Skip to content
Strand & Steam

Shop by Hair Type

The Best Hair Tools for Relaxed Hair in 2026

A relaxer has already broken the bonds a flat iron is trying to move. That makes the lowest number a maker publishes the most important one on the box, and almost nobody publishes it.

Updated November 2026 · Sawyer V.

Buy the L’ange Le Duo. On relaxed hair the deciding figure is the lowest temperature a maker will publish, because the chemical service has already done the structural work a hot tool would otherwise do. L’ange publishes a 280°F floor across five settings — the lowest published starting temperature of any flat iron in this registry — at 36 W and 0.8 lb.

L'ange Le Duo 360° Airflow Styler (Standard)

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.

Why the floor, not the ceiling

A relaxer is a chemical service that permanently breaks and re-forms the disulfide bonds that give hair its curl pattern. The strand that comes out the other side is straight because its internal structure was altered, not because it was pressed.

That changes what a flat iron is for. On natural hair, heat is doing the structural work and the question is how much is enough. On relaxed hair the structural work is already done, so heat is only smoothing the cuticle — and the strand you are applying it to has less to spare. The published number that matters is therefore the lowest one on the dial, which is the number the category almost never prints.

Published temperature floors and ceilings, lowest published floor first

Published temperature floors and ceilings, lowest published floor first
ToolPublished floorPublished ceiling
L'ange Le Volume (hot air brush)95.4°F (cool)225.7°F
Calista EliteAir Gen 2 (air styler)85°F195°F
L'ange Axia (dryer)140°F230°F
L'ange Le Duo (iron)280°F430°F
Calista Perfecter Pro (heated brush)325°F395°F, in published 10°F steps
ghd Platinum+ / Chronos (irons)365°F fixed365°F fixed
CHI 1" Original (iron)392°F preset392°F preset
T3 irons and curlersNot published - 9 steps, no degreesNot published
Hot Tools Evolve (iron)Not published455°F - the highest here

Read from each maker's own product page. 'Not published' means the figure is absent from the page we cite - it is not a stand-in for a number we guessed.

Five tools in this registry publish a floor. Everything else publishes a ceiling, a step count, or nothing — which is why the ranking on this page looks different from every other flat-iron page on the site.

Relaxed is not the same buyer as natural, pressed or bleached

These four get lumped together constantly and they want different things. The distinction is worth drawing precisely, because picking off the wrong page is how people end up with the wrong tool.

Four adjacent situations, and what each one actually asks of a tool

Four adjacent situations, and what each one actually asks of a tool
SituationWhat the tool is doingThe row that decides it
RelaxedSmoothing a cuticle on a strand already altered chemicallyThe published floor of the range
Natural, being pressedDoing the structural work with heat, temporarilyStretching airflow first, then a controlled press
Keratin-treatedWorking with a coating the treatment appliedConsistency - the same setting every time
Bleached or color-treatedSmoothing a strand with lifted cuticles and lost massThe lowest setting that still works, and heat frequency

Our reading, not a manufacturer claim. We hold no trichological credential and this is not professional hairdressing advice.

If you are on the wrong row above, these are the pages: the best dryers for a silk press and the best irons for a silk press for natural hair being pressed, flat irons for keratin-treated hair, and heat styling on bleached hair. A relaxer plus bleach on the same head is the highest-risk combination in this whole category, and the right answer there is less heat, less often.

How often, which matters more than how hot

One honest finding sits underneath this whole page: on chemically treated hair, how often you apply heat does more damage over a year than any single setting does in one session. Two passes at 280°F every week is a bigger load than one pass at 365°F once a month.

  • Stretch before you press. A dryer with a published low range does the length-work the iron would otherwise do hot. The L’ange Axia publishes 140–230°F, which is the only dryer range on this site you can actually look up.
  • One pass, properly sectioned. Three rushed passes at a low setting is more heat than one at a higher one. how to section hair is the unglamorous page that saves the most.
  • Use the days between. refreshing without rewashing halves the number of heat sessions, which is the single largest lever available.
  • Know what damage looks like before it is permanent. signs of heat damage, and how often you can use heat.

Where to go next for your category

  1. A flat iron. the best flat irons for damaged hair is the closest full roundup by criteria, and the best ceramic flat irons for plate material.
  2. A dryer. the best hair dryers for damaged hair and the best dryers for a silk press.
  3. A hot air brush. the best blow-dry brushes for damaged hair and the best straightening brushes.
  4. A curling iron, to add movement back. the best curling irons for damaged hair.
  5. Your hair is growing out of a relaxer. Two textures, two jobs — every tool for 4C and coily hair for the new growth, and this page for the length.

