Shop by Hair Type
The Best Hair Tools for Locs in 2026
Most of what this site covers is useless on locs, because every one of those tools needs to pass through the hair. What is left is a drying problem, and it is decided by airflow and by how long you can hold the thing up.
Updated November 2026 · Sawyer V.
Buy the Hot Tools Pro Artist 1875W. On locs the only job a handheld tool can do is move air, for a long time, without you putting it down, so the rows that decide it are published wattage and published warranty. Hot Tools publishes 1,875 W — tying the highest figure on this site — a cool shot, a 9 ft cord and a lifetime limited warranty.

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.
The tool this job actually wants, and why it is not here
We should say this before the picks are taken as a complete answer: for drying locs, the tool the job wants is a hooded or bonnet dryer, and there is not one in this registry. Nobody in the nine brands we cover publishes one, so there is nothing here we could source figures from, and this site does not publish specifications read off a retailer listing.
The reason a hood suits locs is mechanical rather than mystical. A hood surrounds the whole head with moving warm air for as long as you leave it on, with your arms down and no single section receiving concentrated airflow. A handheld dryer does the opposite: high-velocity air at one spot, held up by you, for as long as your shoulder lasts. The comparison, with what each one is actually doing, is at blow dryer vs hooded dryer.
So what follows is the best handheld answer, ranked for the handheld constraints. If you dry locs weekly and have the space, a hood is worth investigating outside this site’s coverage.
Drying time is the whole problem
A loc is a dense matted column rather than a bundle of separate strands, so water sits in its interior and leaves slowly. That is our reading of why the session is long, not a manufacturer claim — and it points at exactly three published rows: how much air the tool moves, how long you can hold it, and whether you can keep the air moving with the heat backed off.
The three rows that decide a loc dry, across every dryer in this registry
| Dryer | Published wattage | Published weight |
|---|---|---|
| Revlon SmoothStay | 1,875 W | Not published |
| ghd Helios | 1,875 W | Not published |
| Hot Tools Pro Artist 1875W | 1,875 W | Not published |
| Shark SpeedStyle Pro | 1,750 W (peak 1,750 W) | 1.65 lb |
| Dyson Supersonic | 1,600 W | 1.8 lb |
| L'ange Axia HaloRing | 1,300 W | 0.7 lb (317.5 g), no cord |
| T3 Featherweight StyleMax | Not published | 16.6 oz (cord not included) |
| T3 AireLuxe | Not published | 17.1 oz (cord not included) |
| ghd flight+ | Not published | 0.99 lb, including cord and nozzle |
Read from each maker's own product page. Only two dryers in this registry publish both figures - the Shark SpeedStyle Pro and the Dyson Supersonic - and the three that tie for the highest wattage publish no weight at all.
That table is the honest state of the category: the three most powerful dryers here cannot be weighed, and the lightest one is the least powerful. There is no tool that wins both rows, which is why this page has a power pick and a weight pick rather than one answer. The cool shot is the tiebreaker — every dryer above publishes one except where the heat-setting row itself is blank.
What locs rule out, and why
Most of this site does not apply to you, and it is worth being specific about which parts, because the marketing will not be.
- Every brush and comb attachment. A wide-tooth comb attachment exists to stretch a section of loose coils while it dries. Locs are already stretched and cannot be combed through, so the attachment people most often buy for coily hair does nothing here. That applies to the Dyson comb, the Shark lift-and-stretch comb and every detangling brush on the detangler page.
- Every barrel. Curling irons, wands and air stylers all need loose hair wrapped around something. See the skip above.
- Diffusers, mostly. A diffuser disperses airflow so a loose curl sets in its own shape rather than being blown out of it. A loc has a fixed shape already. It is not harmful, it is just not doing the thing it was designed for.
- Flat irons, on the locs themselves. Plates press a loose section flat. There is a separate question about pressing loose new growth at the root, which is real — flat irons for 4C and coily hair is the page for that, and the temperature evidence is at flat iron temperature by hair type.
What is left is a dryer, a cool shot, and patience. That is a short list, and a site that pretended otherwise would be selling you attachments.
If you are at a different stage
- Starter locs. The sections are small and dry faster, so the cheapest high-wattage dryer on this page does the job — the argument for spending more arrives with length and density, not before.
- Mature or long locs. This is where weight stops being a preference. Read the Shark and L’ange picks above against each other; they are the only two dryers here that publish a weight alongside real airflow.
- You also have loose hair, or you are growing locs out. Two different jobs on one head. the best hair dryers for 4C and coily hair covers the loose side, where the stretching attachments do matter.
- You press your loose roots or do a silk press on loose hair. the best dryers for a silk press and can heat-damaged 4C hair be repaired.
- You travel with your tools. One dryer in this registry is published as dual voltage and it is none of the picks above — the genuinely dual-voltage list.
