Skip to content
Strand & Steam

Travel & Dual Voltage

The Best Hair Tools for International Travel in 2026

Seven of twenty-six tools can leave the country. Here is the whole field, and the one job none of them do well.

Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.

Seven tools in our registry publish a rating that works worldwide: the ghd flight+, Platinum+ and Curve Thin, and T3’s SinglePass StyleMax, SinglePass Curl X, CurlWrap and Aire 360. Everything else is 120 V or 125 V, or publishes nothing at all.

A traveler checking a departure board at an airport

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.

Ranked picks with what each is best for and where to buy
#ProductBest forPrice
1

ghd flight+ travel hair dryer

Published dual voltage at 0.99 lb including cord and nozzle, with a folding handle — nothing else in our registry does this.

Needing your own dryer settings abroad
2

T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron

Auto world voltage 100–240 V, nine heat settings, and 11.1 oz — the lightest published iron weight in our registry.

One iron that adapts to unfamiliar everything
3

ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)

Published universal voltage, a fixed 365°F with no dial, a 9 ft cable and a three-year warranty.

Traveling without thinking about temperature
4

T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler

Published dual voltage at 1,200–1,400 W with three heat and three speed settings — the only dual-voltage styler we list.

Shaping abroad, not just drying

Dyson Supersonic hair dryer

120 V only and the heaviest published dryer in our registry at 1.8 lb.

We’d skip this

Not leaving the country

1. The only dryer that travels

ghd flight+ travel hair dryer

Best for: Needing your own dryer settings abroad

Published dual voltage at 0.99 lb including cord and nozzle, with a folding handle — nothing else in our registry does this.

Across ten dryers and air stylers, this is the only conventional dryer with a published dual voltage rating. Every Dyson and Shark is 120 V, both T3 dryers are 125 V, and ghd states plainly that their own Helios is not universal voltage.

0.99 lb is published including cord and nozzle, which is a stricter figure than the cord-excluded weights most makers print. The folding handle is the other packing specification and nobody else publishes one.

ghd also states an airflow temperature of 149°F — unusual disclosure, and a reassuringly low number on fine or colored hair.

What’s wrong with it

The published attachment list is a nozzle and a folding handle. No diffuser, and no published wattage — so on curls, the one dryer you can take is the one that cannot define them.

Published specifications — ghd flight+ travel hair dryer

Published specifications for the ghd flight+ travel hair dryer
WattageNot published
Heat settingsVariable temperature control
Speed settingsVariable speed control
Weight0.99 lb, including cord and nozzle
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNozzle; folding handle for packing
Plate / barrelAirflow temperature stated as 149°F
Dual voltageYes — dual voltage
Warranty2-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from ghd — flight+ travel hair dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

2. Best iron to pack

T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron

Best for: One iron that adapts to unfamiliar everything

Auto world voltage 100–240 V, nine heat settings, and 11.1 oz — the lightest published iron weight in our registry.

“Auto” is the word doing the work: it detects and adapts rather than needing a switch you have to remember to flip. That is the failure mode of older switched tools and the reason so many people still pack a converter they do not need.

Nine heat settings matter more abroad than at home. Different water, different products and different humidity change how your hair behaves, and having somewhere lower to go is worth more than a fixed setting chosen for your normal routine.

11.1 oz without the cord, CeraGloss ceramic plates, two-year warranty.

What’s wrong with it

T3 publishes no wattage and no cord length for it, and 1 inch plates with no wide option means a long session on dense hair in a hotel bathroom.

Published specifications — T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron

Published specifications for the T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron
WattageNot published
Heat settings9 heat settings
Speed settingsNot applicable
Weight11.1 oz (cord not included)
Cord length360-degree swivel cord — length not published
Noise (dB)Not applicable
AttachmentsNone supplied
Plate / barrelCeraGloss ceramic plates, 1 in
Dual voltageYes — auto world voltage, 100–240 V
Warranty2-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from T3 Micro — SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

T3 does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

3. Fewest decisions abroad

ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)

Best for: Traveling without thinking about temperature

Published universal voltage, a fixed 365°F with no dial, a 9 ft cable and a three-year warranty.