What we could not compare

Anything specific to relaxer chemistry, because no tool maker in this registry publishes a word about it. Not one product page here names relaxed hair, states a recommended temperature for a chemical service, or distinguishes chemically straightened hair from natural hair in any guidance at all — so every judgment on this page is ours, read off published temperature ranges rather than off manufacturer advice. We have not tested any tool on any hair. We also cannot rank these on cuticle smoothing, shine retention or how long a press holds, because no maker publishes a measurement for any of them and we hold no first-party test data. And noise, as everywhere on this site: no decibel figure is published by anybody in this registry.

Quick picks

Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.

Ranked picks with what each is best for and where to buy
#ProductBest forPrice
1
L'ange Le Duo 360° Airflow Styler (Standard)

L'ange Le Duo 360° Airflow Styler (Standard)

280 degrees Fahrenheit published as the bottom of a five-step range - no other iron in this registry publishes a floor that low.

A fresh relaxer, where every degree counts
$49.98 · View on Amazon

$59.97 · 17% off · price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

2
L'ange Le Volume Brush Dryer

L'ange Le Volume Brush Dryer

The only hot air brush here that publishes an actual temperature for every setting, and the hottest is 225.7 degrees.

Smoothing new growth between touch-ups without an iron
$49.49 · View on Amazon

$69.00 · 28% off · price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

3
Calista Perfecter Pro Heated Round Brush Gen 4 (1 in)

Calista Perfecter Pro Heated Round Brush Gen 4 (1 in)

325 to 395 degrees in published 10 degree intervals, on a heated round brush with no fan at all.

Someone who wants to set an exact number, not a position
$109.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

4
ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)

ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)

A single fixed 365 degrees with no dial at all, universal voltage, and the longest iron warranty here at three years.

Someone who has overshot on a dial before
$223.00 · View on Amazon

$319.00 · 30% off · price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

5
T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron

T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron

Nine heat settings at 11.1 oz with genuine 100 to 240 V dual voltage - the most adjustable iron in this registry.

Hair that is relaxed at the ends and growing out at the root
$179.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

6
ghd Bodyguard heat protect spray

ghd Bodyguard heat protect spray

A thermal protection spray from the brand that fixes every tool it makes at 365 degrees and argues publicly for restraint.

Every pass, on every relaxed head
$20.00 · View on Amazon

$28.00 · 29% off · price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

—
Hot Tools Black Gold Evolve Ionic Salon Flat Iron

Hot Tools Black Gold Evolve Ionic Salon Flat Iron

The highest published ceiling in this registry with no published floor at all - the worst possible spec shape for a chemically straightened head.

We’d skip this

Coarse, chemically untreated hair on a professional's station
$68.87 · View on Amazon

$149.99 · 54% off · price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

1. The lowest published floor here

L'ange Le Duo 360° Airflow Styler (Standard)

Best for: A fresh relaxer, where every degree counts

280 degrees Fahrenheit published as the bottom of a five-step range - no other iron in this registry publishes a floor that low.

Almost every iron in this category publishes a maximum and stops. L’ange publishes the whole range: five settings from 280°F to 430°F. The 280°F figure is the one that matters here, because it is the lowest published starting temperature of any flat iron on this site and relaxed hair should be styled at the bottom of a range rather than the middle of one.

It is also a two-in-one: titanium floating plates with rounded edges that straighten, plus 360° airflow and cooling air vents that set a curl without a second heated pass. On relaxed hair that second capability is genuinely useful, because the usual way to add movement to a press is more heat.

L’ange publishes the rest of the sheet too, which is rare at this price: 36 W — the lowest published draw of any styling tool here by a wide margin — 0.8 lb, an 8.2 ft cord, a 60-minute auto shut-off, 3.5 in × 1 in plates and genuine 100–240 V. Full sheet at the Le Duo review.

What’s wrong with it

The published range also goes to 430 degrees, which is higher than relaxed hair should ever see, so the floor only helps if you actually use it. L'ange publishes a 1-year warranty - the shortest of any brand in this registry - and publishes no speed-setting count and no attachment list.

