Skip to content
Strand & Steam

Hair Dryers

ghd flight+: What the Published Specs Say

The one dryer on this site you can actually take abroad. Everything about it is a trade, and ghd is unusually clear about which trades they made.

Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.

ghd publishes dual voltage, 0.99 lb including cord and nozzle, a folding handle, variable temperature and speed control, a stated airflow temperature of 149°F, and a two-year warranty. It publishes no wattage, no cord length and no settings count.

A compact travel hair dryer packed in a bag

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.

The only one

Across the ten dryers and air stylers in our registry, this is the only conventional dryer that publishes a dual voltage rating. Every Dyson is 120 V. Every Shark is 120 V. Both T3 dryers are 125 V. ghd states outright that their own Helios is not universal voltage.

That is not an accident of our sampling — it is what the category publishes. A dryer’s heating element is the highest-power component in this whole product family, and making one work correctly on both 120 V and 230 V supplies is genuinely harder than doing it for an iron. The industry has largely solved that by not solving it.

So if you travel and you cannot rely on a hotel dryer — because you have curls, or fine hair, or a routine that needs a specific setting — this is the shortlist, and it has one item on it. Country-by-country detail is on the UK page and the Europe page.

0.99 lb, and what that figure includes

Read this one carefully, because it is published more honestly than most weights in this category. ghd states 0.99 lb including cord and nozzle.

Almost every other weight on this site excludes the cord. T3 publishes 16.6 oz and 17.1 oz “cord not included”; T3 publishes iron weights the same way. A cord is not weightless — on a nine-foot professional cable it is a meaningful fraction of the total — so a figure that includes it is a stricter number than one that does not.

Published dryer weights, and what each figure covers

Published dryer weights, and what each figure covers
DryerPublished weightIncludes cord?
ghd flight+0.99 lbYes — cord and nozzle
T3 Featherweight StyleMax16.6 oz (1.04 lb)No
T3 AireLuxe17.1 oz (1.07 lb)No
Shark SpeedStyle Pro1.65 lbNot stated
Dyson Supersonic1.8 lbNot stated
ghd HeliosNot published
Revlon SmoothStayNot published

The folding handle is the other packing specification, and it is the one that decides whether a dryer fits a carry-on alongside everything else. No other dryer here publishes one.

149°F is a real number, and it is a low one

ghd states an airflow temperature of 149°F. Very few makers publish an actual air temperature at all — they publish settings counts, or nothing — so this is unusual disclosure and it is worth reading properly.

149°F is 65°C. For comparison, ghd fixes every iron and curling tool they make at 365°F, which is plate temperature against the hair rather than air temperature moving past it. Those two numbers are not measuring the same thing and should not be compared directly.

What the figure does tell you is that this is not a scorching dryer. On fine or colored hair that is reassuring. On thick hair it is a warning: a cooler airflow takes longer, and longer means more total exposure unless the airflow volume compensates — which ghd does not publish.

What you give up

What it costs to run for a year

ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

  • No published wattage, so no running cost and no sense of capacity. Travel dryers are conventionally less powerful than full-size ones, and ghd does not confirm or deny that here.
  • No settings count. “Variable temperature control” and “variable speed control” are words, not numbers. They might mean a continuous dial, which would be excellent, or two positions. From the product page you cannot tell.
  • No cord length. On a dryer used in unfamiliar bathrooms — often the only room in a UK hotel without a normal socket — this is the specification you would most want.
  • A nozzle, and nothing else. ghd publishes the attachment list, and it is short. No diffuser. If you have curls, this dryer will dry them; it will not define them.

That last point is the one to sit with. It is the only dryer here you can take abroad, and it is not a good dryer for curly hair. Those two facts together are an unsolved problem in this category rather than a fault of the product.

Price per use, at 5 uses a week over 5 years

Cost per use at a range of purchase prices
What you payCost per useCost per year
$30$0.02$6.00
$60$0.05$12.00
$100$0.08$20.00
$150$0.12$30.00
$200$0.15$40.00
$300$0.23$60.00
$400$0.31$80.00
$500$0.38$100.00

5 uses a week for 5 years is 1300 uses. Both figures are stated assumptions, not measurements — halve the life and every cost per use doubles. We publish the ladder rather than a worked example for one specific product because a price we typed into a sentence would be wrong within a week.

Who this is for

  • Frequent travelers with straightforward hair. Dual voltage, 0.99 lb with the cord, folding handle. Nothing else does this.
  • Anyone who has been caught out once. A 120 V dryer on a UK supply declared at 230 V is destroyed, not inconvenienced.
  • Small bathrooms and shared spaces. It folds.

Who should skip it

  • Curly hair. Nozzle only, no diffuser published. Take a dual-voltage iron and use the hotel dryer, or accept air-drying — options here.
  • Thick hair in a hurry. No published wattage, and a stated 149°F airflow.
  • Anyone who only travels once a year. A second dryer you use five days a year has a cost per use in dollars, not cents.

What we cannot tell you

We have not used this dryer. We do not know its wattage, its cord length, how many discrete settings “variable” resolves to, or how it compares on airflow to a full-size dryer. Every figure above is from ghd’s own product page.

The tools on this page

Prices come from the live price layer. Where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.

ghd flight+ travel hair dryer

The only dual-voltage dryer in this registry, at a published 0.99 lb with the cord on — the one dryer that genuinely travels.

ghd Helios 1875W advanced professional hair dryer

A premium brand publishing exactly the same 1,875 W as a drugstore Revlon — the clearest evidence on this site that wattage is not what the money buys.

T3 Featherweight StyleMax professional hair dryer

Fifteen heat-and-speed combinations and the lightest published weight of the corded dryers here — but T3 does not publish a wattage figure at all.

Questions people actually ask

Is the ghd flight+ dual voltage?

Yes, ghd publishes dual voltage for it. It is the only conventional hair dryer in our registry that does — every Dyson and Shark is 120 V, both T3 dryers are 125 V, and ghd states their own Helios is not universal voltage.

Every dual-voltage tool we list

How much does the ghd flight+ weigh?

0.99 lb including cord and nozzle. That inclusion matters — most weights in this category exclude the cord, so this is a stricter figure than the ones it is compared against.

Does the ghd flight+ come with a diffuser?

No. ghd publishes a nozzle and a folding handle, and that is the list. If you need a diffuser abroad, this dryer will not provide one.

Why the diffuser matters

Sources

Read next