What we could not compare
Drying time itself, which is the only figure anyone reading this page actually wants. No maker in this registry publishes a drying-time measurement for any hair type, there is no standard test they could publish it against, and we have tested nothing — so wattage and published weight are the closest proxies available and we are using them as proxies rather than pretending they are the answer. The reasons are set out at how long should it take to blow-dry your hair. We also cannot rank airflow in cubic feet per minute or miles per hour, because the makers who state an airflow figure state it in different units with no test method attached. Nothing here addresses loc maintenance, retwisting, product build-up or scalp care: those are not tool questions and we hold no credential to answer them. And noise, as everywhere on this site — not one maker publishes a decibel figure, which is a real gap on a tool you run for forty minutes.
Quick picks
Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Hot Tools Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W 1,875 W with a cool shot and a 9 ft cord, on the only dryer here that never needs replacing under warranty. | Mature locs that take forty minutes or more to dry | |
| 2 | ![]() ghd Helios 1875W advanced professional hair dryer 1,875 W with variable temperature and variable power control rather than fixed steps, on a 9 ft cable. | Someone who wants to dial heat down rather than step it down | |
| 3 | ![]() Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer 1,750 W at a published 1.65 lb - the only dryer here that publishes both a high wattage and a weight. | A long dry where arm fatigue is the limit | |
| 4 | ![]() L'ange Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer 0.7 lb without the cord and a published 140 to 230 degree range - the only dryer here whose temperatures you can look up. | Long or dense locs, and anyone with a wrist or shoulder issue | |
| 5 | ![]() Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer The highest published wattage on this site at the lowest price here - and the thinnest spec sheet to go with it. | Starter locs, or a second dryer kept for wash day | |
| — | ![]() Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long) Its entire mechanism needs loose hair to wrap around a barrel, which is the one thing a loc cannot do. We’d skip this | Damp, loose, longer hair that can wrap around a barrel |
1. Best for a long loc dry
Hot Tools Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W
Best for: Mature locs that take forty minutes or more to dry
1,875 W with a cool shot and a 9 ft cord, on the only dryer here that never needs replacing under warranty.
Two published rows decide this. The first is 1,875 W, which ties the highest published draw anywhere on this site — the ghd Helios and the Revlon SmoothStay state the same figure. Drying locs is the longest single-session job in this whole category, so the figure that shortens the session is the one that matters most.
The second is the lifetime limited warranty, which is the only lifetime cover from any brand in this registry. A dryer used for forty-minute runs on a regular schedule is doing far more duty than the same dryer used for an eight-minute blow-dry, and published cover is the only protection against that there is.
Hot Tools also publishes three heat settings, two speeds with a cool shot, a 9 ft professional cord and two attachments — a curl-defining diffuser and a precision concentrator. The cool shot is the useful one here: it lets you keep air moving through a loc without adding heat to a strand you cannot condition the way loose hair can be conditioned. Full sheet at the Pro Artist 1875W review.
What’s wrong with it
Hot Tools publishes no weight at all, which is the second most important row on this page - a forty-minute dry is decided by what your arm can hold. It publishes no voltage either, so it cannot be packed for a 230 V country on the strength of its own page, and no decibel figure, so it cannot be assessed for a shared house.
Published specifications — Hot Tools Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W
| Wattage | 1,875 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 3 heat settings |
| Speed settings | 2 speeds, with a cool shot |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | 9 ft professional cord |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | 2 — curl-defining diffuser and precision concentrator |
| Plate / barrel | Tourmaline ceramic grill; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | Not published |
| Warranty | Lifetime limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from Hot Tools — Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$22.35 a year
1,875 W × 65 hours a year = 121.9 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
2. Best continuous control for a long session
ghd Helios 1875W advanced professional hair dryer
Best for: Someone who wants to dial heat down rather than step it down
1,875 W with variable temperature and variable power control rather than fixed steps, on a 9 ft cable.
The same 1,875 W as the top pick, with a different control philosophy. ghd publishes variable temperature control including a cool shot and variable power control — continuous dials rather than three positions. On a long dry that is genuinely useful: you can run high airflow with the heat backed well off, which is the correct combination for locs and awkward to achieve on a three-step tool.
A 9 ft power cable and Aeroprecis airflow. The honest comparison is the one this whole site keeps making: a premium brand publishing exactly the same wattage as a drugstore Revlon is the clearest evidence available that wattage is not what the extra money buys.
Worth knowing before you spend: ghd publishes a 2-year consumer warranty and a 1-year professional warranty on this dryer. Full sheet at the ghd Helios review.
What’s wrong with it
ghd publishes no weight, no attachment list and no decibel figure for it - three blank rows, and weight is the one this page cares about most. ghd also states plainly that it is not universal voltage, and the professional warranty is one year against the top pick's lifetime cover at a fraction of the price.