The fixed temperature suits travel specifically. Unfamiliar bathroom, bad light, running late — those are exactly the conditions under which people reach for a higher setting, and this iron does not have one.

A 9 ft cable is longer than the distance between a hotel socket and a hotel mirror rather more often than you would hope, and UK bathrooms frequently have no standard socket at all.

Three-year warranty, the longest iron cover in our registry.

What’s wrong with it

ghd publishes no weight for it — the specification a traveler most wants — and a fixed 365°F is not enough for coarse resistant hair.

Published specifications — ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)

Published specifications for the ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)
WattageNot published
Heat settingsOne fixed temperature — 365°F
Speed settingsNot applicable
WeightNot published
Cord length9 ft power cable
Noise (dB)Not applicable
AttachmentsNone supplied
Plate / barrelPrecision-milled floating high-gloss plates, 1 in
Dual voltageYes — universal voltage
Warranty3-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from ghd — Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

4. The only air styler that travels

T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler

Best for: Shaping abroad, not just drying

Published dual voltage at 1,200–1,400 W with three heat and three speed settings — the only dual-voltage styler we list.

If the hotel dryer covers drying, this covers the part it cannot. No Dyson or Shark styler publishes a rating that leaves the country.

Nine published heat-and-speed combinations is genuine control in a bathroom where you do not know what the water has done to your hair, and it is the only T3 product that publishes a wattage.

Two extra-long curling attachments and an oval AireBrush, a 9 ft swivel cord, two-year warranty.

What’s wrong with it

No diffuser in the published set, no published weight, and it is a bulky object to pack for a job a hotel dryer half-does already.

Published specifications — T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler

Published specifications for the T3 Aire 360 dual voltage ceramic air styler
Wattage1,200–1,400 W
Heat settings3 heat settings
Speed settings3 speed settings
WeightNot published
Cord length9 ft, 360-degree swivel cord
Noise (dB)Not published
Attachments2 extra-long curling attachments (left and right), oval AireBrush attachment
Plate / barrelKorean CeraGloss ceramic
Dual voltageYes — dual voltage
Warranty2-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from T3 Micro — Aire 360 Dual Voltage product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$16.69 a year

1,200–1,400 W × 65 hours a year = 91.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

The one we'd skip

Dyson Supersonic hair dryer

Best for: Not leaving the country

120 V only and the heaviest published dryer in our registry at 1.8 lb.

The best-documented dryer we cover, and it should stay home. A plug adapter changes the shape of the pins and does nothing to the electricity.

UK supply is declared at 230 V and may legally reach 253 V under the ESQCR 2002 — more than double what a 120 V tool is built for. The failure is immediate.

1.8 lb is also the heaviest dryer weight here, which is a lot of carry-on for something you cannot plug in.

What’s wrong with it

Single voltage and the heaviest dryer in our registry — the two worst travel specifications available, on an otherwise excellent tool.

Published specifications — Dyson Supersonic hair dryer

Published specifications for the Dyson Supersonic hair dryer
Wattage1,600 W
Heat settings4 heat settings, including a cold shot
Speed settings3 speed settings
Weight1.8 lb
Cord length8.6 ft
Noise (dB)Not published
Attachments3 — styling concentrator, diffuser, wide-tooth comb
Plate / barrelAir-multiplier body; no heated styling surface
Dual voltageNo — 120 V
Warranty2-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from Dyson — Supersonic hair dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$19.07 a year

1,600 W × 65 hours a year = 104.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

The complete field

Twenty-six products in our registry. Seven publish a rating that works worldwide. That is the whole list, and it is worth seeing in one place.

