Brands
CHI Flat Irons: One Temperature, Eleven Feet of Cord
The longest cord in this registry, the heaviest tool in it, and a temperature dial that does not exist.
Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.
CHI’s classic irons publish a single fixed temperature — 392°F on the Original, 395°F on the Lava — with no adjustment, an 11 ft swivel cord, dual voltage and a two-year limited warranty. Neither page publishes wattage. A fixed preset is a real design position, not an omission.

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.
The case for one temperature
Two brands in this registry refuse to give you a dial: ghd and CHI. The argument is the same in both cases and it is a good one. The most common way people damage hair with a flat iron is not choosing the wrong setting once; it is escalating. The first pass does not smooth, so the dial goes up, and the second pass is hotter than anything the hair needed.
Removing the dial removes that loop. It forces the fix to be technique — thinner sections, genuinely dry hair, slower travel — which is where the fix actually was.
The catch is that a fixed setting has to be fixed at the right number for you, and 392°F is not a number that suits every head of hair. Our temperature-by-hair-type table puts fine and bleached hair well below it.
What CHI publishes, and the one row it doesn’t
CHI - the two classic irons in this registry
| Row | Original 1" | Lava 1" |
|---|---|---|
| Wattage | Not published | Not published |
| Temperature | 392°F (202°C), fixed | 395°F, fixed |
| Weight | 1.4 lb | 2.08 lb |
| Cord length | 11 ft swivel | 11 ft |
| Plates | 1 in ceramic floating | 1 in volcanic lava ceramic floating |
| Dual voltage | Yes | Yes |
| Warranty | 2-year limited | 2-year limited |
Wattage is the blank row, and on a flat iron it matters less than it does on a dryer. An iron draws power in short bursts to hold a plate at temperature, and its annual electricity cost is small regardless. The reason we still note the omission is consistency: a maker that publishes weight to two decimal places and cord length to the foot has the number and has chosen not to print it.
Eleven feet of cord is a real feature
It is the sort of specification that reads as trivia and turns out to matter daily. 11 ft is the longest published cord on this site — two feet longer than the 9 ft cords on the Hot Tools line and the T3 Featherweight, and nearly five feet longer than the 6 ft cords on the Calista tools.
Bathroom sockets are rarely beside the mirror. A cord that reaches means you can stand where the light is, which in practice is the difference between seeing the back section and guessing at it. It also means less tension on the cord itself, and cord strain is the failure mode most warranties exclude.
Why 2.08 lb is worth objecting to
Weight is the specification this site keeps returning to because it is the one you feel. A flat iron is held with the wrist raised, closed repeatedly, and drawn down the length of the hair. The T3 SinglePass StyleMax publishes 11.1 oz — about 0.69 lb. The CHI Lava publishes 2.08 lb. That is three times the mass doing the same job.
For anyone with long or dense hair, where a full straightening session runs to half an hour or more, that difference compounds. See flat irons for long hair for the full weight comparison across the registry.
Who should buy a CHI
Coarse, dense, resistant hair that wants a hot single pass and a cord that reaches, from a brand with dual voltage and a two-year term. That is a real buyer and CHI serves them well.
Fine, bleached or heat-damaged hair should not start here. A fixed 392°F with no adjustment is the wrong tool, and the fixed-preset idea is available 27 degrees lower elsewhere. Start at flat irons for damaged hair.
Quick picks
Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | CHI 1" Original Ceramic Hairstyling Iron (GF1001) One preset at 392°F, 1 in ceramic floating plates, 1.4 lb and the longest cord on this site at 11 ft. | Coarse or resistant hair that wants one repeatable pass | |
| — | CHI Lava 1" Volcanic Ceramic Hairstyling Iron (GF8269) The same fixed-preset idea at 395°F, with volcanic lava ceramic plates and a published 2.08 lb. We’d skip this | Nobody who styles for more than a few minutes at a time | |
| 3 | ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate) The same one-temperature philosophy, fixed 27 degrees lower at 365°F, with a three-year warranty. | Fine, colored or damaged hair that still wants one setting |
1. The single-setting iron
CHI 1" Original Ceramic Hairstyling Iron (GF1001)
Best for: Coarse or resistant hair that wants one repeatable pass
One preset at 392°F, 1 in ceramic floating plates, 1.4 lb and the longest cord on this site at 11 ft.
A fixed temperature is a defensible design. It removes the most common self-inflicted mistake in the category — turning the dial up because the first pass did not work, when the real problem was a section that was too thick or still damp. ghd makes the same argument at a fixed 365°F, and makes it well.
392°F is 27 degrees hotter than ghd’s number. On coarse, dense or resistant hair that difference is the point. On fine, bleached or heat-damaged hair it is the problem, and there is no way to dial it out.
