Hair Dryers
The Best Hair Dryers for Beginners in 2026
Nothing about a first dryer should be a decision you have to get right. These are ranked on the rows that forgive you.
Updated October 2026 · Sawyer V.
Start with the Hot Tools Pro Artist 1875. It publishes 1,875 W — the joint-highest figure on this site — three heat settings, two speeds with a cool shot, both a concentrator and a diffuser in the box, a 9 ft cord and a lifetime limited warranty. That is every row a first dryer needs, filled, at the second-lowest price here. Nothing above it in this category fills more of them.

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we pick or which one we tell you to skip. How this site is funded.
Quick picks
Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Prices come from the live price layer; where none is available the button says so rather than showing a number we cannot stand behind.
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Hot Tools Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W 1,875 W, a cool shot, both attachments in the box and a lifetime limited warranty - the most filled rows of any dryer here, cheap. | Anyone buying their first real dryer | |
| 2 | ![]() L'ange Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer 0.7 lb, a published 140-230 degrees F across four settings, and it powers back on at the last temperature you used. | A beginner who wants to see the temperature, not guess it | |
| 3 | ![]() Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer 1,750 W, 1.65 lb and a 96.1 in cord published, with a stated ceiling of 230 degrees F regulated a thousand times a second. | A beginner who expects to get good at this | |
| 4 | ![]() Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer 1,875 W, three heat settings and two speeds, at the lowest price of any dryer here - and almost nothing else published. | Finding out whether you care, for the least money | |
| — | ![]() Dyson Supersonic hair dryer The most expensive dryer here, the heaviest at 1.8 lb, and 1,600 W - less published power than the cheapest tool on this page. We’d skip this | Nobody who is starting out |
1. The first dryer to buy
Hot Tools Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W
Best for: Anyone buying their first real dryer
1,875 W, a cool shot, both attachments in the box and a lifetime limited warranty - the most filled rows of any dryer here, cheap.
A beginner does not need a better dryer. A beginner needs a dryer that does not punish a mistake, and that comes down to four published rows: a cool shot so you can set the shape instead of cooking it, a concentrator nozzle so the air goes where you aimed it, enough settings to take the heat down, and cover if it dies in month seven. Hot Tools publishes all four.
Three heat settings and two speeds with a cool shot is the full grid. Both attachments — a curl-defining diffuser and a precision concentrator — are published as in the box, which only one other dryer in this registry can say. The cord is 9 ft, the longest dryer cord here alongside the ghd Helios, and cord reach is the thing beginners discover they needed on day one when the socket is behind them.
Then the warranty. Hot Tools publishes a lifetime limited warranty. Dyson, Shark and T3 publish two years. ghd publishes two for a consumer. L’ange publishes one. So the cheapest serious dryer on this site is the only one with cover that does not expire — what a hair tool warranty is actually worth has every figure side by side, and the pattern it finds is that cover runs backwards to price.
The 1,875 W figure is worth one line of honesty. It ties the highest published draw on this site — the ghd Helios and the Revlon SmoothStay state the same number — and wattage is not a performance ranking. What wattage actually tells you is that it bounds how fast a dryer can work, not how well it does. What it means here is simply that nothing in this category out-powers this tool on paper.
What’s wrong with it
Hot Tools publishes no weight and no voltage for it. So you cannot know what you will be holding before it arrives, and you cannot take it abroad on the strength of its own page - an absent voltage has to be read as single voltage. It is also a plain dryer: nothing about unwrapping it feels like an event.
Published specifications — Hot Tools Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W
| Wattage | 1,875 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 3 heat settings |
| Speed settings | 2 speeds, with a cool shot |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | 9 ft professional cord |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | 2 — curl-defining diffuser and precision concentrator |
| Plate / barrel | Tourmaline ceramic grill; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | Not published |
| Warranty | Lifetime limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from Hot Tools — Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$22.35 a year
1,875 W × 65 hours a year = 121.9 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
2. Best first dryer with a number you can read
L'ange Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer
Best for: A beginner who wants to see the temperature, not guess it
0.7 lb, a published 140-230 degrees F across four settings, and it powers back on at the last temperature you used.