Published specifications — ghd Helios 1875W advanced professional hair dryer
| Wattage | 1,875 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | Variable temperature control, including a cool shot |
| Speed settings | Variable power control |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | 9 ft power cable |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Not published |
| Plate / barrel | Aeroprecis airflow; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | No — ghd states it is not universal voltage |
| Warranty | 2-year consumer warranty (1-year professional) |
Every figure above is taken from ghd — Helios 1875W professional hair dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$22.35 a year
1,875 W × 65 hours a year = 121.9 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
3. Best published weight-to-power ratio
Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer
Best for: A long dry where arm fatigue is the limit
1,750 W at a published 1.65 lb - the only dryer here that publishes both a high wattage and a weight.
This is the pick for the reader whose actual problem is their shoulder. Shark publishes 1,750 W and 1.65 lb, and it is the only high-wattage dryer in this registry that publishes both numbers — Hot Tools, ghd and Revlon all state a wattage and leave the weight blank, which makes them impossible to compare on the row that decides a long session.
A 96.1 in (8.0 ft) cord and a two-year limited warranty alongside it. Shark’s own framing is high-velocity airflow rather than a heated styling surface, which is the right architecture for this job.
One caution, because it is the thing people buy this dryer for. Shark names a lift-and-stretch wide-tooth comb and a DefrizzFast diffuser in its marketing, and when we read the HD731 page on 2026-10-17 both were listed as sold separately. Neither is much use on locs anyway — see the section below — but do not pay the premium expecting them in the box. Full sheet at the SpeedStyle Pro review.
What’s wrong with it
Shark publishes no heat-setting count and no speed-setting count for it, which on a tool you want to run cool and fast is exactly the pair of rows you would check. Two of its named attachments were listed as sold separately when we last read the page, and there is no decibel figure.
Published specifications — Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer
| Wattage | 1,750 W (peak 1,750 W) |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | Not published |
| Speed settings | Not published |
| Weight | 1.65 lb |
| Cord length | 96.1 in (8.0 ft) |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Turbo concentrator, QuickSmooth brush, DefrizzFast diffuser, wide-tooth comb, touch-up brush, FrizzFighter finishing tool |
| Plate / barrel | High-velocity airflow; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | No — 120 V |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from SharkNinja — Shark SpeedStyle Pro (HD731) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$20.86 a year
1,750 W (peak 1,750 W) × 65 hours a year = 113.8 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
4. Lightest dryer here, by a clear margin
L'ange Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer
Best for: Long or dense locs, and anyone with a wrist or shoulder issue
0.7 lb without the cord and a published 140 to 230 degree range - the only dryer here whose temperatures you can look up.
Weight is the row nobody shops a dryer on and the row that decides a loc dry, because the session is measured in tens of minutes with your arm above your head. L’ange publishes 0.7 lb (317.5 g) without the cord, which makes this the lightest dryer in the registry — less than half the published weight of the Dyson Supersonic.
The temperature range is the other reason it is here. L’ange publishes four settings across 140–230°F with a cool shot, and it is the only dryer on this site that publishes degrees at all rather than “low, medium, high”. On locs that is directly useful: you want a known low temperature with the air moving, and this is the only tool here that lets you verify what you are applying.
1,300 W, two speeds, a 6.6 ft (2 m) cord, and two accessories L’ange publishes — a magnetic concentrator nozzle and a magnetic wall mount, which is a genuinely practical thing on a long session. Full sheet at the Axia HaloRing review.
What’s wrong with it
1,300 W is the lowest published figure of any full-size dryer here, so the trade for the light weight is a longer session - which is the exact thing this page is trying to shorten. The cord is 6.6 ft against 9 ft on the top picks, it is 125 V only, and L'ange publishes a 1-year warranty, the shortest in this registry.
Published specifications — L'ange Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer
| Wattage | 1,300 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 4 — cool shot, low, medium, high (140–230°F published) |
| Speed settings | 2 speeds |
| Weight | 0.7 lb (317.5 g) without the cord |
| Cord length | 6.6 ft (2 m) |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | 2 — magnetic concentrator nozzle and magnetic wall mount |
| Plate / barrel | HaloRing body; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | No — 125 V, 50/60 Hz |
| Warranty | 1-year warranty |
Every figure above is taken from L'ange — Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$15.50 a year
1,300 W × 65 hours a year = 84.5 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
5. Most airflow per dollar
Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer
Best for: Starter locs, or a second dryer kept for wash day
The highest published wattage on this site at the lowest price here - and the thinnest spec sheet to go with it.
Revlon publishes 1,875 W, which ties the highest published draw on this entire site, on the cheapest dryer in the registry by a wide margin. If the only thing you need is air moving for a long time and you do not want to spend, that is the whole argument and it is a sound one.