The 11 ft cord is the longest published figure on this site by two feet, and it is genuinely useful: it is the difference between styling at a mirror and styling wherever the socket happens to be. 1.4 lb published is mid-pack for an iron.
What’s wrong with it
No wattage published, and no temperature adjustment at all - if 392°F is wrong for your hair, the tool has no answer.
Published specifications — CHI 1" Original Ceramic Hairstyling Iron (GF1001)
| Wattage | Not published |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | One — a single preset 392°F (202°C) |
| Speed settings | Not applicable |
| Weight | 1.4 lb |
| Cord length | 11 ft swivel cord |
| Noise (dB) | Not applicable |
| Attachments | Not published |
| Plate / barrel | 1 in ceramic floating plates |
| Dual voltage | Yes — dual voltage |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from CHI — 1" Original Ceramic Hairstyling Iron product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
CHI does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.
The one we'd skip
CHI Lava 1" Volcanic Ceramic Hairstyling Iron (GF8269)
Best for: Nobody who styles for more than a few minutes at a time
The same fixed-preset idea at 395°F, with volcanic lava ceramic plates and a published 2.08 lb.
This is the pick we would argue against, on one row. 2.08 lb is the heaviest published weight in this entire registry — heavier than the Dyson Supersonic at 1.8 lb, and that is a dryer you hold at arm’s length rather than a clamp you work through section after section at head height.
Everything else is the Original’s argument repeated: a single preset, this time 395°F, 1 in floating plates, an 11 ft cord, dual voltage, two years. The plate material is described as volcanic lava ceramic, which is a surface claim rather than a measurable specification, and we treat it as such.
If the fixed-preset idea appeals, take the Original instead and save two thirds of a pound in your hand. The difference between 392°F and 395°F is not a difference you will detect.
What’s wrong with it
2.08 lb published, in a category where hand fatigue over a long session is the main complaint.
Published specifications — CHI Lava 1" Volcanic Ceramic Hairstyling Iron (GF8269)
| Wattage | Not published |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | One — a single preset 395°F (202°C) |
| Speed settings | Not applicable |
| Weight | 2.08 lb |
| Cord length | 11 ft cord |
| Noise (dB) | Not applicable |
| Attachments | Not published |
| Plate / barrel | 1 in floating volcanic lava ceramic plates |
| Dual voltage | Yes — dual voltage |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from CHI — Lava 1" Volcanic Ceramic Hairstyling Iron product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
CHI does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.
3. If a fixed preset is right but 392°F is not
ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)
Best for: Fine, colored or damaged hair that still wants one setting
The same one-temperature philosophy, fixed 27 degrees lower at 365°F, with a three-year warranty.
This is not a CHI tool, and it is here because the honest answer to “should I buy a CHI?” often is “you want what CHI is offering, at a different number.” The ghd Platinum+ makes the identical argument — one temperature, no dial, no decisions — and fixes it at 365°F.
365°F sits below the region where the thermal-degradation work starts reporting clear mechanical loss, and it is the reason the fixed-temperature argument reads better from ghd than from CHI for anyone whose hair is fine, colored or previously damaged.
You give up two feet of cord — ghd publishes 9 ft against CHI’s 11 — and you pay considerably more. You gain a three-year warranty, universal voltage and a floor you can defend. Neither brand publishes a wattage on its irons.
What’s wrong with it
Substantially more expensive, with a shorter cord - and still no adjustment if 365°F turns out to be too low for coarse hair.
Published specifications — ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)
| Wattage | Not published |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | One fixed temperature — 365°F |
| Speed settings | Not applicable |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | 9 ft power cable |
| Noise (dB) | Not applicable |
| Attachments | None supplied |
| Plate / barrel | Precision-milled floating high-gloss plates, 1 in |
| Dual voltage | Yes — universal voltage |
| Warranty | 3-year warranty |
Every figure above is taken from ghd — Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.
Questions people actually ask
Do CHI flat irons have temperature settings?
The classic Original and Lava irons do not. Each publishes a single fixed preset - 392 degrees Fahrenheit on the Original, 395 on the Lava - with no adjustment. CHI does sell digital models with adjustable settings, but the irons the brand is best known for are single-temperature.
Is a CHI flat iron good for fine hair?
Not the fixed-preset models. 392 degrees Fahrenheit with no way to turn it down is above where the temperature guidance puts fine, colored or previously damaged hair, and the tool gives you no way to compensate.
Are CHI flat irons dual voltage?
Yes. Both the Original and the Lava publish dual voltage for travel, so they work on 230 V European supply with a plug adapter rather than a converter.
CHI vs ghd - which is better?
They make the same argument at different numbers. Both fix one temperature and remove the dial; ghd fixes it at 365 degrees Fahrenheit with a three-year warranty and a published wattage, CHI at 392 with a two-year warranty, no published wattage and an 11 ft cord.