Brands
Calista Tools: Every Temperature, in Ten-Degree Steps
A heated round brush with no fan, a digital screen, and a temperature range you set to the degree.
Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.
Calista publishes an actual temperature for every setting on every tool we checked: 325–395°F in 10°F intervals on the Perfecter Pro, and six stated figures from 85°F to 195°F on the EliteAir. The warranty is 12 months, published on the warranty page rather than the product page.

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.
Numbers instead of settings
Most of this category sells you a count. Three heat settings. Five heat settings. Nine. A count tells you how many choices exist and nothing about what any of them does. Calista publishes the degrees, and on the Perfecter Pro it publishes them in 10°F intervals across a 325–395°F range.
Published temperature disclosure across the brands in this registry
| Brand | What the page states |
|---|---|
| Calista | Every setting in °F; 10°F intervals on the Perfecter Pro |
| L'ange | Every setting in °F, on all three tools |
| ghd | One fixed figure, 365°F |
| CHI | One fixed figure, 392 or 395°F |
| T3 | A setting count, five to nine, without degrees |
| Hot Tools | A ceiling only - "variable, up to 455°F" |
That table is the single most useful thing on this page. Two brands give you a number for every setting, two give you one number and stand behind it, and two give you a count or a ceiling. If you have hair that is fine, colored or recovering from damage, the first four rows are where your shortlist lives.
A heated brush is not a hot air brush
This distinction causes more buyer disappointment than any other in the category, so it is worth stating plainly. A hot air brush — the Revlon One-Step, the T3 AireBrush, the L’ange Le Volume — has a fan. It takes damp hair and dries it into shape in one pass.
A heated brush like the Perfecter Pro has no fan. It is a heated barrel with teeth, used on hair that is already dry, and it smooths and shapes what is there. Used on wet hair it does the thing the bubble-hair literature describes: water trapped in the cortex flashing to steam under direct contact heat Yin et al., Annals of Dermatology.
Both are legitimate tools. They are answers to different questions, and the specification that tells them apart is the speed-settings row: if a tool publishes airflow speeds, it has a fan.
Where the warranty is published matters
Calista covers its appliances for 12 months against defects in material or workmanship. That term is published on the company’s warranty page, not on the individual product pages, which is why our spec blocks for both tools note where the figure came from.
Twelve months is short. Revlon publishes four years on the One-Step Volumizer Plus, ghd publishes three on its irons, and Hot Tools publishes a lifetime limited term. On a tool with no fan and no motor — the two parts that usually fail — a shorter term is less alarming than it would be on a dryer, but it is still the weakest row on the sheet.
Who Calista is for
- Anyone who wants a specific temperature. Eight settings in 10°F steps is the finest control on this site.
- Second-day styling. A heated brush with no fan is exactly the right tool for reviving dry hair. See refreshing second-day hair.
- Travelers, for the brush only. The Perfecter Pro publishes up to 240 V; the EliteAir does not.
- Not dense hair in a hurry. The EliteAir’s 195°F ceiling and 1,200 W will be slow on thick or coily hair. Start at tools for thick hair.
Quick picks
Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Calista Perfecter Pro Heated Round Brush Gen 4 (1 in) 325-395°F in 10°F intervals with a digital screen and a temperature lock, on a heated brush with no fan at all. | Anyone who wants a precise number, not a low-medium-high | |
| — | Calista EliteAir Multi-Style Dryer Gen 2 1,200 W with all six temperatures published and a 195°F ceiling, plus three attachments in the box. We’d skip this | Fine or fragile hair - and not dense hair in a hurry | |
| 3 | Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush A hot air brush that dries and shapes at once, with a published four-year warranty. | A blowout and a dry in one pass |
1. Ten-degree temperature steps
Calista Perfecter Pro Heated Round Brush Gen 4 (1 in)
Best for: Anyone who wants a precise number, not a low-medium-high
325-395°F in 10°F intervals with a digital screen and a temperature lock, on a heated brush with no fan at all.
Eight selectable temperatures on a heated brush is finer control than most flat irons in this registry offer. The digital screen shows the number, and the temperature lock stops it being nudged mid-session — a small feature that matters on a tool you grip and rotate constantly.
The important structural point is that this is not a hot air brush. There is no fan, no airflow and no drying function; it is a heated ceramic barrel with heat-resistant nylon teeth, used on hair that is already dry. That makes it a smoothing and shaping tool rather than a blow-dry replacement, and it is the reason both the noise and speed rows on its spec block read “not applicable.”
Dual voltage up to 240 V on an American two-prong plug, a 6 ft swivel cord, three barrel sizes at 0.75, 1 and 1.5 in, and a heat-safe travel bag plus a cleaning tool in the box.