It publishes three heat settings, two speed settings, and a 1 in triple-coated ceramic grill with a tourmaline ionic claim. That claim is worth very little on locs specifically — ionic output is aimed at surface frizz on loose hair, and a loc does not frizz the way a loose strand does.
The reason it is fifth rather than first is everything Revlon does not say. Full sheet at the SmoothStay review, and the cheap-shelf argument generally at the best budget hair dryers.
What’s wrong with it
Revlon publishes no weight, no cord length, no voltage, no attachment list and no warranty for it. That is five blank rows out of ten, on the tool you will hold up longest - so you cannot know what you are lifting, how far it reaches or what happens when it fails.
Published specifications — Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer
| Wattage | 1,875 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 3 heat settings |
| Speed settings | 2 speed settings |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | Not published |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Not published |
| Plate / barrel | 1 in grill, triple-coated ceramic; tourmaline ionic |
| Dual voltage | Not published |
| Warranty | Not published |
Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$22.35 a year
1,875 W × 65 hours a year = 121.9 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
The one we'd skip
Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)
Best for: Damp, loose, longer hair that can wrap around a barrel
Its entire mechanism needs loose hair to wrap around a barrel, which is the one thing a loc cannot do.
This is the clearest skip in this round, and it is not a criticism of the tool. The Airwrap works by drawing hair onto a barrel with curved airflow and setting it there. That mechanism requires a section of loose hair that can wrap. A loc is a single matted column; there is nothing to draw on.
Dyson publishes the attachment set plainly — curling barrels, smoothing brushes, a round volumizing brush and a drying nozzle — and every item on that list except the nozzle is a pass-through-the-hair tool. On locs you would be buying a 1,300 W dryer with a nozzle, at several times the price of a dryer.
It also needs damp hair, is 120 V only, and the Complete Long barrels are sized for length. If someone is about to buy this for locs, the honest redirect is the top pick on this page, or the full by-hair-type verdict.
What’s wrong with it
Every attachment Dyson publishes except the drying nozzle needs to pass through loose hair, which rules out the mechanism on locs entirely. It is also the most expensive tool in this registry, at the lowest published wattage of any mains tool in it - the exact opposite of what this page ranks for.
Published specifications — Dyson Airwrap multi-styler (Complete Long)
| Wattage | 1,300 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 3 heat settings |
| Speed settings | 3 speed settings |
| Weight | 1.4 lb |
| Cord length | 8.5 ft |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Curling barrels, smoothing brushes, round volumizing brush, drying nozzle |
| Plate / barrel | Coanda airflow barrels; no clamped heat plate |
| Dual voltage | No — 120 V |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from Dyson — Airwrap Complete Long product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$15.50 a year
1,300 W × 65 hours a year = 84.5 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
Questions people actually ask
What is the best hair dryer for locs?
The Hot Tools Pro Artist 1875W, on published specifications. It publishes 1,875 W - tying the highest figure on this site - three heat settings, two speeds with a cool shot, a 9 ft professional cord and a lifetime limited warranty, which is the only lifetime cover from any brand in this registry.
Why do locs take so long to dry?
A loc is a dense matted column rather than a bundle of separate strands, so water sits in its interior and leaves slowly. That is our reading of the mechanism rather than a manufacturer claim - no maker in this registry publishes a drying-time figure for any hair type.
Is a hooded dryer better than a blow dryer for locs?
For drying, yes, and we would say so even though we cannot sell you one. A hood surrounds the whole head with moving warm air for as long as you leave it on, with your arms down. No brand in this registry publishes a hooded dryer, so there are no figures here to rank.
Can you use a Dyson Airwrap on locs?
No, and not because of anything wrong with it. Its mechanism draws loose hair onto a barrel with curved airflow and sets it there, and a loc is a single matted column with nothing to draw on. Every attachment Dyson publishes except the drying nozzle needs to pass through loose hair.
Do I need a diffuser for locs?
No. A diffuser disperses high-velocity air so a loose curl sets in its own shape instead of being blown out of it, and a loc already has a fixed shape. It is not harmful, it is simply not doing the job it was designed for.
What is the lightest hair dryer for a long drying session?
The L'ange Axia HaloRing, at a published 0.7 lb (317.5 g) without the cord - less than half the published weight of the Dyson Supersonic. The trade is power: at 1,300 W it is the lowest published figure of any full-size dryer in this registry, so the session is longer.
Sources
- Hot Tools — Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W product page
- ghd — Helios 1875W professional hair dryer product page
- SharkNinja — Shark SpeedStyle Pro (HD731) product page
- L'ange — Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer product page
- Revlon Hair Tools — SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer product page
- Dyson — Airwrap Complete Long product page




