Hair Dryers
The Best Hair Dryers for Long, Thick Hair in 2026
Long hair and thick hair have different answers. Hair that is both is the hardest case in this category, and it is the one where premium specifications finally earn their money.
Updated October 2026 · Sawyer V.
Buy the Shark SpeedStyle Pro. Long, dense hair is the only case where three published rows bind simultaneously: you need power to finish in reasonable time, low weight because the session is genuinely long, and cord reach because you move around. Shark publishes 1,750 W — the highest of any premium dryer here — at 1.65 lb with six named attachments including a wide-tooth comb. Skip the lightest dryer here; 0.7 lb cannot carry this hair.

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.
Quick picks
Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer 1,750 W at 1.65 lb with six named attachments - the best published power-to-weight combination here, at a fraction of the flagship price. | A long session on dense hair, with the attachments to stretch it | |
| 2 | ![]() ghd Helios 1875W advanced professional hair dryer 1,875 W with a 9 ft cable - the longest published here - plus variable temperature and power control and a published cool shot. | Drying away from the socket, with a cool shot to finish | |
| 3 | ![]() Hot Tools Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W The same 1,875 W as the premium pick, with both a diffuser and a concentrator published in the box, on lifetime limited cover. | Dense hair on a budget, especially curly or coily density | |
| — | ![]() L'ange Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer The lightest dryer here at 0.7 lb, and 1,300 W with a 6.6 ft cord - three published rows that long, dense hair cannot work with. We’d skip this | Short or fine hair - it is our pick there, not here |
1. Best for long thick hair
Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer
Best for: A long session on dense hair, with the attachments to stretch it
1,750 W at 1.65 lb with six named attachments - the best published power-to-weight combination here, at a fraction of the flagship price.
1,750 W is the highest published wattage of any premium dryer in this registry, and on hair that is both long and dense that figure is not marketing — it is the difference between a twenty-minute session and a forty-minute one. A longer session is more total heat on the fiber, so power here reduces damage rather than adding it.
The attachment list is what makes it the pick rather than just the most powerful. Shark names six: a turbo concentrator, a QuickSmooth brush, a DefrizzFast diffuser, a wide-tooth comb, a touch-up brush and a FrizzFighter finishing tool. That is the longest named attachment list in this registry, and the wide-tooth comb is the one that matters on density — stretching a dense section as it dries is what stops you going back over it.
At 1.65 lb it is not light, but it is lighter than the Dyson Supersonic at 1.8 lb while publishing 150 W more. Shark publishes a 96.1 in (8.0 ft) cord and a two-year limited warranty. Full sheet at the Shark SpeedStyle Pro review.
What’s wrong with it
Shark publishes no heat setting count and no speed setting count at all, so you cannot check the low end against guidance for colored or damaged hair - the one row a premium tool should fill. It is also 120 V only, and 1.65 lb is the second-heaviest published weight among the dryers here.
Published specifications — Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer
| Wattage | 1,750 W (peak 1,750 W) |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | Not published |
| Speed settings | Not published |
| Weight | 1.65 lb |
| Cord length | 96.1 in (8.0 ft) |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Turbo concentrator, QuickSmooth brush, DefrizzFast diffuser, wide-tooth comb, touch-up brush, FrizzFighter finishing tool |
| Plate / barrel | High-velocity airflow; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | No — 120 V |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from SharkNinja — Shark SpeedStyle Pro (HD731) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$20.86 a year
1,750 W (peak 1,750 W) × 65 hours a year = 113.8 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
2. Best cord reach, and the longest cable here
ghd Helios 1875W advanced professional hair dryer
Best for: Drying away from the socket, with a cool shot to finish
1,875 W with a 9 ft cable - the longest published here - plus variable temperature and power control and a published cool shot.
1,875 W is the highest wattage figure published by any dryer in this registry, shared with two cheaper models, and on this hair type it is used rather than wasted.
The 9 ft cable is the row that earns it a place here specifically. Long, dense hair is dried in a lot of sections and you move — to the mirror, to the side, to reach the back — and a cable that runs out is a cable under tension at the handle, which is the failure most warranties exclude. 9 ft is the longest published cord on any dryer here.
ghd publishes variable temperature and power control plus a cool shot, which is the finishing step that sets a smoothed cuticle flat as the section cools. On a forty-minute session that matters more than on a ten-minute one. Two-year consumer warranty. Sheet at the ghd Helios review.
What’s wrong with it
ghd publishes no weight at all, which on the one hair type where session length is measured in tens of minutes is the worst row to leave blank. It states variable control without a position count, so it cannot be compared step for step, and it is 120 V only - ghd says plainly it is not universal voltage.
Published specifications — ghd Helios 1875W advanced professional hair dryer
| Wattage | 1,875 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | Variable temperature control, including a cool shot |
| Speed settings | Variable power control |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | 9 ft power cable |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Not published |
| Plate / barrel | Aeroprecis airflow; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | No — ghd states it is not universal voltage |
| Warranty | 2-year consumer warranty (1-year professional) |
Every figure above is taken from ghd — Helios 1875W professional hair dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$22.35 a year
1,875 W × 65 hours a year = 121.9 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
3. Best value for this hair, and the attachments are in the box
Hot Tools Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W
Best for: Dense hair on a budget, especially curly or coily density
The same 1,875 W as the premium pick, with both a diffuser and a concentrator published in the box, on lifetime limited cover.