Almost nobody in this category publishes a temperature. Dyson, Shark, T3 and Revlon publish settings counts; ghd publishes “variable.” L’ange publishes 140–230°F across four settings including a cool shot, and for a beginner that is worth more than it looks: the whole method this site gives is to find the lowest setting that dries your hair and then stop moving the dial. You cannot do that on a tool that will not tell you where the dial is.
It also publishes a memory recall — it powers on to the last temperature you used rather than resetting to a default. No other dryer in this registry publishes that behavior, and it is the difference between finding your setting once and re-finding it every morning under time pressure, which is how people end up on high.
0.7 lb (317.5 g) without the cord is the lightest published weight of any dryer here, against 1.8 lb for the Dyson Supersonic. For a first dryer that matters more than power, because a beginner takes longer. A magnetic concentrator nozzle and a magnetic wall mount are in the box. The full sheet is at the L’ange Axia review, and it is matched against the brand’s brush dryer at Axia vs Le Volume.
What’s wrong with it
A one-year warranty, the shortest in this registry, on the tool most likely to be dropped in its first year. 1,300 W is a modest figure, so it is slow on dense hair. The diffuser is a paid add-on rather than an inclusion, which matters if your hair is curly. And it publishes 125 V, so it does not travel.
Published specifications — L'ange Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer
| Wattage | 1,300 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 4 — cool shot, low, medium, high (140–230°F published) |
| Speed settings | 2 speeds |
| Weight | 0.7 lb (317.5 g) without the cord |
| Cord length | 6.6 ft (2 m) |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | 2 — magnetic concentrator nozzle and magnetic wall mount |
| Plate / barrel | HaloRing body; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | No — 125 V, 50/60 Hz |
| Warranty | 1-year warranty |
Every figure above is taken from L'ange — Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$15.50 a year
1,300 W × 65 hours a year = 84.5 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
3. Best first dryer you will not outgrow
Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer
Best for: A beginner who expects to get good at this
1,750 W, 1.65 lb and a 96.1 in cord published, with a stated ceiling of 230 degrees F regulated a thousand times a second.
This is the pick for someone who suspects they will care about this in a year. 1,750 W is the highest published wattage of the premium dryers here, and unlike the premium dryers it also publishes the rows you can check it on: 1.65 lb, a 96.1 in cord, 14.6 A and a two-year limited warranty.
One figure is worth more than any of those for a beginner. Shark states that the dryer measures and regulates its own temperature a thousand times a second and does not exceed 230°F. Read against the rest of this site, that ceiling is the headline: every flat iron in this registry sits at 365°F or above, so a tool that caps itself 135 degrees below that is doing the heat discipline for you. We read it from SharkNinja’s own HD731 page on 2026-10-17.
That matters because heat is cumulative and the hair fiber does not recover: repeated thermal cycling measurably degrades its mechanical properties Evans and Park, Journal of Cosmetic Science. A beginner spends more minutes on a head than an expert does, so the ceiling is the row that protects them. The single review is at the Shark SpeedStyle Pro review.
What’s wrong with it
Shark publishes no heat-setting count and no speed count at all, which is an odd blank on a tool that publishes its own temperature ceiling - so you cannot tell how many steps you are choosing between. It is 120 V only. And which attachments arrive depends on the configuration you buy: on the HD731 page as read 2026-10-17, Shark lists the dryer, a FrizzFighter finishing tool, a QuickSmooth brush and a Turbo concentrator in the box, with the DefrizzFast diffuser, the wide-tooth comb and the express touch-up brush sold separately. Check the box contents on the listing you are actually buying.
Published specifications — Shark SpeedStyle Pro hair dryer
| Wattage | 1,750 W (peak 1,750 W) |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | Not published |
| Speed settings | Not published |
| Weight | 1.65 lb |
| Cord length | 96.1 in (8.0 ft) |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Turbo concentrator, QuickSmooth brush, DefrizzFast diffuser, wide-tooth comb, touch-up brush, FrizzFighter finishing tool |
| Plate / barrel | High-velocity airflow; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | No — 120 V |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from SharkNinja — Shark SpeedStyle Pro (HD731) product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$20.86 a year
1,750 W (peak 1,750 W) × 65 hours a year = 113.8 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
4. The cheapest honest start
Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer
Best for: Finding out whether you care, for the least money
1,875 W, three heat settings and two speeds, at the lowest price of any dryer here - and almost nothing else published.