Published specifications — L'ange Le Duo 360° Airflow Styler (Standard)

Published specifications for the L'ange Le Duo 360° Airflow Styler (Standard)
Wattage36 W (Standard); 50 W (Grande)
Heat settings5 settings, 280–430°F
Speed settingsNot published
Weight0.8 lb / 358 g (Standard); 0.9 lb / 400 g (Grande)
Cord length8.2 ft (2.5 m)
Noise (dB)Not published
AttachmentsNot published
Plate / barrelTitanium floating plates with rounded edges, 3.5 in × 1 in
Dual voltageYes — 100–240 V, 50/60 Hz
Warranty1-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from L'ange — Le Duo 360° Airflow Styler product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$0.43 a year

36 W (Standard); 50 W (Grande) × 65 hours a year = 2.3 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

$49.98 · View on Amazon

$59.97 · 17% off · price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

2. Lowest published heat that still smooths

L'ange Le Volume Brush Dryer

Best for: Smoothing new growth between touch-ups without an iron

The only hot air brush here that publishes an actual temperature for every setting, and the hottest is 225.7 degrees.

This is the pick for the weeks between relaxer applications, when the new growth at the root wants smoothing and the relaxed length does not want any more heat at all. L’ange publishes a temperature for all three settings: cool 95.4°F, low 178.9°F, high 225.7°F.

Put that against the irons. The highest setting on this brush is 225.7°F, which is below the published floor of every flat iron in this registry — 55 degrees under the L’ange Le Duo’s 280°F and 140 degrees under ghd’s fixed 365°F. For relaxed hair in maintenance mode that is the right end of the scale.

It publishes 1,000 W, 1.1 lb, a titanium oval barrel in 60 mm or 75 mm, and two accessories — a protective cover and a cleaning brush. Full sheet at the Le Volume review.

What’s wrong with it

225.7 degrees will not press a bone-straight finish into coarse new growth, so this smooths rather than straightens - plan on an iron as well for a full press. It is 125 V only, the cord figure contradicts itself on L'ange's own page (6.6 ft on one line, 2.4 m which is 7.9 ft on the same line), and the warranty is one year.

Published specifications — L'ange Le Volume Brush Dryer

Published specifications for the L'ange Le Volume Brush Dryer
Wattage1,000 W
Heat settings3 — cool 95.4°F, low 178.9°F, high 225.7°F (all published)
Speed settingsNot published
Weight1.1 lb (500 g)
Cord length6.6 ft — the same line also states 2.4 m, which is 7.9 ft
Noise (dB)Not published
Attachments2 — protective cover and cleaning brush
Plate / barrelTitanium oval barrel, 60 mm or 75 mm
Dual voltageNo — 125 V, 60 Hz
Warranty1-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from L'ange — Le Volume Brush Dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

$11.92 a year

1,000 W × 65 hours a year = 65.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

$49.49 · View on Amazon

$69.00 · 28% off · price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

3. Best published temperature interval

Calista Perfecter Pro Heated Round Brush Gen 4 (1 in)

Best for: Someone who wants to set an exact number, not a position

325 to 395 degrees in published 10 degree intervals, on a heated round brush with no fan at all.

The reason this is here is the interval. Calista publishes 325–395°F in 10°F steps, which means you can set an actual number rather than a dial position — and on relaxed hair, being able to repeat the exact same setting every week is worth more than having a higher one available.

It is also fanless, which is an unusual design and the reason it can publish degrees at all. There is no airflow to cool the surface, so the barrel holds a stated temperature where a hot air brush can only claim “low, medium, high”. Ion ceramic barrel with heat-resistant nylon teeth, published in 0.75, 1 and 1.5 in.

Calista publishes dual voltage up to 240 V on an American two-prong plug, a 6 ft swivel cord, and two accessories — a heat-safe travel bag and a glide cleaning tool. Full sheet at the Perfecter Pro review.

What’s wrong with it

The published floor is 325 degrees, which is higher than the L'ange Le Duo's 280 and far above the Le Volume's 225.7 - so the precision is real but the range starts hot for a fresh relaxer. No fan also means it does not dry, Calista publishes no weight and no wattage, and the 12-month warranty lives on Calista's warranty page rather than the product page.

Published specifications — Calista Perfecter Pro Heated Round Brush Gen 4 (1 in)

Published specifications for the Calista Perfecter Pro Heated Round Brush Gen 4 (1 in)
WattageNot published
Heat settings325–395°F in 10°F intervals
Speed settingsNot applicable — no fan
WeightNot published
Cord length6 ft swivel cord
Noise (dB)Not applicable — no fan
Attachments2 — heat-safe travel bag and glide cleaning tool
Plate / barrelIon ceramic barrel with heat-resistant nylon teeth; 0.75, 1 and 1.5 in
Dual voltageYes — up to 240 V, on an American 2-prong plug
Warranty12-month limited warranty (on Calista's warranty page, not the product page)

Every figure above is taken from Calista — Perfecter Pro Heated Round Brush Gen 4 product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

Calista does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

$109.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

4. One temperature, nothing to get wrong

ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)

Best for: Someone who has overshot on a dial before

A single fixed 365 degrees with no dial at all, universal voltage, and the longest iron warranty here at three years.