Published voltage across every tool we cover

Published voltage across every tool we cover
ToolPublished voltageTravels?
ghd flight+ dryerDual voltageYes
ghd Platinum+ ironUniversal voltageYes
ghd Curve Thin wandUniversal voltageYes
T3 SinglePass StyleMax ironAuto world voltage, 100–240 VYes
T3 SinglePass Curl XAuto world voltage, 100–240 VYes
T3 CurlWrapAuto world voltage, 100–240 VYes
T3 Aire 360 stylerDual voltageYes
Every Dyson120 VNo
Every Shark120 VNo
T3 Featherweight / AireLuxe dryers125 VNo
ghd Helios dryerStated: not universal voltageNo
T3 AireBrush One-Step125 VNo
ghd Chronos, Chronos Curve Classic, WaveNot publishedUnknown — do not assume
Every RevlonNot publishedUnknown — do not assume

Two patterns worth noticing. Every T3 iron and curling tool travels and publishes that it does. And no dryer except one does, from anybody.

Why dryers are the hard case

Not an accident of our sampling. A dryer’s heating element is the highest-power component in this entire product family, and making one work correctly on both a 120 V and a 230 V supply is genuinely harder than doing it for an iron.

The industry has largely solved that by not solving it: travel dryers exist and are small and simple, and full-size dryers are single voltage. Which leaves a real gap — the one dryer you can take abroad publishes a nozzle and no diffuser, so anyone with curls is choosing between two things that should not be in tension.

The workable answers are on the hotel dryer page: use what is in the room and pack a dual-voltage finishing tool, or plan a heat-free set.

Adapter, not converter

Three different objects get used interchangeably, and only one is relevant if you buy from the list above.

  • A plug adapter changes the shape of the pins and does nothing to the electricity. This is all a 100–240 V tool needs.
  • A converter chops the voltage, usually for short periods, and is generally intended for simple resistive loads rather than tools with control boards.
  • A transformer steps voltage down properly and is heavier and larger than the tool you are trying to pack.

For hair tools we would buy the adapter and a dual-voltage tool, and skip conversion entirely — the reasoning is on the adapter page.

And read the actual rating plate rather than the product page. It is molded into the plug or printed on the handle, it takes ten seconds, and product pages get regionalized and occasionally left wrong.

What else changes on a long trip

  • Heat-up time matters more. A 30-second heat-up is the difference between using a tool and skipping it when you are rushing.
  • A stand or a supplied pouch earns its place. Unfamiliar surfaces and less counter space — the storage argument.
  • Corded is simpler than cordless. Battery tools bring lithium rules; butane irons are limited to one per person in carry-on with no spare cartridges — the FAA position.
  • Humidity will beat your technique. Above roughly 60 to 70 percent relative humidity, hair behaves as a measurably different material — what actually helps.

Price per use, at 5 uses a week over 5 years

Cost per use at a range of purchase prices
What you payCost per useCost per year
$30$0.02$6.00
$60$0.05$12.00
$100$0.08$20.00
$150$0.12$30.00
$200$0.15$40.00
$300$0.23$60.00
$400$0.31$80.00
$500$0.38$100.00

5 uses a week for 5 years is 1300 uses. Both figures are stated assumptions, not measurements — halve the life and every cost per use doubles. We publish the ladder rather than a worked example for one specific product because a price we typed into a sentence would be wrong within a week.

What we would pack

For most trips: the hotel dryer plus one dual-voltage finishing tool. That is the lightest bag and it covers the part a generic wall unit genuinely cannot do.

If you travel constantly and your hair needs your own settings, the ghd flight+ is the only dryer that can come. Country-specific numbers are on the UK page and the Europe page, and what to actually put in the bag is on the packing list.

Questions people actually ask

Which hair tools work internationally?

In our registry, seven: the ghd flight+, Platinum+ and Curve Thin, and T3's SinglePass StyleMax, SinglePass Curl X, CurlWrap and Aire 360. Everything else is 120 V or 125 V, or publishes no rating at all.

Can I take my hair dryer abroad with an adapter?

Only if the rating plate shows a range like 100-240 V. An adapter changes the shape of the pins and nothing else. In our registry only the ghd flight+ publishes a dual voltage rating on a dryer.

Adapter vs converter

Why are so few hair dryers dual voltage?

A dryer's heating element is the highest-power component in this product family, and making one work correctly on both 120 V and 230 V is harder than doing it for an iron. The industry has largely solved that by not solving it.

Sources

Read next