There is a real argument for starting here, and it is not performance. It is that you do not yet know what you want. This is the cheapest dryer on the site, it publishes the same 1,875 W as the ghd Helios at a fraction of the price, and it gives you three heat settings and two speeds — enough to find out whether you are the kind of person who uses a cool shot or the kind who dries and leaves.
Spend a season on it and the next purchase is an informed one rather than a guess. That is the whole case, and on this site it is a respectable one: the same 1,875 W at 7x the price is the clearest evidence here that wattage is not what the money buys. The premium-against-drugstore version of this is at ghd Helios vs Revlon SmoothStay, and the upgrade path is at upgrading from a drugstore tool.
What’s wrong with it
The thinnest spec sheet in the registry. Revlon publishes the wattage, the heat count and the speed count, and then stops: no weight, no cord length, no attachments, no voltage and no warranty. So it cannot be weighed, cannot be packed, and if it fails you have nothing in writing. On the cheapest tool here that is a trade rather than a scandal - but it is a trade.
Published specifications — Revlon SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer
| Wattage | 1,875 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 3 heat settings |
| Speed settings | 2 speed settings |
| Weight | Not published |
| Cord length | Not published |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | Not published |
| Plate / barrel | 1 in grill, triple-coated ceramic; tourmaline ionic |
| Dual voltage | Not published |
| Warranty | Not published |
Every figure above is taken from Revlon Hair Tools — SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$22.35 a year
1,875 W × 65 hours a year = 121.9 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
The one we'd skip
Dyson Supersonic hair dryer
Best for: Nobody who is starting out
The most expensive dryer here, the heaviest at 1.8 lb, and 1,600 W - less published power than the cheapest tool on this page.
We recommend this dryer elsewhere and we are not pretending it is bad. It is the wrong first dryer, for three published reasons.
It is the heaviest dryer in this registry at 1.8 lb, and a beginner holds a dryer up for longer than anyone else does. It publishes 1,600 W, which is less than the 1,875 W on the cheapest tool on this page — Dyson says so openly, because its pitch is airflow and heat control rather than draw, but it means you are not buying power. And it is 120 V only, so if your first dryer is also the one you take on your first trip, it is not this.
The real objection is the arithmetic. It costs roughly nine times the Hot Tools and carries a two-year warranty against a lifetime one, to answer a question — what do I actually want from a dryer — that you can answer for the price of the Revlon. Are expensive hair dryers worth it has the full sum, and the Supersonic review is the sheet if you have already decided.
What’s wrong with it
Heaviest published weight here, the lowest published wattage of the mains dryers on this page, 120 V only, and roughly nine times the price of our pick for a two-year warranty against a lifetime one. Our recorded figures for it also predate a visible change to Dyson's range, and dyson.com refused an automated fetch on 2026-10-17, so we could not re-read them this run.
Published specifications — Dyson Supersonic hair dryer
| Wattage | 1,600 W |
|---|---|
| Heat settings | 4 heat settings, including a cold shot |
| Speed settings | 3 speed settings |
| Weight | 1.8 lb |
| Cord length | 8.6 ft |
| Noise (dB) | Not published |
| Attachments | 3 — styling concentrator, diffuser, wide-tooth comb |
| Plate / barrel | Air-multiplier body; no heated styling surface |
| Dual voltage | No — 120 V |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
Every figure above is taken from Dyson — Supersonic hair dryer product page. “Not published” means the figure does not appear on that page — it is not an estimate withheld, it is a number the manufacturer does not state. How we compile these.
What it costs to run for a year
$19.07 a year
1,600 W × 65 hours a year = 104.0 kWh, at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour. The hours assume 15 minutes a session, 5 days a week — that is an assumption, not a measurement, so swap in your own if it is wrong.