What’s wrong with it
No published wattage or weight, and the 12-month warranty is stated on the company's warranty page rather than on the product page itself.
Published specifications — Calista Perfecter Pro Heated Round Brush Gen 4 (1 in)
| Wattage | Not published |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 325–395°F in 10°F intervals |
| Speed settings | Not applicable — no fan |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | 6 ft swivel cord |
| Noise (dB) | Not applicable — no fan |
| Attachments | 2 — heat-safe travel bag and glide cleaning tool |
| Plate / barrel | Ion ceramic barrel with heat-resistant nylon teeth; 0.75, 1 and 1.5 in |
| Dual voltage | Yes — up to 240 V, on an American 2-prong plug |
| Warranty | 12-month limited warranty (on Calista's warranty page, not the product page) |
Every figure above is taken from Calista — Perfecter Pro Heated Round Brush Gen 4 product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
Calista does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.
The one we'd skip
Calista EliteAir Multi-Style Dryer Gen 2
Best for: Fine or fragile hair - and not dense hair in a hurry
1,200 W with all six temperatures published and a 195°F ceiling, plus three attachments in the box.
We are flagging this one rather than recommending it, and the reason is the same specification that makes it interesting. This is the only multi-styler in this registry that publishes an actual air temperature at all, and its ceiling is 195°F — genuinely good news for fine or previously damaged hair.
On dense, coarse or coily hair it is likely to be slow. Drying and shaping at 195°F with 1,200 W of power and two speeds is a different proposition from the 1,600 W tools in the same category, and time under airflow is itself a cost — a long session at a low temperature is not automatically gentler than a short one.
Three attachments is a real advantage: a blow-dryer base, an oval brush and two easy-wrap wands, which is a fuller set than most multi-stylers ship. 125 V only, so it stays home.
What’s wrong with it
125 V only, no published weight, and a 195°F ceiling that may simply be too low to finish dense hair in reasonable time.
Published specifications — Calista EliteAir Multi-Style Dryer Gen 2
| Wattage | 1,200 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 6 — low 85/120/175°F and high 85/130/195°F, all published |
| Speed settings | 2 airflow speeds |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | 6 ft swivel cord |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | 3 — blow-dryer base, oval brush and two easy-wrap wands |
| Plate / barrel | Not published |
| Dual voltage | No — 125 V |
| Warranty | 12-month limited warranty (on Calista's warranty page, not the product page) |
Every figure above is taken from Calista — EliteAir Multi-Style Dryer Gen 2 product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$14.31 a year
1,200 W × 65 hours a year = 78.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
3. If you want the airflow as well
Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush
Best for: A blowout and a dry in one pass
A hot air brush that dries and shapes at once, with a published four-year warranty.
This is not a Calista tool. It is here because the most common mistake made when buying a Perfecter Pro is expecting it to dry hair, which it cannot do — there is no fan in it.
If what you actually want is one tool that takes damp hair to a finished blowout, the hot air brush category is the answer, and the Revlon publishes a four-year warranty, the longest term of any brush here.
If you already dry your hair and want to smooth and shape it afterwards with fine temperature control, the Perfecter Pro is the better tool and the Revlon is the wrong category.
What’s wrong with it
Not dual voltage, and a hot air brush gives you low-medium-high rather than a number you choose.
Published specifications — Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush
| Wattage | Not published |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 4 heat settings — low, medium, high, cool |
| Speed settings | Not published |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | Not published |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Detachable brush head |
| Plate / barrel | Ceramic titanium barrel; tourmaline ionic |
| Dual voltage | Not published |
| Warranty | 4-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — One-Step Volumizer Plus product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
Revlon does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.
Questions people actually ask
Does the Calista Perfecter Pro dry hair?
No. It has no fan and no airflow at all - it is a heated ceramic barrel with nylon teeth, used on hair that is already dry. Using it on wet hair is the situation the bubble-hair literature warns about.
Is the Calista Perfecter Pro dual voltage?
Yes, up to 240 V, on an American two-prong plug - so it needs a plug adapter abroad but not a voltage converter. The EliteAir Multi-Style Dryer is 125 V only and does not travel.
What temperature does the Calista Perfecter Pro reach?
325 to 395 degrees Fahrenheit, selectable in 10-degree intervals, shown on a digital screen with a temperature lock. That is eight selectable settings, finer control than most flat irons in this registry offer.
How long is the Calista warranty?
Twelve months from the date of purchase against defects in material or workmanship. It is published on Calista's warranty page rather than on the individual product pages, and it is the shortest term among the brands here alongside L'ange.