This is the honest answer to the question this site exists to ask. Hot Tools publishes exactly the same 1,875 W as the ghd Helios, at a fraction of the price, and it publishes more about what is in the box than ghd does.
Both a diffuser and a concentrator are stated. On long, dense hair that is the useful pairing: the concentrator for smoothing in sections, the diffuser if the density comes with curl. Two dryers in this registry publish no attachment list at all, so having both named is worth more than it sounds — diffuser vs concentrator covers which one does what.
A tourmaline ceramic grill and lifetime limited cover complete it. At 1,875 W the running cost is about $22.35 a year, taking 65 hours of use and the U.S. average residential rate of 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour — identical to the ghd, because the figure is identical. Sheet at the Hot Tools Pro Artist review.
What’s wrong with it
Hot Tools publishes no weight and no voltage, so on the hair type where weight matters most you cannot check what you will be holding, and it cannot be packed. It also publishes no heat or speed setting count, so the low end cannot be verified for processed hair.
Published specifications — Hot Tools Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W
| Wattage | 1,875 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 3 heat settings |
| Speed settings | 2 speeds, with a cool shot |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | 9 ft professional cord |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | 2 — curl-defining diffuser and precision concentrator |
| Plate / barrel | Tourmaline ceramic grill; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | Not published |
| Warranty | Lifetime limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from Hot Tools — Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$22.35 a year
1,875 W × 65 hours a year = 121.9 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
The one we'd skip
L'ange Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer
Best for: Short or fine hair - it is our pick there, not here
The lightest dryer here at 0.7 lb, and 1,300 W with a 6.6 ft cord - three published rows that long, dense hair cannot work with.
Nothing here is a criticism of the Axia. It publishes a 140–230°F range — one of only two actual temperature figures in this whole category — four settings, 0.7 lb and a magnetic concentrator nozzle, and it is our pick on short hair and a strong candidate on fine hair. It is the match to this hair type that fails, on three rows at once.
1,300 W is the lowest mains figure in this registry apart from the Airwrap. On a dense head that converts directly into a longer session, and a longer session is more cumulative heat — repeated thermal cycling measurably degrades the fiber’s mechanical properties Evans and Park, Journal of Cosmetic Science. The low-power choice that protects fine hair costs dense hair more, not less.
6.6 ft is the shortest published cord here, which fights a hair type dried in many sections with movement between them. And 0.7 lb, the row it wins outright, is the row that matters least at this length — a light body helps most in a ten-minute session, and this is not one.
It is also 125 V only with a one-year warranty, the shortest cover of any dryer here. Sheet at the L’ange Axia review.
What’s wrong with it
1,300 W on the densest hair type, the shortest published cord here at 6.6 ft, 125 V only, and a one-year warranty. Its published strength - 0.7 lb - is the specification that matters least at this length.
Published specifications — L'ange Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer
| Wattage | 1,300 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 4 — cool shot, low, medium, high (140–230°F published) |
| Speed settings | 2 speeds |
| Weight | 0.7 lb (317.5 g) without the cord |
| Cord length | 6.6 ft (2 m) |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | 2 — magnetic concentrator nozzle and magnetic wall mount |
| Plate / barrel | HaloRing body; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | No — 125 V, 50/60 Hz |
| Warranty | 1-year warranty |
Every figure above is taken from L'ange — Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$15.50 a year
1,300 W × 65 hours a year = 84.5 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
Why long and thick is not long plus thick
This site has a page for length and a page for density, and they give different advice. Hair that is both does not simply inherit the overlap: one specification flips outright.
How much each published row matters, by hair type
| Published row | Long hair | Thick hair | Long AND thick |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wattage | Matters - session length | Matters most | Matters most, and it is the row to buy on |
| Weight | Matters most - felt over 20+ min | Secondary | Matters, but it loses to wattage - this is the flip |
| Cord length | Matters - you move | Secondary | Matters - more sections means more movement |
| Attachments | Concentrator useful | Comb or diffuser decides it | Both. A stretch attachment plus a concentrator |
| Cool shot | Sets the finish | Secondary | Matters - a long session needs a set finish |
| Heat settings | Matters | Matters | Matters, and three of four picks here leave it blank |
Our reading of the published rows, not a manufacturer claim.
The weight row is the flip and it is the reason this page exists. On long hair, weight is usually the deciding specification — see the best hair dryers for long hair, where a light body wins. Add density and the session gets long enough that finishing sooner beats holding something lighter for longer. A 0.7 lb dryer you hold for forty minutes is worse than a 1.65 lb dryer you hold for twenty.
For hair that is dense but not long, the density-first ranking is at the best hair dryers for thick hair.
What power actually buys on this hair
Time, and therefore less total heat. That is the whole argument and it is worth stating carefully, because elsewhere on this site we spend a lot of words explaining that wattage is a poor way to choose a dryer.