The four rows a first dryer has to fill
Every roundup needs a spine, and for a beginner it is not power. It is these four, in this order.
- A cool shot. Hair takes its shape as it cools, not while it is hot. A cool setting is what turns a blow-dry into something that holds, and it is the one control beginners never know to look for. Four of the nine dryers here publish one.
- A concentrator in the box. Bare airflow goes everywhere. A concentrator narrows it so it goes where you pointed it, which is the entire difference between drying hair and styling it. Buying one separately later costs more than the gap between most of these dryers.
- Settings you can take down. Not up. The method is to find the lowest setting that works on your hair and then leave it alone, and that needs steps below maximum.
- A warranty. First tools get dropped, wound badly around their own cord and stored hot. Cord strain at the handle is the most common way one of these dies and it is the failure most warranties exclude — so the length of the cover is the only durability promise in writing. How to store hair tools covers the avoidable half.
Every dryer here, on those four rows
The nine dryers in this registry, on the rows that matter to a first buy
| Dryer | Cool shot | Nozzle in the box | Settings | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hot Tools Pro Artist 1875 | Yes, published | Yes - concentrator and diffuser | 3 heat, 2 speed | Lifetime limited |
| L'ange Axia | Yes, published | Yes - magnetic concentrator | 4 heat (140-230°F), 2 speed | 1 year |
| Shark SpeedStyle Pro | Not published | Yes - Turbo concentrator | Not published; stated 230°F ceiling | 2 years |
| Revlon SmoothStay | Not published | Not published | 3 heat, 2 speed | Not published |
| Dyson Supersonic | Yes - cold shot | Yes - concentrator, diffuser, comb | 4 heat, 3 speed | 2 years |
| ghd Helios | Yes - cool shot | Not published | Variable, no count published | 2 years consumer |
| ghd flight+ | Not published | Yes - nozzle | Variable; airflow stated 149°F | 2 years |
| T3 Featherweight StyleMax | Not published | Not published | 5 heat, 3 speed | 2 years |
| T3 AireLuxe | Not published | Not published | 5 heat, 3 speed | 2 years |
Quoted from each maker's own product page. ghdhair.com, dyson.com and revlonhairtools.com refused an automated fetch on 2026-10-17, so those rows are the readings already on file with their source URLs rather than a fresh reading.
Two dryers fill all four rows: the Hot Tools and the Dyson Supersonic. One of them costs roughly nine times the other and carries a warranty that runs out. That is the whole page in one line, and it is the clearest single example on this site of why the premium question is worth asking rather than assuming.
Why the ranking is not on power
Three dryers here publish 1,875 W: the Hot Tools Pro Artist, the ghd Helios and the Revlon SmoothStay. They occupy almost the entire price range of this category. If wattage sorted dryers by quality, that could not be true.
What wattage bounds is how much heat the element can produce. What actually decides a blow-dry is airflow, the nozzle, how close you hold it and when you stop — and only one of those four is a purchase. That is why a beginner’s money is better spent on a tool with a nozzle in the box and a warranty than on a bigger number. Wattage explained has the arithmetic.
The part no dryer can buy you
Most first-dryer disappointment is technique, not hardware, and it is cheap to fix.
- Towel-dry further than you think. The dryer should start on damp hair, not wet. Every minute you remove here is a minute of heat you never apply — microfiber towels is the cheapest upgrade on this site.
- Point the air down the hair, not at it. Nozzle following the length, cuticle lying flat. Aiming across the hair is the single commonest cause of a frizzy blow-dry — how to blow-dry without frizz.
- Section it. Four sections turns an unmanageable job into four small ones and cuts total heat, because you stop going back over the same hair — how to section hair.
- Stop at dry, then cool. Hair that is already dry cannot get drier; it can only get hotter. Finish on the cool setting so the shape sets — how to blow-dry hair straight.
- Use a heat protectant. It is the only consumable on this site we recommend without qualification — heat protectant.
If you already know your hair type
Any single fact about your hair beats a general ranking, and this hub has a page for most of them.
- Curly or coily. A diffuser stops being an accessory and becomes the specification — dryers for curly hair, dryers for 4C and coily hair and diffuser vs concentrator.
