Skip to content
Strand & Steam

Hair Dryers

The Best Ionic Hair Dryers in 2026

Ionic is the most printed word in this category and one of the least specified. Here is who actually publishes the claim, and what it is worth.

Updated September 2026 · Sawyer V.

Among the dryers we cover, Revlon is the only brand that publishes an ionic claim — tourmaline ionic technology on the SmoothStay. Dyson, Shark, ghd and T3 publish no ionic specification for their dryers at all, which is the finding rather than an omission on our side.

Air moving from a hair dryer nozzle in close-up

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.

Ranked picks with what each is best for and where to buy
#ProductBest forPrice
1

Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer

Ceramic tourmaline ionic technology published outright, on a 1 in triple-coated ceramic grill, at 1,875 W.

Anyone specifically shopping the ionic claim
2

Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush

Ceramic titanium barrel with tourmaline ionic technology, four heat settings including cool, and a four-year warranty.

Getting the claim on the tool you will actually use daily
3

T3 AireBrush Round ionic blow-dry brush

Published as an ionic blow-dry brush at 1,200 W — the lowest mains figure in our registry — with three heat and two speed settings.

Short hair and root lift, with numbers attached

Dyson Supersonic hair dryer

Publishes no ionic claim at all, and is the best-documented dryer in our registry.

We’d skip this

Not the ionic shopper — and possibly the better buy anyway

1. The only dryer here that publishes it

Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer

Best for: Anyone specifically shopping the ionic claim

Ceramic tourmaline ionic technology published outright, on a 1 in triple-coated ceramic grill, at 1,875 W.

If ionic is the specification you are shopping for, this is the dryer in our registry that states it. Revlon publishes ceramic tourmaline ionic technology and a triple-coated ceramic grill infused with coconut oil.

It also publishes the joint highest wattage on this site at 1,875 W — the same figure as the ghd Helios, which costs several times more. On robust hair being rough-dried, that is the whole case and it is a good one.

Three heat settings and two speed settings. About $22.35 a year to run at our standing usage assumption. Full sheet on our review.

What’s wrong with it

Two speed settings is the fewest of any dryer we list, on the joint most powerful element here — and no weight, cord length, attachment list, voltage or warranty is published.

Published specifications — Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer

Published specifications for the Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer
Wattage1,875 W
Heat settings3 heat settings
Speed settings2 speed settings
WeightNot published
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNot published
Plate / barrel1 in grill, triple-coated ceramic; tourmaline ionic
Dual voltageNot published
WarrantyNot published

Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$22.35 a year

1,875 W × 65 hours a year = 121.9 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

2. Best ionic tool at any price

Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush

Best for: Getting the claim on the tool you will actually use daily

Ceramic titanium barrel with tourmaline ionic technology, four heat settings including cool, and a four-year warranty.

Same published ionic vocabulary, on a far more useful tool. This is a hot air brush rather than a dryer, and for most people it replaces the dryer-plus-round-brush routine entirely.

The four-year limited warranty is the longest on any product in our registry — longer than anything Dyson, Shark, ghd or T3 publishes on anything. On the cheapest kind of tool we cover.

A dedicated cool setting among four heat steps, and a detachable head you can actually clean, which is what keeps a brush alive.

What’s wrong with it

Revlon publishes no wattage, weight, cord length, speed count or voltage — five blank rows — so how gently it runs cannot be verified.

Published specifications — Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush

Published specifications for the Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus hair dryer and hot air brush
WattageNot published
Heat settings4 heat settings — low, medium, high, cool
Speed settingsNot published
WeightNot published
Cord lengthNot published
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsDetachable brush head
Plate / barrelCeramic titanium barrel; tourmaline ionic
Dual voltageNot published
Warranty4-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — One-Step Volumizer Plus product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

Revlon does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

3. Ionic with a published wattage

T3 AireBrush Round ionic blow-dry brush

Best for: Short hair and root lift, with numbers attached

Published as an ionic blow-dry brush at 1,200 W — the lowest mains figure in our registry — with three heat and two speed settings.

T3 publishes this as an ionic tool and, unusually for T3, also publishes a wattage. 1,200 W is the lowest mains figure on this site, which is appropriate on a brush worked close to the scalp.

It is the only round-barrel brush we list, which makes it the one that works on short hair and the one that gives genuine root lift.

16 oz without the cord, an 8 ft 360-degree swivel cord, Korean CeraGloss ceramic with SmoothGrip bristles, two-year warranty.

What’s wrong with it

T3 publishes no voltage rating for it, so it cannot be planned around for travel, and the two supplied attachments are not described in enough detail to know which suits which length.

Published specifications — T3 AireBrush Round ionic blow-dry brush

Published specifications for the T3 AireBrush Round ionic blow-dry brush
Wattage1,200 W
Heat settings3 heat settings
Speed settings2 speed settings
Weight16 oz (cord not included)
Cord length8 ft, 360-degree swivel cord
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsQuick-dry attachment and style attachment
Plate / barrelKorean CeraGloss ceramic surface, SmoothGrip bristles
Dual voltageNot published
Warranty2-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from T3 Micro — AireBrush Round product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$14.31 a year

1,200 W × 65 hours a year = 78.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

The one we'd skip

Dyson Supersonic hair dryer

Best for: Not the ionic shopper — and possibly the better buy anyway

Publishes no ionic claim at all, and is the best-documented dryer in our registry.