Both things are true. Wattage is a poor differentiator — the Revlon SmoothStay and the ghd Helios publish exactly the same 1,875 W at opposite ends of the price range, which is the clearest illustration on the site that the money buys something else. See what wattage actually tells you. But wattage is a real constraint, and on long dense hair it is the constraint that binds first. A 1,300 W dryer and an 1,875 W dryer do not take the same time on this hair.
Published wattage across this registry's dryers
| Dryer | Published wattage | Published weight |
|---|---|---|
| ghd Helios | 1,875 W | Not published |
| Hot Tools Pro Artist | 1,875 W | Not published |
| Revlon SmoothStay | 1,875 W | Not published |
| Shark SpeedStyle Pro | 1,750 W (peak) | 1.65 lb |
| Dyson Supersonic | 1,600 W | 1.8 lb |
| L'ange Axia | 1,300 W | 0.7 lb |
| T3 AireLuxe | Not published | 17.1 oz |
| T3 Featherweight StyleMax | Not published | 16.6 oz |
| ghd flight+ | Not published | 0.99 lb (incl. cord and nozzle) |
Quoted from each maker's own product page. Only one dryer here publishes both rows.
That last note is the honest finding of this page. Of nine dryers, the Shark SpeedStyle Pro is the only one whose maker publishes both the wattage and the weight — the two rows this hair type needs to weigh against each other. That is most of why it wins, and it is a disclosure result rather than a performance result.
The technique that matters more than the dryer
On this hair type, two free changes beat any upgrade.
- Rough-dry to 80 percent with no attachment first. Dense hair holds a lot of water and precision work on hair that wet is wasted. Fingers only, airflow pointed down the length.
- Section far smaller than feels efficient. This is the single biggest time saver on dense hair, counter-intuitively: a section the air cannot reach the middle of has to be dried twice. How to section properly has the sizes.
Both also reduce total heat exposure, which matters because this hair type takes the longest and the damage evidence is cumulative. The full method is at how to blow-dry hair straight and how to blow-dry without frizz, and how long it should realistically take at drying time.
If the density comes with curl or coil
Then the attachment matters more than the wattage and this is the wrong page to stop on. A diffuser preserves pattern where a concentrator destroys it, and on coily hair the stretch question comes before everything.
- Hair dryers for curly hair and hair dryers for 4C and coily hair.
- Which dryers publish a diffuser in the box — and two here publish no attachment list at all.
- The best hair dryers for a silk press, where stretching dense textured hair properly beats a hotter iron.
What we could not compare
Weight on three of the four picks — ghd and Hot Tools publish none at all, which on the hair type where session length is longest is the row we would most like. Heat and speed setting counts on three of four: only the L’ange Axia publishes a countable number, so the low end cannot be verified on the dryers we recommend. Drying time, on all nine dryers in this registry: nobody publishes it, there is no standard test, and we are not going to estimate it. And noise, as everywhere on this site — not one maker publishes a decibel figure, which on a forty-minute session is the omission that affects comfort most.
Questions people actually ask
What is the best hair dryer for long thick hair?
The Shark SpeedStyle Pro, on published specifications. It states 1,750 W — the highest of any premium dryer here — at 1.65 lb with six named attachments including a wide-tooth comb, and it is the only dryer in this registry whose maker publishes both the wattage and the weight.
Does wattage matter for thick hair?
On long dense hair, yes — it is the constraint that binds first, because a 1,300 W dryer and an 1,875 W dryer do not take the same time and a longer session means more total heat. Wattage is still a poor way to tell two dryers apart: three dryers here publish the same 1,875 W at opposite ends of the price range.
Is a lightweight hair dryer better for long hair?
For long hair, usually yes. For hair that is long and thick, no — this is where the advice flips. The session gets long enough that finishing sooner beats holding something lighter for longer, so a 0.7 lb dryer held for forty minutes is worse than a 1.65 lb dryer held for twenty.
Why is the L'ange Axia the skip on this page when you recommend it elsewhere?
Because the mismatch is to the hair type, not the tool. Three published rows fail together here: 1,300 W is the lowest mains figure in this registry, 6.6 ft is the shortest cord, and its one winning row — 0.7 lb — is the specification that matters least at this length. On short or fine hair it is our pick.
How long should it take to dry long thick hair?
No maker publishes a drying time and there is no standard test for it, so we will not estimate one. What the published data does support is that wattage and section size are the two things that change yours most.
What cord length do I need for long thick hair?
Longer than you would think, because this hair type is dried in many sections with movement between them, and a cable under tension at the handle is the failure most warranties exclude. The ghd Helios publishes 9 ft, the longest here; the L'ange Axia publishes 6.6 ft, the shortest.
Sources
- SharkNinja — Shark SpeedStyle Pro (HD731) product page
- ghd — Helios 1875W professional hair dryer product page
- Hot Tools — Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W product page
- L'ange — Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer product page
- Evans and Park - thermal cycling and mechanical properties
- U.S. Energy Information Administration — Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 (average residential price, June 2026)