- Fine, colored or already damaged. The low end of the range is the whole purchase — dryers for fine hair, dryers for color-treated hair and dryers for damaged hair.
- Long or dense. Session length makes weight and power bind together — dryers for long, thick hair.
- You travel. Only one dryer here publishes dual voltage — travel dryers and the full dual-voltage list.
- You want one tool, not two. A hot air brush removes the dryer-and-round-brush coordination entirely — blow-dry brushes for beginners is the sibling of this page.
What to spend
We do not print prices in copy, because any number we typed would be stale within a week — the live figure and the date it was checked sit inside every buy button above. What we can give you is the shape.
The bottom of this category buys a dryer that publishes its wattage and very little else. A small step up buys the Hot Tools: both attachments, a cool shot and cover that never expires, which is why it wins this page. The middle buys a published temperature range and a light body. The top buys airflow engineering, a heavier tool and a warranty that is shorter than the cheap one’s. See the best hair tools under $50, under $100 and what to buy at every budget.
What we could not compare
Noise, on all nine. Not one maker in this registry publishes a decibel figure, so “quiet enough for a shared bathroom” is not a question the published data can answer — dryer noise explains why we will not estimate it. Drying time, on all nine: no maker publishes one, there is no standard test, and we will not turn a wattage gap into minutes. Airflow volume, which is the figure that would actually explain the differences between these tools. Weight, on four of the nine, including both of the cheapest. And voltage, on three, which we read as single voltage rather than assuming.
Questions people actually ask
What hair dryer should a beginner buy?
The Hot Tools Pro Artist 1875, on published specifications. It states 1,875 W, three heat settings, two speeds with a cool shot, both a concentrator and a diffuser in the box, a 9 ft cord and a lifetime limited warranty — the four rows a first dryer needs, at the second-lowest price in this registry.
Do beginners need an expensive hair dryer?
No. Three dryers in this registry publish the same 1,875 W and they span almost the whole price range of the category, which is the clearest evidence here that wattage is not what the money buys. A nozzle in the box, a cool shot and a warranty matter more to a first buy than price does.
What is a cool shot on a hair dryer for?
Setting the shape. Hair takes its form as it cools rather than while it is hot, so finishing a section on cool is what makes a blow-dry hold. Four of the nine dryers in this registry publish a cool setting; it is the control beginners most often do not know to look for.
What wattage hair dryer does a beginner need?
Wattage is not the row to shop on. It bounds how much heat the element can produce, not how well the dryer works — and the ghd Helios, the Hot Tools Pro Artist and the Revlon SmoothStay all publish 1,875 W at wildly different prices. Airflow, the nozzle and when you stop decide the result.
Is the Dyson Supersonic a good first hair dryer?
We would not start there. It is the heaviest dryer in this registry at 1.8 lb, it publishes 1,600 W — less than the cheapest dryer here — it is 120 V only, and it costs roughly nine times our pick for a two-year warranty against a lifetime one. It is a good dryer and a poor first purchase.
Which hair dryer has the longest warranty?
The Hot Tools Pro Artist 1875, with a lifetime limited warranty — the only dryer in this registry whose cover does not expire. Dyson, Shark and T3 publish two years, ghd two years for a consumer, and L'ange one. Revlon publishes no warranty figure at all on its dryer page.
Sources
- SharkNinja — Shark SpeedStyle (HD731) product page, re-read 2026-10-17
- Hot Tools — Pro Artist Infrared Ionic Salon Dryer 1875W
- L'ange — Axia HaloRing Hair Dryer product page
- Revlon Hair Tools — SmoothStay Coconut Oil-Infused hair dryer (site returned HTTP 403 to an automated fetch on 2026-10-17; figures are the reading on file)
- Dyson — Supersonic hair dryer product page (site returned HTTP 403 on 2026-10-17; figures are the reading on file)
- ghd — Helios 1875W professional hair dryer (site returned HTTP 403 on 2026-10-17; figures are the reading on file)
- Evans and Park - thermal cycling and mechanical properties