The opposite argument to the top pick, and for some readers it is the better one. ghd publishes one fixed temperature, 365°F, and no way to change it. If the failure mode you keep hitting is reaching for a hotter setting on a morning when the press is not taking, a tool with no hotter setting removes the decision permanently.

365°F is not a low number — it is 85 degrees above the Le Duo’s published floor — but it is well under the 455°F ceilings elsewhere in this registry, and it never creeps. ghd publishes precision-milled floating high-gloss plates at 1 in, universal voltage and a 9 ft power cable.

The warranty is three years, the longest fixed-term iron cover on this site. Full sheet at the ghd Platinum+ review, and the design argument at the same argument at different temperatures.

What’s wrong with it

You cannot go lower, which is the exact flip side of the strength - on a fresh relaxer or badly over-processed hair, 365 degrees is more than the strand needs and there is no option below it. ghd publishes no wattage and no weight for it either, so it cannot be costed or weighed.

Published specifications — ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)

Published specifications for the ghd Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate)
WattageNot published
Heat settingsOne fixed temperature — 365°F
Speed settingsNot applicable
WeightNot published
Cord length9 ft power cable
Noise (dB)Not applicable
AttachmentsNone supplied
Plate / barrelPrecision-milled floating high-gloss plates, 1 in
Dual voltageYes — universal voltage
Warranty3-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from ghd — Platinum+ flat iron (1 inch plate) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

$223.00 · View on Amazon

$319.00 · 30% off · price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

5. Most adjustment steps on an iron

T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron

Best for: Hair that is relaxed at the ends and growing out at the root

Nine heat settings at 11.1 oz with genuine 100 to 240 V dual voltage - the most adjustable iron in this registry.

Growing-out relaxed hair is two textures on one head, and this is the tool with the most positions to split the difference with. T3 publishes nine heat settings, more adjustment than any other iron here, so you can run lower through the relaxed length and a step higher at the new growth.

It is also the lightest iron in this registry at 11.1 oz without the cord and publishes genuine 100–240 V auto world voltage, which no other nine-setting tool here does. CeraGloss ceramic plates at 1 in, a 360-degree swivel cord and a two-year warranty.

The honest limitation is important on this page specifically: the nine settings are a step count, not temperatures. T3 publishes no degrees for any position, so you cannot check setting three against guidance for relaxed hair. Full sheet at the SinglePass StyleMax review.

What’s wrong with it

Nine steps with no published degrees is adjustability you cannot calibrate, which matters more on relaxed hair than on any other type - you can be consistent, but you cannot know what number you are consistent at. T3 publishes no wattage and no cord length for it either.

Published specifications — T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron

Published specifications for the T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron
WattageNot published
Heat settings9 heat settings
Speed settingsNot applicable
Weight11.1 oz (cord not included)
Cord length360-degree swivel cord — length not published
Noise (dB)Not applicable
AttachmentsNone supplied
Plate / barrelCeraGloss ceramic plates, 1 in
Dual voltageYes — auto world voltage, 100–240 V
Warranty2-year warranty

Every figure above is taken from T3 Micro — SinglePass StyleMax 1 inch flat iron product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

T3 does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

$179.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

6. The step before the tool

ghd Bodyguard heat protect spray

Best for: Every pass, on every relaxed head

A thermal protection spray from the brand that fixes every tool it makes at 365 degrees and argues publicly for restraint.

On relaxed hair this is not an accessory, it is part of the method. The chemical service has already converted the strand into something more fragile than it was, and the most useful thing available is reducing the heat that reaches it before you switch anything on.

It is also the cheapest item on this page and the only one with no fit risk at all — no barrel size, no plate width, no voltage, no weight.

What a protectant does and does not do is worth reading rather than assuming: should you use a heat protectant has the evidence, and the best heat protectant sprays has the field.

What’s wrong with it

It is a consumable, it runs out, and ghd publishes no weight for the bottle. It also does not substitute for lowering the dial - a protectant buys margin, it does not license a higher setting, and treating it as permission is how relaxed hair gets damaged with one in the cabinet.

