal voltage

Every tool in this registry published as dual or universal voltage
ToolWhat the maker publishesType
ghd flight+Yes - dual voltageDryer - the only one here
T3 SinglePass StyleMaxYes - auto world voltage, 100-240 VFlat iron
ghd Platinum+Yes - universal voltageFlat iron
L'ange Le DuoYes - 100-240 V, 50/60 HzFlat iron and curler in one
CHI 1" OriginalYes - dual voltageFlat iron
CHI Lava 1"Yes - dual voltageFlat iron - sold direct by CHI, not on Amazon
T3 SinglePass Curl XYes - auto world voltage, 100-240 VCurling iron
T3 CurlWrapYes - auto world voltage, 100-240 VAutomatic curler
ghd Curve ThinYes - universal voltageCurling wand
Hot Tools Black Gold curling ironYes - universal dual voltageCurling iron
T3 Aire 360Yes - dual voltageAir styler - the only one here
Calista Perfecter ProYes - up to 240 V, on an American 2-prong plugHeated round brush

Read from each maker's own product page. Everything else in this registry is published as 120 V or 125 V only, or publishes no voltage figure at all - and a blank voltage row is not permission to assume.

Note the asymmetry, because it is the single most useful fact across every travel page on this site: irons and curlers travel, dryers do not. There is one dual-voltage dryer, one dual-voltage air styler, and nine irons and curlers. The full reasoning is at the hair tools that are genuinely dual voltage, and how to read a rating plate yourself is at how to read a hair tool’s voltage rating.

Wattage, which only matters in a cabin

Nowhere else on this site do we tell you to shop on a low wattage. Here we do, because a cabin is not a bathroom at home and the spread across these tools is enormous.

Published wattage across the dual-voltage field, lowest draw first

Published wattage across the dual-voltage field, lowest draw first
ToolPublished wattageRead as
L'ange Le Duo36 W (Standard), 50 W (Grande)The lowest published draw of any styling tool here
T3 SinglePass Curl X78 WA curler, not a heater of air
T3 CurlWrap77 WSame family, same order of magnitude
T3 Aire 3601,200-1,400 WAn air styler heats moving air - two orders of magnitude more
ghd flight+, ghd Platinum+, ghd Curve ThinNot publishedghd publishes no wattage for anything here
T3 SinglePass StyleMax, CHI, Hot Tools, Calista Perfecter ProNot publishedFour more brands leaving the row blank
For contrast: Revlon SmoothStay, ghd Helios, Hot Tools Pro Artist1,875 W eachThe three highest published draws on this site - none of them dual voltage

Read from each maker's own product page. The pattern is physical rather than brand-driven: anything that heats a moving column of air draws one to two kilowatts, and anything that heats a plate or a barrel draws tens of watts.

If you pack one tool, pack the one that heats metal rather than air. The arithmetic behind these figures, and what they cost to run, is at what your hair tools actually cost to run.

The one row only your cruise line can answer

Cruise lines publish their own prohibited-items lists, those lists differ between lines and change between seasons, and they are the actual gate on what you can bring. We are not going to summarize one we have not read for your sailing, and you should not trust anybody who does.

  • Read your line’s prohibited-items page for your sailing date before you pack anything heated. Clothing irons and steamers are a different category from hair tools on most lines, and the rules are specific.
  • Check whether extension leads and power strips are allowed. Several lines restrict them, and a cabin with two outlets behind the bed is a real problem if you were counting on one.
  • Ask what the cabin provides. Many cabins have a dryer fitted. Whether it is any good is a separate question, and we have written about exactly that at can you rely on the hotel hair dryer — the reasoning carries over.
  • Confirm the outlet standard if you can. If you cannot, buy dual voltage from the list above and the question stops mattering.

Getting to the ship is its own set of rules, and those we have covered: hair tools and carry-on rules and the hair tool packing list.

What we could not compare

Every cruise line’s policy, deliberately, for the reasons above. Cabin circuit ratings, which no line publishes per cabin and which would be the figure you actually want. Whether a specific ship’s outlets are 110 V, 220 V or both — this varies by ship and sometimes by deck, and we have no source that covers it reliably. The quality of a fitted cabin dryer, which nobody publishes and we have not used. And noise, as everywhere on this site: no maker in this registry publishes a decibel figure, which is a genuine gap in a cabin with thin walls. On the tools themselves, two gaps are worth naming: ghd publishes no wattage for anything, which is awkward on the one page where draw is a ranking row, and seven of the twelve dual-voltage tools publish no wattage at all.

Questions people actually ask

What hair dryer can I take on a cruise?

The ghd flight+, if you want one that works on either outlet standard. It is the only dual-voltage dryer in this registry - every other dryer here is published as 120 V or 125 V only, or publishes no voltage figure at all. ghd publishes 0.99 lb including the cord and nozzle, and a folding handle.

Are hair tools allowed on cruise ships?

That is your cruise line's question, not ours. Lines publish their own prohibited-items lists, those lists differ between lines and change between seasons, and clothing irons and steamers are usually treated as a separate category from hair tools. Read your line's page for your sailing date rather than trusting a summary.

Do cruise ship cabins have 110V or 220V outlets?

It varies by ship and sometimes by deck, and we have no source that covers it reliably - some cabins have both standards, some have one. The way to make the question stop mattering is to pack dual voltage: twelve of the thirty-seven products in this registry publish dual or universal voltage, and they are listed on this page.

The genuinely dual-voltage list

Does wattage matter on a cruise ship?

More than it does at home. A cabin is a small number of outlets on a shared supply, and the spread in this registry is enormous: the L'ange Le Duo publishes 36 W while three dryers here publish 1,875 W. Anything that heats a moving column of air draws one to two kilowatts; anything that heats a plate or barrel draws tens of watts.

What is the best curling iron to take on a cruise?

The ghd Curve Thin, for a reason that is not about hair: ghd publishes a cool tip and a built-in safety stand, which are the two rows that matter in a cabin bathroom with nowhere to set a 365 degree barrel down. It also publishes universal voltage and a 30-second heat-up.

The best travel curling irons

Should I rely on the dryer in my cabin?

Ask what the cabin provides before you pack, because many have one fitted. Whether it is adequate is a separate question and the reasoning is the same as for a hotel dryer: the fitted units are built for cost and compliance rather than for drying dense hair quickly, and no figures are published for any of them.

Can you rely on the hotel hair dryer?

Sources

Read next