This is an unusual skip, so let us be precise about what it means. We are not saying do not buy this dryer. We name it the skip on this page because it does not do the thing the page is about: Dyson publishes no ionic specification for the Supersonic.

What Dyson does publish is nine of the ten rows in our standard spec block — 1,600 W, four heat settings with a cold shot, three speeds, 1.8 lb, an 8.6 ft cable, three named attachments, 120 V and a two-year warranty.

Which is the awkward conclusion of this whole page. The dryer that tells you the most about itself makes no ionic claim, and the dryers that make the claim tell you the least. If you were using “ionic” as a proxy for quality, the proxy points the wrong way.

What’s wrong with it

No ionic claim published, the heaviest dryer in our registry at 1.8 lb, 120 V only, and the most expensive conventional dryer here.

Published specifications — Dyson Supersonic hair dryer

Published specifications for the Dyson Supersonic hair dryer
Wattage1,600 W
Heat settings4 heat settings, including a cold shot
Speed settings3 speed settings
Weight1.8 lb
Cord length8.6 ft
Noise (dB)Not published
Attachments3 — styling concentrator, diffuser, wide-tooth comb
Plate / barrelAir-multiplier body; no heated styling surface
Dual voltageNo — 120 V
Warranty2-year limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from Dyson — Supersonic hair dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$19.07 a year

1,600 W × 65 hours a year = 104.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

What the claim actually is

The stated mechanism is that the dryer emits negatively charged ions into the airflow, and that these help break up water droplets and reduce static, producing a smoother, less frizzy result.

That is the claim as the industry words it. We have not tested it, we hold no laboratory, and we are not going to tell you it works or that it does not. What we can do is report who publishes it and in what form, which turns out to be more informative than it sounds.

Who publishes an ionic claim, and who does not

Published ionic claims across our registry

Published ionic claims across our registry
ToolIonic claim published?
Revlon SmoothStay dryerYes — ceramic tourmaline ionic technology
Revlon One-Step Volumizer PlusYes — ceramic titanium barrel with tourmaline ionic
T3 AireBrush RoundYes — published as an ionic blow-dry brush
Dyson SupersonicNot published
Dyson AirwrapNot published
Shark SpeedStyle ProNot published
Shark FlexStyleNot published
ghd HeliosNot published
T3 Featherweight StyleMaxNot published
T3 AireLuxeNot published

Three of twenty-six products, and two of them are Revlon. That is the most useful thing on this page: ionic is not a premium feature in this category, it is a drugstore vocabulary. The most expensive dryers we cover do not use the word.

Why that is, honestly

Two readings are available and we cannot distinguish between them from published data.

  • The premium brands consider it settled. Ion generation is cheap to implement and effectively universal, so stating it differentiates nothing and they compete elsewhere — on airflow, heat regulation and attachments.
  • The premium brands do not consider it load-bearing. They have chosen engineering arguments they can describe more concretely, and left a claim they cannot quantify off the sheet.

Either way the buying consequence is the same: ionic tells you almost nothing about how good a dryer is. It appears on the cheapest tools here and is absent from the most expensive. Our fuller treatment of what the claim is and is not is on the ionic explainer.

What to buy on instead

If what you actually want is the outcome ionic is sold on — less frizz, more smoothness — the specifications that demonstrably bear on it are published and checkable.

  • A concentrator in the box. Directing airflow along the hair rather than across it is what lays the cuticle flat. Only two dryers here publish an attachment list — the table is here.
  • A cool shot. Hair sets as it cools, so the last seconds of each section are what makes smoothness hold.
  • Speed settings. Air speed disturbs a drying pattern more than heat does.
  • Technique, which is free. The method is on the blow-dry guide, and on frizz specifically, the frizzy-hair page.

Price per use, at 5 uses a week over 5 years

Cost per use at a range of purchase prices
What you payCost per useCost per year
$30$0.02$6.00
$60$0.05$12.00
$100$0.08$20.00
$150$0.12$30.00
$200$0.15$40.00
$300$0.23$60.00
$400$0.31$80.00
$500$0.38$100.00

5 uses a week for 5 years is 1300 uses. Both figures are stated assumptions, not measurements — halve the life and every cost per use doubles. We publish the ladder rather than a worked example for one specific product because a price we typed into a sentence would be wrong within a week.

The honest summary

If you came here to buy an ionic dryer, the Revlon SmoothStay is the one in our registry that publishes the claim, and it is also the cheapest and joint most powerful dryer we cover. That is a reasonable buy for robust hair.

If you came here because you thought ionic was a marker of quality, the published evidence says it is not, and the better question is the one on the wattage page: which numbers in this category actually mean anything.

Questions people actually ask

Which hair dryers are ionic?

In our registry, the Revlon SmoothStay publishes ceramic tourmaline ionic technology, the Revlon One-Step Volumizer Plus publishes tourmaline ionic, and the T3 AireBrush Round is published as ionic. Dyson, Shark, ghd and the T3 dryers publish no ionic claim.

Are ionic hair dryers better?

The published evidence does not support treating it as a quality marker. It appears on the cheapest tools we cover and is absent from the most expensive, including the best-documented dryer in our registry.

What the ionic claim is

Is ionic good for frizzy hair?

The claim is aimed at exactly that outcome, but nobody publishes a measurement. The specifications that demonstrably bear on frizz are a concentrator, a cool shot and enough speed settings to turn the airflow down.

Best dryers for frizzy hair

Sources

Read next