Published specifications — ghd Bodyguard heat protect spray

Published specifications for the ghd Bodyguard heat protect spray
WattageNot applicable — not a powered tool
Heat settingsNot applicable
Speed settingsNot applicable
WeightNot published
Cord lengthNot applicable
Noise (dB)Not applicable
AttachmentsSpray applicator
Plate / barrelLeave-in thermal protection spray
Dual voltageNot applicable
WarrantyNot applicable — consumable

Every figure above is taken from ghd — Bodyguard heat protect spray product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

ghd does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

$20.00 · View on Amazon

$28.00 · 29% off · price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

The one we'd skip

Hot Tools Black Gold Evolve Ionic Salon Flat Iron

Best for: Coarse, chemically untreated hair on a professional's station

The highest published ceiling in this registry with no published floor at all - the worst possible spec shape for a chemically straightened head.

This is a tool we recommend elsewhere, and on this page it is the one to avoid. Hot Tools publishes “variable heat settings up to 455°F” and nothing else about heat: no floor temperature, no step count, no list of what the dial lands on.

455°F is the highest figure published by any iron on this site, 90 degrees above ghd’s fixed setting and 175 degrees above the L’ange Le Duo’s published floor. On hair whose bonds a relaxer has already broken, the one published number is a number you should never use — and there is no verified low setting published to fall back on.

None of that makes it a bad iron. On coarse, resistant, chemically untreated hair that headroom is a feature and it is our top pick for a working stylist, where the hair gets assessed in person first. It is simply the wrong spec shape for this reader. Full sheet at the Black Gold Evolve review.

What’s wrong with it

No published floor temperature, no published step count, no published wattage, no published weight and no published voltage. Five of the rows that matter on relaxed hair are blank, and the one that is filled is the highest maximum temperature on the site.

Published specifications — Hot Tools Black Gold Evolve Ionic Salon Flat Iron

Published specifications for the Hot Tools Black Gold Evolve Ionic Salon Flat Iron
WattageNot published
Heat settingsVariable, up to 455°F
Speed settingsNot applicable
WeightNot published
Cord length9 ft professional swivel cord with a hanging ring
Noise (dB)Not applicable
AttachmentsNot published
Plate / barrelBlack Gold ceramic-titanium floating plates, 1 in and 1¼ in
Dual voltageNot published
WarrantyLifetime limited warranty

Every figure above is taken from Hot Tools — Black Gold Evolve Ionic Salon Flat Iron product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.

What it costs to run for a year

Hot Tools does not publish a wattage for this tool, so there is nothing honest to compute. The formula is watts ÷ 1,000 × hours a year × your rate per kWh; if you find a rating plate on the handle, 65 hours a year and 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour will get you the rest of the way.

Rate: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 — average residential price, June 2026.

$68.87 · View on Amazon

$149.99 · 54% off · price as of November 7, 2026

#ad How we earn

Questions people actually ask

What is the best flat iron for relaxed hair?

The L'ange Le Duo, on published specifications. L'ange publishes a 280 degree Fahrenheit floor across five settings - the lowest published starting temperature of any flat iron in this registry - plus 36 W, 0.8 lb, an 8.2 ft cord and a 60-minute auto shut-off. On relaxed hair the floor of the range matters more than the ceiling.

What temperature should I use on relaxed hair?

Lower than the dial allows, and the published floor is the number to shop for. A relaxer has already broken and re-formed the bonds a flat iron would otherwise move, so heat is only smoothing the cuticle on a strand with less to spare. Five tools in this registry publish a floor temperature at all; the lowest on an iron is 280 degrees Fahrenheit.

The best flat iron temperature by hair type

Is relaxed hair the same as keratin-treated hair?

No. A relaxer permanently breaks and re-forms the disulfide bonds that create curl. A keratin treatment applies a coating that is smoothed in with heat and wears off. The tool question differs: relaxed hair wants the lowest workable setting, keratin-treated hair wants the same setting repeated consistently.

Flat irons for keratin-treated hair

Can I use a 455 degree flat iron on relaxed hair?

We would not. 455 degrees Fahrenheit is the highest figure published by any iron in this registry, and the tool that publishes it publishes no floor temperature and no step count at all - so there is no verified low setting to fall back on. On chemically straightened hair the one published number is one you should never use.

What should I use on new growth between relaxer touch-ups?

A tool with a published low temperature, used to smooth rather than press. The L'ange Le Volume hot air brush publishes cool at 95.4, low at 178.9 and high at 225.7 degrees Fahrenheit - its hottest setting is below the published floor of every flat iron in this registry.

Does a heat protectant let me use a higher setting on relaxed hair?

No. A protectant buys margin, it does not license a hotter dial, and treating it as permission is how chemically straightened hair gets damaged with one in the cabinet. On relaxed hair, how often you apply heat does more over a year than any single setting does in one session.

How often can you use heat on your hair?

Sources

Read next